We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So Impressed by Every Aspect!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sundowner Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sundowner Motel
Ranked #32 of 87 Hotels in Lake George
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“So Impressed by Every Aspect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We do not live too far from Lake George and wanted to take our kids up there for a night away to celebrate the start of summer. After checking out some of the websites of local motels/ hotels, we decided to take a look for ourselves and not reserve ahead. So glad we chose to do that! After seeing some other places that looked great on their websites but not so much in person, we decided on the Sundowner. Located in the Northern End of the village, we could walk to everything! The entire property, the rooms, pools and beach area are pristine. The business is family owned and operated and we enjoyed talking with the owners. After looking at both the standard rooms and lakeside rooms, we chose the lakeside with two queens ( our kids were so excited about the pool being right there!). Both options were very clean, comfortable and up to date as far as style and
amenities. Our room was spacious and for the price, we couldn't pass it up! This is by far one of the cleanest resorts I have ever visited- including high-end chain hotels. The owners are constantly making updates to the property and keep it in very good condition. I can't say enough about our stay- we will be back in the fall. My husband and I would love to stay in the lake view private balcony room!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KAS2880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    47
    17
    6
    1
See reviews for
60
50
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brookfield, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
114 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Checked in and the staff suggested we look at room 228 since we were on our anniversary trip and we did take it because it had a private balcony overlooking the lake. The room is spacous, spotless and well appointed. The staff seems very nice one guest said he and his family have been coming here for more than 10 years. The motel has free kayaking and canoeing for guests. The only issues are there is no on property breakfast and the parking is tight, but managable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

I love the Sundowner. Very friendly staff and wonderful rooms. Always my first choice of stay in Lake George. Great beach and nice pool. Great location. Just far enough outside of the village while still being in the village. I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cborie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Ewen, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Have stayed at the Sundowner for the past 3 years when coming up for the Warrensburg Garage Sale and Flea Market. This place is great. !! The owners are so friendly and helpful...the rooms are roomy and comfortable, location is so convenient. It is located at the end of the "strip" so it is very quiet, but it close enough to walk to and from the village. Have met lots of nice friendly people while staying there, too. And their prices are SO reasonable...what more can you ask for ?? Already have my reservation for October...can't wait.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindyd56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Milford, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We always have a great time in Lake George, and the lake is pristine. Staying at the Sundowner, is like staying with family. We never even consider staying anywhere else. The owners are very accommodating and help answer any questions we have about anything in the town. The beach at the Sundowner is always clean and the pool is very refreshing each time. Looking forward to going again in July!

Room Tip: We prefer to be in one of the rooms near the lake .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

i've been making it a tradition to stay at the Sundowner a few times a summer and kicked it off with my annual memorial day visit. of course with such horrible weather the getaway wasn't nearly as much fun but through no fault of the sundowner itself. infact, management was more than happy to accomodate my party at a reduced rate due to the inclement weather. think anyone else does that? not likely. the motel added a few nice touches with modern plasma tv's in the rooms and new tables for the pool area. and as always, the owners and staff are as welcoming and warm as can be.
online review websites such as tripadvisor can be misleading...and after reading some of the negative comments on this motel i felt it necessary to give my second review (one year apart) on the sundowner. one reason i always come back here is once they know you, they treat you like a friend and you are happy to support the local business.
the sundowner is welcoming to families, couples, singles and responsible party goers. not the place for rowdy 20 year olds nor for those who want a place 'all to themselves'. the funny thing about the clientle here is that barring major attitudes, other motel goers lodging close to you always seem friendly and social, which can make the trip even more enjoyable. the rooms are always nicely well kept and maid service can whip it back into shape faster than you can take a dip in the nicely heated pool and back out again. the beach area is great when that sun is shining and don't worry..it never gets too too busy because most will be at the pool, which also is sized nicely. the heavy window blinds do a great job of keeping the sun out in case you need to catch up on z's but once that sun is out, you will want to get out and do your thing!
the free kayak and row boat rentals are a generous bonus the motel offers. assuming you aren't an idiot and have some basic seamanship common sense it is a fun and must-do activity as long as the water isn't too choppy.
although the motel is almost at the end of canada street which can make for a bit of a hike from a late night out at neptunes or any of the other great bars, i like that the motel has it's little niche towards the end of the road, making it super convenient if you want to take exit 22 to bypass the traffic in town (after a right off the exit, another right puts you on canada street and the motel is just on your left next to the balsam).
lake george will always be one of my top favorite places in new york and i just love coming here. although there is much weatlh on this lake and further up north thru bolton and beyond, this a blue collar resort town, period. you are not finding five star dining anywhere or concierge service. what you have is a gorgeous lake, kitschy novelty shops, tourists and locals, and mucho fun to be had by anyone who is looking to wind down and enjoy themselves. the sundowner will gladly make your stay comfortable and enjoyable so if you are looking for an affordable way to have a blast, look no further! the sun is always shining at the sundowner!!

Room Tip: if you are fussy, they are willing to let you see rooms before you commit. if you are in a party of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eps_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

We will be going back again here in July, This hotel sits right on the lake at Lake George, has a small beach area with chairs, tables and grills. Rooms are clean and comfortable, but the best part is the very large jacuzzi and beautiful clean pool! The pool also has a raised deck so you can overlook the lake. They are always cleaning and taking care of this place! Also this place is walking distance to the downtown area. We will always come back to the Sundowner!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank klarue57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
0.1 mi away
Scotty's Lakeside Resort
Scotty's Lakeside Resort
#16 of 87 in Lake George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake Motel
Lake Motel
#6 of 87 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Heritage of Lake George Motel
Heritage of Lake George Motel
#7 of 87 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
3.5 mi away
Golden Sands Resort on Lake George
0.1 mi away
The Georgian Lakeside Resort
The Georgian Lakeside Resort
#20 of 87 in Lake George
3.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundowner Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundowner Motel

Property: Sundowner Motel
Address: 420 Canada St, Lake George, NY 12845-1100
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sundowner Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sundowner Motel is conveniently located in Lake George Village directly on the shores of beautiful Lake George. We are a short walk from shops, restaurants, and activities in the village. Enjoy our clean, comfortable motel rooms, wonderful views of the lake, surrounding mountains and the other amenities that we offer:-Outdoor Heated Pool-Outdoor Kiddie Pool-Outdoor Deck overlooking Lake George-Outdoor Whirlpool-Free use of kayaks and rowboat-Free Wi-Fi-Private, shallow sandy beach-Picnic Tables and charcoal grills near beach-Laundromat-Free AM Coffee-All of our units are now non-smoking! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Sundowner Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundowner Hotel Lake George
Sundowner Motel Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing