We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our place at Lake George”
Review of Sundowner Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sundowner Motel
Ranked #42 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Certificate of Excellence
Fords
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Our place at Lake George”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My wife and I have stayed here at the Sundowner 3 times now and each time is a pleasure. We have never been disappointed by anything about the place. And each time we stay, we find that the owners are always looking to improve the place. The rooms we have stayed in are very spacious and have a nice pleasant decor. Even the outside of the place is pleasing it a very nice dark tan color. (Well, the first time was a few years ago and it was when the place was still a bright yellow that I think could have been seen from the space station) We stayed in a group of 6 rooms with a private deck that has a lake view and a table and chairs. We are planning a family reuniion at Lake George for next summer with my sisters family and ours and our recommendation to them is the Sundowner. There are 2 very spacious rooms with kitchenettes in them that would be good for my son and his family and my niece and hers. They both have 2 kids of their own. One has 2 queen beds and a queen size pull out sofa bed. The other has 2 queen size beds. Again, both have kitchenettes with stove top, microwave, refrigerator and a sink.
One drawback is the parking. There are plenty of spaces, and it is very tight, but it is not impossible to manuver around to get to the exit. I have an SUV and had no trouble whatsoever. I saw a full size pickup turn around with hardly any trouble at all. (there was one reviewer who stated that it is not made for a full-size pickup, but I believe an experienced driver would not have a complaint like that)
Anyway, the Sundowner is a very enjoyable place in the middle of Lake George where one can go and relax by the lake and walk into town with no trouble at all. Overall, excellent and our placd to go to in Lake George. (we've been going there on and off for almost 25 years) Enjoy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    50
    18
    8
    4
See reviews for
63
54
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The room was huge and we loved that. 2 queen beds, table and 4 chairs, loveseat and arm chair and plenty of room to move around. The bathroom was also large with double sinks and really nice. Rooms are all no smoking however we could smell smoke so we bought a candle and also it was nice so we had window open a lot. Towels are very skimpy and parking is not very good where we were at the bottom by the lake. the beach is tiny but we were there in September so it was fine for us. Beds were comfy and pillows were nice - not flat like many places. we were downstairs and can hear every step they take upstairs. Pool was not open but looked a bit small for such a large place.

Room Tip: not handicap accessible. this is on a hill and there are stairs to the rooms we were in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pattypooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albany, ny
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Basic Motel - very clean bathroom - rooms are basic - older but do offer free refrig - parking is very tight
Beach area is nice - short walk to village for dining - fun
very nice family ownership - concerned about customer's needs
price is budget friendly

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are best - less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelold50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastchester, New York
1 review
Reviewed September 6, 2012

My wife and I have been coming here for several years and the stay, has always been pleasent. I would recommend this hotel and rate it a 10 overall. The satff are friendly and always available. The facility is safe and well lite.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dominic g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We've been to this place many times, and every time it's been a soothing, happy stay - great, friendly staff, very homey, CLEAN, and comfortable rooms (small or large), and a wonderful location for the price - really a gem.

Room Tip: There's a cabin that's detached in between the continuous joined motel rooms - it has two do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kay d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Adams, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Our two-night stay at the Sundowner has made us want to return there again. The Rougeau family are welcoming and very accommodating, providing information on restaurants, church info, events, and places of interest and travel routes. The room was very clean and comfortable in every way. We especially enjoyed relaxing at their beachfront and viewing the Lake. A great place for family vacation with it's pools. We highly recommend the Sundowner Motel for a getaway or an extended vacation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandratatro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hadley, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Can't beat this place for the price. Staff/owners were very friendly, rooms were small, but very clean and comfortable. Bathroom was updated and clean. Bed was soft and seemed fairly new. Our room even had it's own small, private deck with chairs. The location of the hotel is on a narrow strip of beach, which was nice. Parking was tight, but we never had an issue. Pool/hot tub looked clean, but we didn't have a chance to use it. The hotel is also very close to the downtown strip, which was convenient. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JG5554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
0.1 mi away
Surfside On The Lake Hotel & Suites
3.5 mi away
Golden Sands Resort on Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Heritage of Lake George Motel
Heritage of Lake George Motel
#2 of 89 in Lake George
297 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marine Village Resort
Marine Village Resort
#18 of 89 in Lake George
377 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scotty's Lakeside Resort
Scotty's Lakeside Resort
#8 of 89 in Lake George
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundowner Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundowner Motel

Property: Sundowner Motel
Address: 420 Canada St, Lake George, NY 12845-1100
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sundowner Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sundowner Motel is conveniently located in Lake George Village directly on the shores of beautiful Lake George. We are a short walk from shops, restaurants, and activities in the village. Enjoy our clean, comfortable motel rooms, wonderful views of the lake, surrounding mountains and the other amenities that we offer:-Outdoor Heated Pool-Outdoor Kiddie Pool-Outdoor Deck overlooking Lake George-Outdoor Whirlpool-Free use of kayaks and rowboat-Free Wi-Fi-Private, shallow sandy beach-Picnic Tables and charcoal grills near beach-Laundromat-Free AM Coffee-All of our units are now non-smoking! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sundowner Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundowner Hotel Lake George
Sundowner Motel Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing