We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western of Lake George
Ranked #16 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed July 27, 2008

We stayed two nights at the Best Western. The location was convenient for what we were looking for. The check-in was fine. The room, dingy and it could have been cleaner. Noisy place, you hear everything is the hallways. The wireless did not work for the two nights we were there. I asked multiple times about the wireless (this was an important factor for staying at this location) and was never told the same thing. It was either my firewall problem, or it was currently down but they were working on it, should be up in one hour, then two hours. Needless to say, it never came up and come to find out everything was down. However, when I asked for a partial refund, they gave $50 back (though I would rather of had the wireless). The choice at breakfast was fine, just try to get there before it gets busy. Overall, the motel was ok, not horrible but nothing special. The staff was average. I would stay there again if I could not find anything else.

  • Liked — bed comfort pretty good, location.
  • Disliked — bathroom small, noisy hallways, wireless problems.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Den N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    175
    100
    38
    38
See reviews for
250
147
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NJ
2 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2008

I don't understand all these terrible reviews. The Best Western of Lake George met all of our expectations for a reasonably priced hotel of this caliber. We arrived 2 hours early, and our room was ready. The staff was extremely friendly and very helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. We took advange of the outdoor pool, which was also immaculate. Another nice feature is that all guests are allowed access to their "parent" property, the Fort William Henry Hotel and Resort, right down the sreet, which has a beautiful pool with a bar area. The continental breakfast was exactly as described, with plenty of options. Lake George is an extremely tacky, honkey-tonk resort town with overpriced cheezy hotels and efficiencies, most of which require a 2 or 3-night minimum stay in the summer. Do yourself a favor: if you must go there, skip these hotels/motels in the strip and stay in the Best Western instead. The price is much more reasonable than these other places, and unlike the others, the Best Western does not require a 2 or 3 night minimum. Then leave asap and head over the border to Vermont, a much more beautiful vacation spot in this region!

  • Liked — Excellent Value, Clean
  • Disliked — Got a little crowded at breakfast
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pdbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simsbury, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2008

I stayed at this hotel for a Saturday night on July 4th weekend. I had mistakenly told my boyfriend to book here instead of what I thought was the Best Western down the way, which is now the Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center. I saw the picture on the reservation and said, "oh this wasn't the place I was thinking of". BUT, the price couldn't be beat.

The hotel was better than I had actually expected. The room was in the main hotel building in a "deluxe" room. The room was decorated very nicely and was clean. Window faced out to the parking lot and cars, but we weren't there for the view. The only complaint I have was that this establishement still uses the old poly-blend comforters and not the newer duvet covers. I have issues with using the comforter after watching way to many "hotel investigation" reports. No matter though, as the room was very warm, even with the air conditioning on, and never needed to use even the blanket or sheets on the bed. Just my pj's and I was fine.

If you go to stay here, bring a pair of earplugs as the doors don't shut easily, and you really have to bang and slam them to do so. We were awoken a couple times in the middle of the night with the doors slamming somewhere down the hall. Also, the walls were thin and you could hear noise from the room next door. So, the earplugs helped with that.

Overall, I would probably stay here again if there was no where else to stay. It wasn't bad for the hotel class of this hotel. I would maybe prefer to stay in on of the "mom and pop" motels on the way out of town on Rt. 9N heading toward Bolton Landing next time. There were a bunch that looked super cute. Also, the Super 8 looked nice and clean. Gotta love Lake George in the summer. Visit Capri Pizza - the best around!

  • Liked — The price
  • Disliked — The bedding
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cancercaregiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2008

After reading the reviews on this site, I had a knot in my stomach the whole ride to Lake George. After checking in, and getting upgraded (for free) to a luxury suite...the knot started going away! We had a 2 story suite...my daughter and her friend had their own bed, tv, and 1/2 bath upstairs. We had a king bed....sitting area...and a kitchen area. Our fridge got cold...just FYI.
People complained about bugs...the only one I saw was a fly that I let in.
Housekeeping was so nice...and polite. They turned my daughter's necklace in as soon as we left!! Front desk was nothing but helpful and polite!
Does the hotel need some upgrades, SURE...but it wasn't the pathetic shack I was expecting!
Reading the reviews, I was expecting to get ripped off, find bugs everywhere, have a 9 inche TV, and get told off by the front desk. Not to mention all the strangers trying to get into my room (according to others) and starving to death in the AM.
What I found was a nice, moderately priced hotel! They had a small continental breakfast (if I want bacon, I will go out...until then a bagel and apple works fine). We went at low times, and at high times...never any shortage of food!
No fear of crime! We had employess all over the place!
At one point, my husband and I had the girls at the outdoor pool...he went back to the room to get some drinks...an employee saw him leave, and saw the girls in the pool...but didn't see me. He went running to the pool to check things out. He didn't go after my husband...his main concern was that the girls were safe.
I would book a room here again no doubt!

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank darkkskyzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New york
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2008

I will never stay at Best Western again.
Housekeeping stole our cell phone. The fridge never got cold. security was non existent. We never felf safe.
Front desk was cold.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — lack of seurity
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank momwithtoddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, NY
1 review
Reviewed June 5, 2008

The Best Western of Lake George looks brand new! A new lobby, new rooms, new lawn games, new covered entrance way and best of all a new breakfast room with a wonderful breakfast!
The staff has always been great. They could not be more helpful or pleasant. Now they have a hotel as great as they are!
We thought it was great before; but now it's our place when we vacation in Lake George forever!

  • Liked — The new breakfast room and menu
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything negative to say!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Notrouttoobig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, FL
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2007

First of all, the exterior didn't look appealing. The room smelled and I don't believe the carpeting had ever been cleaned. The bathroom was very small and while taking a shower we were either frozen or fried. We won't be returning guests.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank SpringHill_FLWheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
1.2 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
1.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
2.6 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#19 of 89 in Lake George
407 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western of Lake George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western of Lake George

Property: Best Western of Lake George
Address: 2452 State Route 9n, Lake George, NY 12845
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western of Lake George 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western of Lake George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Of Lake George Hotel Lake George
Best Western Lake George
Lake George Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing