We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get what you pay for”
Review of Sundowner Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sundowner Motel
Ranked #43 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2008

Get what you pay for explains it all i got the $69 a night room should of upgraded after i saw the room but it was just for the weekend. the only thing new in the room was the bathroom floor. had to get new towels myself cause room service didnt come to the room. the pool was great and maintained but the rooms need to be updated to now a day standards not 1970 standards. And if you have a bad back do not sleep here the beds are terrible

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Hockeyman99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 159 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2007

Very clean rooms and very friendly staff. Loved having a pool sundeck and gorgeous Lake george right there. Parking was a little tight but the managers came around and did ask some people to adjust. We had a problem with our toilet and they came right down to fix it. Highly reccommended from me - great value!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank spunki729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2007

I have been staying at the sundowner for over twenty years with my family. We love the accommendations and the whirl pool is the best. Rooms are spacious and very clean. The staff is very helpful and courteous. We have looked at other hotels and said we would try a new one but we find ourselves staying right here. The rates are affordable and with a big family thats important...Great job sundowner keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank beah15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2007

I stayed at the Sundowner Motel with my mother and sister for 2 nights this summer. We were arriving later in the evening, and when we arrived the gentleman at reception was welcoming and helpful. He made a few restaurant suggestions for a late dinner and was very friendly. I believe he was the owner of the motel as we saw him throughout our stay doing various things around the property and he seemed to take pride in the establishment.
The room (#116) was a nice size, had a large bathroom, two double beds, and lovely picture window with a view of the lake. It was airconditioned, had cable TV and a small fridge for you to store drinks and snacks should you choose.
The property was quite large, they have an indoor jacuzzi, an outdoor jacuzzi, a kids pool and a regular pool....we didn't use the indoor jacuzzi but we used the outside pool and it was clean.
The motel also has a private lawn and a small beach with a nice dock. The water is shallow and it was nice to be able to walk into the water right from our motel.
All in all I really enjoyed my stay at this motel, the only complaint I have is that one of the mattresses in the room was very uncomfortable and I couldn't sleep very well, however I would still stay there again without a doubt. The location is great...a few minutes walk and you are in the middle of the action on canada street, the service was lovely, and it was very clean.
Two thumbs up to the sundowner :)

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aucho53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Celles plus près du lac sont un meilleur choix.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pierre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2015, traveled with family
Thank Nathalie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.1 mi away
Motel Montreal
Motel Montreal
#51 of 89 in Lake George
272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
0.1 mi away
Surfside On The Lake Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
O'Sullivan's On The Lake Motel
O'Sullivan's On The Lake Motel
#19 of 89 in Lake George
144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scotty's Lakeside Resort
Scotty's Lakeside Resort
#7 of 89 in Lake George
358 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Lane Motel
Park Lane Motel
#25 of 89 in Lake George
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundowner Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundowner Motel

Address: 420 Canada St, Lake George, NY 12845-1100
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Lake George
Price Range: $83 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sundowner Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sundowner Motel is conveniently located in Lake George Village directly on the shores of beautiful Lake George. We are a short walk from shops, restaurants, and activities in the village. Enjoy our clean, comfortable motel rooms, wonderful views of the lake, surrounding mountains and the other amenities that we offer:-Outdoor Heated Pool-Outdoor Kiddie Pool-Outdoor Deck overlooking Lake George-Outdoor Whirlpool-Free use of kayaks and rowboat-Free Wi-Fi-Private, shallow sandy beach-Picnic Tables and charcoal grills near beach-Laundromat-Free AM Coffee-All of our units are now non-smoking! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Sundowner Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundowner Hotel Lake George
Sundowner Motel Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing