We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd year and we're booked again for 2014”
Review of Twin Birches

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake George
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Twin Birches
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“3rd year and we're booked again for 2014”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This is our 3rd year at twin birches and another great week. We were three families children ranging from 20 months to 20 years. All had a great time. Love our nightly fires with a variety of smore's. Boys love the freedom to be able to go out around the property to the arcade play ping pong, mini golf and choose between 2 great pools. Lake George is a great vacation spot for all ages. Twin birches is always improving, the grounds are kept beautiful the only down side is the lake is a bit of a trek..but it has not made US go elsewhere.....see you in 2014

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mommyto3loves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    13
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
36
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Linda and the staff at twin birches are great. The rooms are very clean and whatever you need they are there with just one phone call. They have a laundry facility on the grounds. Two built in pools and the landscaping is beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Lake George is a great place for a family vacation and Twin Birches is a the place to stay. We've been going to Twin Birches for the last 14 years and my two sons have grown up there. One of the best things about the place is the people you meet. We go every year the week of the fourth of July and all the same families are there. You develop friendships over the years. The grounds are well kept and include 2 tennis courts, three basketball courts, children's playground, game room with ping pong and pool tables, two pools, and Lake Front swimming with sandy bottom. There is plenty to do in historic Lake George. The fishing is terrific, there are two amusement parks, and you can even catch a baseball game at nearby Glens Falls. I whole heartedly recommend a vacation in Lake George and staying at Twin Birches.

Room Tip: Twin Birches is pet friendly and I recommend a pet cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dads2boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niantic, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We have been going to Lake George and have stayed at Twin Birches for one week every August for almost 25 years. Our family can total over 35 people for a reunion but we are all comfortably accomodated there at the cottages. I personally have loved Lake George since we first began the reunions there. The lake, the town, the surrounding area of Adirondack park, the rivers and other towns; with the Twin Birches as my "home base", I couldn't have asked for a better place to stay.

Room Tip: We always get cottage #13 (a lucky number for us). My family and I have always enjoyed it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AUGUSTO22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

We went in August with 3 families. The grounds are just awesome. We stayed in a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom cottage. It was as nice as a house! We had a huge kitchen, living room, brand new stove, full refrigerator, large table, Flat screen TV, the works!!! All for 1400 for a week can't beat that!
There is no maid service, so cleaning is up to you. It really Was not a problem.
The grounds are beautiful. They have 2 pools, basketball courts, mini golf, game room, plenty of fire pits.
There are picnic tables everywhere, and every cabin has a full deck table with chairs/
We love the ambiance of the whole place. Very relaxing close to nature!
They have a spot across the street with the lake, plenty of chairs, Lakeside. The kids had a blast jumping from their pier into the water. They have paddle boats at no cost and row boats which we used. They even have their own pontoon boat that takes you into town each day at noon if you choose.
The only negatives I can see was the firewood was $$. You could easily drop 20-30 for a fire for a night. My advice bring your own or have it delivered to you at the site!
They charge money for the kids to play mini golf on the grounds. Really that should be free, it's part of their grounds. The towel situation was another negative. If you don't get your towels each day by noon you are out of luck. This posed a problem as we needed to give our kids showers after being in the lake all day and they would not give us clean ones NO EXCEPTIONS!
The game room was a money pit as any game room is....
All the positives are so much more
We are pretty picky about where we go
And we are going back next year!
Can't wait!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dspacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islip Terrace, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We go on several vacations each year but this is my family's favorite. This is the 4th year staying at Twin Birches. The location is wonderful, the cabins are very clean, and the staff is wonderful. Plenty of activities are close by. We will be going back next July!

Room Tip: We always stay in a cabin with a view of the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Grove, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We just returned from our 7th summer vacation to Lake George and our 1st stay at the Twin Birches. We had a terrific time!! Although this was our first time not directly on the lake, we were not bothered, as the property more than made up for it. Flat space for the kids to play and ride bikes...something you can't do on the lake side with the steep inclines. Lovely cabins. My kids loved the game room (pool, ping pong, air hockey were their favorites). The mini-golf course was very enjoyable. Gorgeous basketball and tennis courts in the back of the property. Fire pits for every cabin. Porches/patios. The grounds are very well kept. Loved the beautiful gardens and the front pool area was gorgeous. Loved the pool! And yes, it was a walk to the beach, but my goodness, does Twin Birches have one of the most beautiful lake front properties we have seen!! My kids loved jumping off the docks and swim platform. The water was deep enough that you could actually swim and not just "wade" in the water like many other lake front properties. We walked down a few times and it was fine. For older folks or families with young children, I would definitely recommend driving down, but otherwise a lovely walk. We found the owners and staff friendly and helpful. We are booked for next year and can't wait! Thank you Twin Birches family and staff!! :D

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lglvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
1.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
1.7 mi away
Courtyard Lake George
Courtyard Lake George
#4 of 88 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Lake George Escape Campground
Lake George Escape Campground
#1 of 32 in Lake George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
1.4 mi away
Scotty's Lakeside Resort
Scotty's Lakeside Resort
#16 of 88 in Lake George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.4 mi away
Forest Hill Lodge & Cabins
Forest Hill Lodge & Cabins
#26 of 88 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twin Birches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twin Birches

Property: Twin Birches
Address: 3201 Lake Shore Dr, Lake George, NY 12845-6510
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Lake George
Number of rooms: 61
Also Known As:
Twin Birches Hotel Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing