We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place to stay in Lake George”
Review of Sundowner Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sundowner Motel
Ranked #31 of 88 Hotels in Lake George
Certificate of Excellence
New Paltz, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The only place to stay in Lake George”
Reviewed May 27, 2012

This is mine and my family's fourth year in a row staying at the Sundowner Motel in fabulous Lake George. We first found it on a whim, and have been back ever since. Jeff and Anna (the owners) are amazing... always out making the property better...you can absolutely tell that this is family owned and operated. It's a great place to stay with a family (I have a 3.5 year old)... It has the perfectly sized private beach for a little one... not too big to get lost in a crowd, but not too small as to be able to enjoy it. They have kayaks and a row boat to rent for free on a first come first serve basis. And, even though this motel is centrally located to all the hustle and bustle of downtown lake George, it is quiet. When you come home you can sleep! The rooms are modern yet affordable, and always clean. 4 years and counting... I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kate s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    49
    17
    6
    1
See reviews for
60
51
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

this is the second year we stayed at this hotel on the same weekend..stayed at other places n this is my favorite..rooms are very clean...pool is heated n very clean....owners n staff r freindly n helpful...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frankiefreon6136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

This was a very nice family-owned hotel. Always friendly and helpful. Rooms are modern and clean. Area was quiet though located right on the main street and despite having a bridal party revelers and some motorcycle couples staying there too :) Shops and restaurants were closeby and walkable. Parking spots were a little tight especially since we have a pick-up truck. Hotel offers free kayak rentals to use right from their private beach that we took advantage of. We did have a toilet clog but they fixed it before we got back to our room. Price reasonable. Weren't able to use pool since it closed for the season but sure looked nice. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a street level room and were allowed to store our bikes in our room. This saved us from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nibork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Stayed in Lake George overnight on way to New Hampshire. Family run motel, very friendly owners. Big room with spectacular view of Lake George. Definitely will return next summer for a longer stay.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raleigh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

always loved the sundowner and always will !!! very nice owners now, had so much fun last weekend, juccuzi is great every thing is clean, i was going way back , when the pool was at the top , beatiful memory's every yr !!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandy669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

We stayed at the Sundowner for our mini vacation last week. The room was big and clean, the front desk was helpful at figuring out what we needed (with two toddlers). The pools were nice (the kiddie one is like 4 square feet but was actually perfect), and the beach was clean. Small, but we were the only family using it so that was fine. Great views of the MinniHaha and parasailers.

The parking is a little tricky, but that is more the fault of the location than the hotel on an incline.

One complaint: I wish the whole property was non smoking, not just the rooms. Every time we were outside I felt like someone was smoking next to me. On the beach, in the pool area, in the picnic area. But that's coming from a nonsmoker.

A few odd bits: The closet floor was half done, the tiling in the bathroom was missing grout in a corner, and next to our room was an odd, open cement garage. Not sure what itspurpose was, but we found it funny.

There were kayaks up for grabs and we saw lots of families taking advantage of that. We would try if the kids were older.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leaudemiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We really didn't need anything more than a bed to sleep in at night and this was one of the cheapest motels within walking distance of the village (5-10 minutes). This motel was just what we needed at a very reasonable price for the area. The motel is located a little bit north of the village center on the lake side of the road and they have their own little private beach with lounge chairs and tables. They also have an outdoor heated pool, a whirlpool and a kid pool. They provide free WiFi internet access, HBO and kayaks. The parking is free, but the spaces are very tight (although most lakeside motels are like this). The motel still uses actual keys for the rooms instead of swipe cards, but that’s just indicative to the feel of the entire Lake George area.

We stayed in a standard 1 Queen Bed room which was small, but very clean. The room had A/C, a refrigerator and a chair. The girl at the front desk was very pleasant and helpful. We didn't need help with anything, but the owners were always around and seemed like they would go out of their way to assist you with anything you needed. Like most family-run motels in the area, you can't book a room online and must call to make a reservation. The only thing I really didn’t like was that the towels were only about half the size of normal towels, which made it a pain to dry off with. Overall we enjoyed our weekend stay here and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Book as early as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rydogger19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
0.0 mi away
Surfside On The Lake Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Motel Montreal
Motel Montreal
#48 of 88 in Lake George
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Heritage of Lake George Motel
Heritage of Lake George Motel
#5 of 88 in Lake George
249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake Motel
Lake Motel
#8 of 88 in Lake George
318 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Lane Motel
Park Lane Motel
#26 of 88 in Lake George
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundowner Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundowner Motel

Property: Sundowner Motel
Address: 420 Canada St, Lake George, NY 12845-1100
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sundowner Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sundowner Motel is conveniently located in Lake George Village directly on the shores of beautiful Lake George. We are a short walk from shops, restaurants, and activities in the village. Enjoy our clean, comfortable motel rooms, wonderful views of the lake, surrounding mountains and the other amenities that we offer:-Outdoor Heated Pool-Outdoor Kiddie Pool-Outdoor Deck overlooking Lake George-Outdoor Whirlpool-Free use of kayaks and rowboat-Free Wi-Fi-Private, shallow sandy beach-Picnic Tables and charcoal grills near beach-Laundromat-Free AM Coffee-All of our units are now non-smoking! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Sundowner Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundowner Hotel Lake George
Sundowner Motel Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing