We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Checked in and straight back out!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western of Lake George
Ranked #15 of 88 Hotels in Lake George
A TripAdvisor Member
“Checked in and straight back out!!”
Reviewed March 1, 2006

On a recent trip to New York and Canada we stayed in several motels and were more than happy until we reached the Best Western at Lake George. Disgusting is the only word I can use to describe the room we were given. The smell was horrendous and the cleanliness of the room and communal areas disgraceful. Needless to say we checked straight out (which didn't seem to surprise the gentleman on reception!). Avoid at all costs!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    169
    97
    37
    38
See reviews for
240
145
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2006

I just came back from a 2-night stay at the LG Best Western. The purpose of my visit was a 3-day power-outage in my hometown. Much of LG was out of power as well when we arrived, but the Best Western was not. Desk staff was very helpful with giving us menus/phone numbers of restaurants that were open & delivering to the hotel. That was VERY helpful. They were also keeping informed of updates on the power-outages in the Lake George area, and readily sharing that information when asked. They also were very helpful with local directions. Our room was standard, simple, but very clean. The next night we were moved to a suite and they graciously gave us a discount due to our predicament (power outage, changing rooms). The suite was very nice, also very clean. They cleaned the indoor pool both mornings, and continuously refreshed the supply of "pool towels" throughout the day. The free continental breakfast had a nice assortment of muffins, danish, and donuts, and some fruit. The complimentary coffee, tea, cocoa, and juice was available ALL DAY, which was VERY much appreciated. The hotel was full to capacity while we were there, including many families with children, a boy scout troop, and a few guests with quad-runners parked outside. So there was a little noise but not unbearable. The staff was friendly, helpful, and competent. The check-in/out went seamlessly. All in all a very nice, clean, friendly, affordable place. My family and I were pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank katfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, VT USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2006

After reading some very negative reviews of this hotel here, I was a little nervous about staying there for the weekend. However someone else in our party chose the place so we went. We paid $59 per night and the hotel was fine. Although it clearly has not been refurbished for awhile, the room and bathroom were clean, there were no visible stains and the linens were clean. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. We met two other couples there and spent a great deal of time in the lobby playing games or visiting. The desk person even helped us find some info we needed for a game. I would recommend this hotel for an inexpensive stay.

Helpful?
1 Thank Lynnvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near Phila
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2005

The hotel was dirty. We had sheets with stains. The bed sagged. A white line of dust along the walls on the carpets and trim (see photo). Our phone message light flashed, yet we could not pick up messages. A very long walk from the village. Summer mid-week rates of $150 per night should have gotten us a much nicer place. Not recommended.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Pinballnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2005

Cowbeads on the corners. Bring your own lighbulbs if you don't want to feel like you are in a dungeon. Don't bother with their complimentary breakfast. Find another place.

Stayed October 2005
Helpful?
2 Thank amuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2005

The photo's of this hotel are deceiving. The pool is in the parking lot. The rooms are dark. The "gameroom" consists of a couple of outdated games between two sets of doors entering one of the buildings. Located on a busy exit ramp of a major highway.
Stayed here with 3 children. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cmurphy1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 13, 2005

We stayed at the Lake George Best Western from September 8 - 11, 2005. We booked a room with two double beds before I read any of these reviews. I was so nervous. We were not just staying for one day but for four. Plus, we have a 5 year old and a 3 year old. Smelly and dirty was not what I wanted. And I am very particular. Well, the room was exactly what we had reserved. And, best of all, it was very clean and did not have any bad smell in it or in the hall. It was not a "luxury" hotel but at $99 a night, you can't expect that. We were very comfortable, happy, and satisfied. We even used the indoor pool on one of the days. Another bonus for us, was that we went for the Adirondack Nationals and the hotel was close enough to the town to be convenient but far enough away that my children and I could get a good night's sleep. We will definitely stay there again.

Stayed September 2005
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
1.2 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
2.6 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#13 of 88 in Lake George
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
1.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Lake George
Comfort Suites Lake George
#10 of 88 in Lake George
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western of Lake George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western of Lake George

Property: Best Western of Lake George
Address: 2452 State Route 9n, Lake George, NY 12845
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 88 Hotels in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western of Lake George 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Expedia, Booking.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western of Lake George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Of Lake George Hotel Lake George
Best Western Lake George
Lake George Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing