We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Howard Johnson Lake George
Nearby Hotels
Lake Motel(Lake George)(Great Value!)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge Downtown(Lake George)(Great Value!)
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George(Lake George)(Great Value!)
$119
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 Lake George/Warrensburg Area(Lake George)(Great Value!)
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn Lake George(Lake George)(Great Value!)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Studio Motel of Lake George(Lake George)(Great Value!)
$49
$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites Lake George(Lake George)(Great Value!)
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wingate by Wyndham Lake George(Lake George)(Great Value!)
$76
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lodges at Cresthaven(Lake George)
$195
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (251)
Filter reviews
251 results
Traveler rating
42
83
65
29
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
42
83
65
29
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationroom was cleancheck in was fast and easymotels hotelsthe wi fiking bedone night staywinter carnivalfridge and microwavewould definitely stay here againvillagevanitycobwebsny
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
206 - 211 of 251 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We decided to take a weekend motorcycle trip and needed to book rooms a week prior to arrival. Searching available accommodations, we found Motel 6 to be the closest proximity to the Village with rooms available. With the reviews & pictures of the new renovations and reasonable price we decided to give it a try. The location is it's best feature. The rooms were clean, standard 2-3 star. The bathroom is very small. Our son's bathroom door hit the toilet and had trouble closing. Soap is provided, no alarm clock. The bed blanket was thin, I imagine they would change in the cooler months. McDonald's was next door, a better option for morning coffee.
All in all, it was fine for what we needed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kk430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We decided to give this place a chance after seeing online it was renovated and renamed, etc. by Motel 6. Rooms were all renovated, very nice, reasonably priced, clean. Very reasonable rate for being right in the village peak season. Our only complaints were lack of parking, loud noises overhead throughout the night partying and our AC didn't seem to completely work so the room was very humid. All in all great price, great room, clean. Minus a few quirks, but centrally located.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shylow S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2011

My parents used to bring me here for our family vacations when I was little. It is the closest place to stay in Lake George. EVERYthing is within walking distance to here. It has changed hands quite a number of times and has since gradually gone downhill over the years. Keep in mind that this is NO Best Western. This is a simple place to rest your head between adventures of Lake George. If you are looking to stay inside all weekend and watch TV (but why would you do that on vacation?) then this may not be for you. Hopefully someone will invest some money into this place to fix it up to what it used to be - but then we wouldn't get the good rates that they charge now.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilacso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

Stayed Aug.28,2010.Was told if we paid cash there would be no tax[should have been our first clue].Had one towel for the two of us that was so thin you could read through it.Never recieved any more towels although we asked repeatedly.No soap or shampoo.When we asked manager for compensation she slamed the door in my face and put the do not distrub sign on.Don't ever go near this place.Charged $99.00 for a place that is falling down.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bhkidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

Ok, we are the 2 that couldn't get into & couldn't get out of our room for 45 minutes !!! That was 2008... Decide(2010) to check it out again only because my mother & father(both deceased now) had stayed there for years and never had a problem..... Those that owned the Villager sold & new owners took over !!! Things changed !!! Place began to deteriorate rather quickly.. After that incident, stayed away for 2 years.. This year(June 2010) , we decided to go back... We had no problems this time, and we could see the place shaping up.. That pile of dirt around the back side lasy there for 2 years taking up about 4 parking places finally removed... We were happy.
August: Back again and had no problems... They are very helpful and friendly. Keep up the good work, we might be back in September for 3 days...

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skeeter13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews