We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Lake George
Ranked #49 of 88 Hotels in Lake George
Beacon, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not too bad”
Reviewed July 12, 2009

Me and my family have stayed here 3 times when coming to lake george. It isnt a great place to stay, but I would reccomend it over many others.

Positives - It is located right on Canada Street, but for some reason, the Villager is rather quiet, so it is easy to chill out. The Villager is not far from the stores on Canada street, the steamboat harbor, or the beach. There is a mini golf course across the street as well.

Negatives - There is a Mcdonalds right next door that is kinda dumpy, but convienient. The staff is somewhat lackluster. The only staff members that seem to be doing anything are the ones that clean the rooms. The pool is a little dirty and there is NO life gaurd on duty at all. The place doesn't have coffee, so you have to go to the mcdonalds next door for coffee. Parking is a little rediculous too, as there is only one way in and one way out

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    47
    28
    11
    18
See reviews for
38
43
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vermont
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2008

OMG! This has to be the WORST place in the world! We were there on a busy weekend,we had both of are small children it was late and had no were else to go. This is the only reason we stayed,Mold, Bugs everywhere Stinky cub webs, hair on the sheets, broken dressers just terrible. We tryed to get our money back, we would have rather slept in our truck!! But the owner refused he was A real Jerk ! Never,Never again! Stay far away.
A crack house in NYC is probably in better condition.

  • Liked — NOTHING
  • Disliked — EVERYTHING
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jadejenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lake George hotels

Port Chester, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2008

the inn from 8-21-08 to 8-24-08 it was a great place to stay every thing was near we walk every where we was near the lake all the stores want to the fort willam henry we want on the cruises the minne-ha-ha we want horseback riding

  • Liked — the pool
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ncperez50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie
2 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2008

Have been there a few times over past couple of years. On August 16, 2008, stopped in early to get a room, went to beach, came back around 3:30 PM. Couldn't get into our room !!! Called one of the employees to assist... After 5 minutes, he forced the door open with his body .. He left, then I thought ``What if we can't get out??? Sure enough, I couldn't open the door from the inside !!! Girl at desk was walking by, told her we couldn't get out.. She attempted, had to go get her father(owner)..
Aftewr many attempts, said it was the dead bolt... I told him I could see that the dead bolt wasn't locked.. He insisted it was, went back to lobby to get key.. On his return, he said he needed the key.. I said, `Don't go anywhere, I'll pass it under the 4 inch gap under the door.. The door had rotted a way. Finally, he bodily forced door open.. Says ok????? We, at this time, was furious and demanded our money back, which was no problem..
Never again !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
What amuses me??? I told the check in person that they had bad reviews on the web site.. I think she got even with us.................

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank skeeter13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saugerties, NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2008

My husband, I and our three children stayed here on Sat July 19, 2008. We had the kids with us and were working on a budget so we needed to find someplace reasonable that could hopefully accommodate us in one room. We got a "family room" which was actually 2 rooms adjoining separated by a door. The room was mildewy and musty smelling when we entered. Very, very dark as well. Our room only had a dim table lamp on the table between the two beds so that you could hardly see. The beds were extremely hard and you could tell they were probably the cheap mattresses. The sheets, however, were clean, as I checked for bedbugs. The top sheets, however, didn't quite fit the double bed, as it was probably meant for a twin. The shower was running a bit when we got there, and no amount of trying to turn it off would work, so it ran hot water the whole time. The inside of the shower curtain and the wall were disgusting with mildew. There was a "kitchen" area that had a fridge that was about as old as I am. The AC in one of the rooms hardly worked.
Outside in the tiny strip of pavement they call a parking lot, there were many bags of cement and construction paraphernalia lying around.
The whole place is generally just very tired and run down and is in need of a total makeover, inside and out. I would not recommend this motel.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Everything Else!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilismom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2008

Our family along with another , has stayed at the Villager every 4th of July holiday for several years -this is the last! Upon arriving we noticed the grounds to be in very poor condition. The pool area was crawling with ants, the landscaping not trimmed and the same garbage was left day after day. The stairs leading to the 2nd floor pool side rooms, have indoor outdoor carpet which has worn loose, exposing bare wood and the carpet has been left torn and laying for one to trip over. We notified management and they merely stapled down the ripped pieces! The foundation has rotted and the upstairs railing is pulled out of the ceiling support as well as the railing that prevents any person or child from falling below - we viewed these two things as major safety issues! Toilets would not flush and the water pressure for showers was at a trickle.
Lastly, we took a print out of the rate prices from the website (which is no longer up) that confirmed our July rate to be $89/night , which it has been every year we came. At check in -we were charged $119 and when we questioned why the different rate from the $89 confirmed - the management (new owners) cut off our every word, and repeated "I don't care" and refused to honor the rate!! They never apologized for the site not reflecting a increase or offered any explanation what so ever. When we gave our concerns for the decline of the property condition since they took over and said we would not stay there again - the boy and girl that we were talking with both stated "I don't care, plenty of other people will". We have never been talked to so rudely by anyone in management -and these were the owners - unbelievable!! Do not give your money to this hotel - pay $10 more and stay at a safe, clean and respectfully run property.

  • Liked — Location Only
  • Disliked — The Management's lack of upkeep to facility and their attitude
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank upstatenyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2008

We thought the in-town location would mean that this property would have enough guests for the owners to keep up on it. We were wrong.

The faucets leaked, the beds were 5 years past time to change. The staff, if you could find anyone, seemed bothered by anything you brought to their attention.

The location was gook, and if they ever sell the place to some new owners that gut it before reopening, we might go back. Other than that....

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul_from_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
0.1 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
4.1 mi away
Blue Lagoon Resort
Blue Lagoon Resort
#1 of 5 in Diamond Point
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western of Lake George
Best Western of Lake George
#17 of 88 in Lake George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
3.9 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#14 of 88 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Lake George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Lake George

Property: Howard Johnson Lake George
Address: 99 Canada St, Lake George, NY 12845-1526 (Formerly Motel 6 Lake George)
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 88 Hotels in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Lake George 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Motel-6, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Howard Johnson Lake George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villager Motor Hotel Lake George
Villager Hotel Lake George
Villager Motel Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing