We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wingate-Short stay due to Flood”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Lake George
Ranked #10 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed here 1 night before the hotel flooded , AnnMarie the Mgr. was very helpful , it was unfortunate and certainly not the hotel or Mgt.'s fault, Prior to flood our stay had been going well. The beds were very comfortable, linens were fresh, room cleaned well overnight really quite clean overall(which to me is my # 1 priority when traveling) The pool area was nice and the shower in the bathroom worked well with very good water pressure. As far as breakfast goes , I had coffee ,which was good, I never really go for buffet anything and really feel the fact that any breakfast was offered is a bonus. I found our shortened stay to be satisfactory in all areas and felt the room charges were reasonable. I consider myself well-traveled(take several trips per year) and think this hotel was reasonably priced ,I hope the wingate is up and running soon and thank the Mgt. and personnel for handling an emergency situation quite well!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gatcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin D, Front Desk Supervisor at Wingate by Wyndham Lake George, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us here at the Wingate by Wyndham in Lake George. Thank you for understanding that the circumstances surrounding the water pipe break were out of our control. I am please that you found the situation to be handled well by management and other employees. We pride ourselves on our room's cleanliness, so thank you for noticing. Our breakfast is complimentary and meant to be basic and for guests on the go. We do have several recommendations for beautiful places to sit and enjoy a fancier breakfast in the area. I hope you are able to come and enjoy our hospitality again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,505)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,048 - 1,054 of 1,505 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Caitlin D, Front Desk Supervisor at Wingate by Wyndham Lake George, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

My husband and I take our yearly vacation at Lake George, NY. This was our first year at the Wingate. Overall, the experience was very good. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. There was an unfortunate incident that I'm sure was beyond the control of the folks at the Wingate. We were all awoken at midnight by the fire alarm for a flooding problem that required us to go outside. It really disrupted our sleep, not to mention the scare of being woken by a loud fire alarm. However, our room fared well, and other than the hour spent up and out, our stay was very good. Special thanks to Amy, the front desk gal. She was fantastic with excellent customer service given with a smile and positive responses to all questions we asked. We would definitely stay at the Wingate again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Marianne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin D, Front Desk Supervisor at Wingate by Wyndham Lake George, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us here at the Wingate by Wyndham in Lake George. I apologize that you were visiting us when we experienced our unexpected water main break. We had four managers at the front desk explaining the situation to all of the guests and I am happy that Amy was able to help make you feel more comfortable in this situation. Many of our guests, such as yourselves, were as sympathetic of our plight as a business as we were of having disturbed our valued guests. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how you enjoyed your stay, regardless of the unfortunate circumstances. I hope you will be back to visit us now having a story to tell and to see the wonderful, if unexpected, renovations we have undergone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Andrea Q
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Caitlin D, Front Desk Supervisor at Wingate by Wyndham Lake George, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
1  Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Caitlin D, Front Desk Supervisor at Wingate by Wyndham Lake George, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Have stayed at the Wingate in Lake George on 2 occassions and would highly recommend it. Great location, clean rooms, nice staff and good breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin D, Front Desk Supervisor at Wingate by Wyndham Lake George, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment positively on your stay with us here at the Wingate by Wyndham in Lake George. I am pleased that you have chosen to be valued repeat guests of our hotel while you are visiting Lake George. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness and service so I am very happy you took the time to appreciate those things by giving us your thoughts on your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The room smelled horrible, like bodily odors! They moved us to another room but same smell and the walls and lampshades had stains on them.The AC is controlled so we could not get the room temperature to our liking. Thankfully, it was cool in the evening so we could leave our window open and get some fresh air but that didn't work out well either. Our room was right above the lobby and outside the lobby is a designated smoking area so all the smoked come in our window. Every time you walk in or out of hotel you have to walk through all the smokers! Definitely not worth what we paid (little over $500 for two nights) not to mention the breakfast is terrible!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank 877eap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin D, Front Desk Supervisor at Wingate by Wyndham Lake George, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us here at the Wingate by Wyndham in Lake George. I apologize that you found your hotel room to be smelly. Our air is constantly circulated and made fresh by a state of the art system. It is highly unlikely that this smell would have been in both rooms you were assigned. I hope you brought "stained walls and lampshades" to our attention while you were still a guest here. Our air conditioners are set to go no lower than 67 degrees. The unit will turn off automatically once that limit has been reached. I also apologize that you were bothered by other guests smoking. We are a non-smoking hotel so we do need a convenient place for the smokers to gather. We put it in a location that is was designed to inconvenience as few people as possible, but I'm sorry that as a non-smoker this bothered you. Many times before, our breakfast is the largest free breakfast in the area, but is no means supposed to be an all inclusive sit-down and take your time experience. There are several wonderful places we would have recommended if that was the dining experience you were hoping for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
0.7 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
0.6 mi away
Best Western of Lake George
Best Western of Lake George
#17 of 89 in Lake George
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
1.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
1.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Lake George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Lake George

Address: 4054 State Route 9l, Post Office Box 432, Lake George, NY 12845-3906
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lake George
#13 Romantic Hotel in Lake George
Price Range: $81 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Lake George 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Lake George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Lake George Hotel Lake George
Wingate Lake George
Wingate Hotel Lake George
Wyndham Lake George
Lake George Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing