We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Dissappointed” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Crest Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake Crest Inn
Ranked #10 of 26 Lake George B&B and Inns
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very Dissappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

My family has been staying in Lake George for may years. This was our first time at the Lake Crest Inn. I have to say, we were very disappointed. The outside is very attactive and you can tell that a lot of money has been put into the Inn. We stayed in a 2 room suite with a kitchenette. You could tell that one of the bedrooms was a recent addition, however the furniture was still from the 70's. The kitchenette was a dangerous place. I turned the faucet on, only to find water all over the floor a few minutes later. When I opended the panel under the sink I found the drain pipe was disconnected. That wasn't the worst. There were also many electrical wires and an outlet where the refrigerator was plugged in, all in the same area. There are no outlets in the bathroom. No mirrors other than the bathroom. No clocks. Nothing stays plugged into the outlets that are there. The people are nice and the rooms are clean, but I have to say that the room was not worth what we paid. I am not a difficult person to please and have never written a review before, but felt that I had to write this one.

Room Tip: Physically look at the rooms before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    46
    15
    11
    15
See reviews for
36
71
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newport
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed here for one night, luckily. As we entered our clean room it had a very musty smell to it. There was no clock in the room to even know what time it was or to get up bye. The toilet seat was half broken, it wouldn't open up all the way. The outside of the restaurant and office are newly renovated and look beautiful, that's why we picked this motel to stay at but the rooms have not been updated! We weren't even told anything about the restaurant above the office, don't know if it included a continental breakfast or not. I would not recommend this place. Go up the road and take a trolly downtown.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Patty Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

This hotel is over rated. They charges us $129 per night to book in advance and then allowed people who did not book a rate of $109 per night. They had lots of excuses as to why this was, none of which made any sense. The rooms are clean but dated - vintage 1970's. The beach is the size of a postage stamp. You can't see much of the lake. Quite a rip off. Drive past just a bit down the road and you will find many nicer places to stay. Never again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carold52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeCrestInn, Front Office Manager at Lake Crest Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2011
Greetings from the Lake Crest Inn,

We want to thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experiences at the Lake Crest Inn. We appreciate the positive comments as well as the comments highlighting areas where we can improve.

The management and staff at the Lake Crest care about your experiences when you stay with us and we want you to know we are listening. The reason your rate was $129 per night for a Queen Bed was because you stayed for 2 nights. Your neighbors were staying for 4 nights at a rate of $109 per night. We do realize the country is in a recession so we do offer our guests that stay more than 2 nights a discount.

A $100,000+ renovation of the front of our property has been completed in May 2011. The new owners have had this place for just 3 shorts years but in that time have done a tremendous amount of work. So much so that Lake Crest has won the Beautification Award 2 years running! Unfortunately, we cannot do anything about the size of our beach front. It has been the same size for 50 years.

Please accept our sincerest apologies with this matter. Be assured that we are working diligently on the issues you have brought to our attention and we look forward to welcoming you back.

With much thanks for your kind words,
Lake Crest Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

Was in Lake George recently for a guys weekend camping on the islands on the north end of the lake. My girlfriend and I decided to stay a night in the village before parting ways to meet up with friends. The room was comfortable and clean, the staff was excellent. It is located within a 2 min walk of the town center with shops, bars and restaurants, which made dinner and drinks very convenient. The beach and pool area where very nice, however the sun unfortunately did not want to cooperate. Don't miss breakfast at the restaurant before heading out it is the best I have had in Lake George.

Room Tip: Can get crowded so plan ahead
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emojojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babylon, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

I recently stayed at the Lake Crest Inn while visiting with friends in Lake George. The room was very clean, the bed was comfortable, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The restaurant was also great, we had breakfast here both days. The location is also perfect, it's right on the lake (with a little beach) and walking distance to the village of Lake George. I definitely recommend staying at the Lake Crest Inn if you are planning to visit Lake George!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank li678497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2011

I have traveled to Lake george with friends for the past 6 years, trying different motels recommended to me, but this one by far is the best. The rooms are excellent, it is located right in the heart of the small city where everythings happening. When we needed more toiletries and towels they were brought within 2 minutes. The person working at the desk was helpful and did honor our reservation. Im not sure what all these reviews are talking about when they start ranting about their reservations being ignored.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheTravelChannel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Łuków
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2011

... perfect location...
...perfect rooms....
...great service...


see you next year

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maciek_pl_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
1.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake George
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
0.5 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
0.0 mi away
Lake Motel
Lake Motel
#5 of 87 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marine Village Resort
Marine Village Resort
#19 of 87 in Lake George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Crest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Crest Inn

Property: Lake Crest Inn
Address: 376 Canada St, Route 9, Lake George, NY 12845-1100
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lake Crest Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Lake George Village, this property has a private beach, complimentary Wi-Fi and spacious rooms with a refrigerator. All rooms at Lake Crest Inn have cable TV, a sitting area and air-conditioning. Select rooms offer a flat-screen TV and a private patio with lake views. Guests at this Lake George inn can enjoy a swim in the lake front pool or the roped-off swimming area on the lake with a panoramic view of Lake George and the Adirondacks. On-site activities also include free row-boating day trips and hourly kayak hire. Lake Crest Inn has a breakfast restaurant located on property. Open daily in season. Great Escape Six Flags is less than 6 miles drive. Fort William Henry Museum is 11 minutes' walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Lake Crest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Crest Hotel Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing