We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Lyn Aire @ Lake George” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lyn Aire Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lyn Aire Motel
Ranked #35 of 90 Hotels in Lake George
Williamsport
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lyn Aire @ Lake George”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Very nice place to stay...been here many times for the Americade Motorcycle Rally....great place to stay then and just as good this time around... Staff is very cordial and extremely accommodating! Thanks!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valkyrie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    22
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
57
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Down State New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We recently stayed at Lyn Aire Motel Resort and found it to be very clean with lots to do for all ages. They offer a continental breakfast, have a pool, grounds large enough to B-B-Q, play basketball or other games, have a pavillion with some video games, rooms are very comfortable and have a microwave and small fridge in each room. They have small tables outside each room for those who enjoy the fresh air and are only minutes from the village of Lake George or the famous Adirondack Outlets! I highly recommend the Lyn Aire Motel Resort to anyone!

Room Tip: Room on the first floor for those who do not or cannot climb stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hank-ML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hubbardston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Clean rooms and nice staff, a lot of room for children to run around play with basketball court & a large playground area. The Continental Breakfast was small but was OK. The pool area was great with a slide for the kids and Jacuzzi for adults. I would still recommend this motel.
Mike & Donna MASS

Room Tip: The rooms in the back of motel are quieter, the front rooms on the side you can hear road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

A good place to stay with clean rooms and friendly staff but the main road traffic can get noisy. A nice big yard for throwing the football or Frisbee and the game room is covered for rainy days with a ping pong table and a few arcade games, but it could use some T.L.C. The breakfast is good and a nice touch is coffee is available all day. The pool and Jacuzzi are clean but close to the main road. We enjoyed our stay but just wish it was a little off the main road.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SchellFun2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We found our accommodations to be spacious, clean, and quite comfortable. The owners are lovely, and were extremely responsive to what was only a minor issue. Lovely outdoor space, great jacuzzi, and close to town. Great value for a great price.
Gary and Reva NYC

Room Tip: We were glad to have a ground level room.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This hotel is a bit of a mixed bag with some pros and cons.
On the plus side, the room we stayed in was clean, huge and well maintained. The owners were pleasent engaging and accomodating. The grounds were well kept with flowers and pretty plantings everywhere. They have a family friendly large yard and play area. They have a large playset for kids. They have some video games outside under a large covered area with also ping pong and a version of air hockey. The continental "free" breakfast provided was a little above average and fine for what it is. A full breakfast restaurant is right next door if thats needed. Pleasant was the hotel is located directly (as in steps away) on a very safe and shelterd bike path so you can ride it down the hill all the way down to the state beach.(just be warned getting back up, its a pretty steep ride and kids and those not in decent shape would struggle to make that trek back up). If you go in the other direction, down to the outlets, its fun as well and a bit easier for kids, etc to ride. The pool area had nice furniture and a nice jacuzzi. The pool had a great slide for kids to go down.

On the needs improvemnt side there are a couple things you should know. This hotel in not off the beaten path as I had heard others say. It is right next to the main road that leads into the area. There are large semi trucks and motorcycles etc all driving very close to the hotel that if your outside at times, on the front half of the property, you can have trouble talking to the person a few feet away. The noise is loud and constant during peak season. To be fair it does die down at night and we couldn't hear it in our room. The pool is located about 20 feet from the road and the noise was so loud I chose to not go there for too long. It would be great if they heated the pool it was definitely on the chilly side.
Puzzling was a large kind of rundown work pick up truck that is parked right along the parking lot by the pool for days, spoiling the lovely view of the grounds and plantings. If this were parked out of the way a bit more it'd be less of an eyesore. The truck was in running shape so there was no reason for it to be where it was parked. Do make sure you check in advance if your room is on the top floor. The stairs are pretty steep and there is not an elevator that we saw to get your gear up there. Stay on the bottom floors if you have a lot of gear. The bumper pool table really doesnt work, rubber bumpers are gone, and they should remove it.

Regarding the area. You must get the prime rib at georges. And make reservations and go to Le roux, great food there. Fireworks by the lake are free and usually on thursdays, view near the south side of the state park from the street. Fort wm Henry was expensive but informative and their tour was first class. Goony golf is the most fun mini golf in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ROSCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fryeburg, Maine
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We decided to take a last minute trip to Great Escape with some friends. We were two families traveling together. One family of 1 adult/2 children and the second family of 2 adults/2 children. We spent about 2 hours searching the internet for a location that was close, reasonably priced and with a pool. We decided on the Lyn Aire because it was independently owned, offered a pool and breakfast and had good reviews. The internet price was $134, but mentioned that if you called the property direct there would be a savings. I called and was quoted $137. When I mentioned the internet offer the man didn't know what it was but lowered his price to $129 including tax. We discussed rooms and said that they did not need to be adjoining but close together. My friends arrived first and reminded the desk clerk that our rooms were to be close together. When we arrived I was greeted by a friendly smiling clerk who apologized for running my credit card twice, the first time she ran $14.90 instead of $149 by mistake. She didn't know anything about the $129 and said I could talk to the manager in the morning. She apologized that our rooms weren't near each other but said it was a small property so it didn't matter. Our rooms were two doors short of being the farthest possible distance from each other and still be on the same property. Strike two. We left for dinner and came back around 9:30. The kids wanted to swim so I sent my 16 year old out to read the sign with the pool hours - there was no sign so we went swimming. I was in the hot tub, my friend was standing on the pool deck and the kids 16, 14, 12 and 7 were swimming when the kids were scolded by a man who said the pool closed at 9. My son went into the office to explain that he looked for a sign with the hours but didn't see one. As he went he he overheard the deck clerk ( a different person that check in) and the man talking about us a in derogatory manner. My son explained to the clerk that he looked for a sign and there wasn't one, she told him we should have been told about the hours at check in which were weren't because we were too busy receiving apologies for being overcharged. Strike 3. At 10:30 we went to bed. At midnight the clock radio alarm started going off. Strike 4. Around 2:30am the people in the next room decided to have a heated conversation which you can hear every word of through the paper thin walls. At around 5:00 the traffic started and I was up for the day. Around 6:30 someone was loudly knocking on the door to the room next door and my kids were up for the day too. This was overall possibly my worst nights sleep in any lodging establishment. The plus side to the rooms is that the bathrooms are very nice. The minus side other than the paper this walls is that there are no electrical outlets to charge phones and the like unless you use the plug in the bathroom which doesn't really work if you also use your phone as your clock. Our room had wi-fi but our friends room did not. The television is set up so that it can only be seen from one bed. The grounds seem to be well cared for. On to breakfast, sour orange juice, unripened bananas and a plethora of white flour pastries from boxes. Coffee so strong and burnt it was undrinkable. When my friend mentioned to the man at the desk (the man from the pool the night before) that they were out of strawberry jam he told her should could use grape and made no effort to replace the strawberry. Strike 5. I did not seek a refund of the difference in the price quoted because given everything else that happened it would have been a hassle and put a damper on what turned out to be a great day when we left. So id depends on what your looking for whether or not you chose to stay here, I would suggest an end room so you will only get noise from one side, do not sleep with the windows open, unplug the clock radio, book your room over the internet, go someplace else for breakfast and be out of the pool before 9 and don't depend on the wi-fi. If you can remember all of that then give it a try, if you want your holiday to be a little more stress free then shop around a bit I'm sure that you can do better for less.

Room Tip: Get an end room so that you'll only have noise coming in from one side of the paper this walls...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoyLynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
2.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
1.9 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#15 of 90 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 stars 348 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN of Lake George
BEST WESTERN of Lake George
#14 of 90 in Lake George
4.0 of 5 stars 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake George
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
2.7 mi away
Motel Montreal
Motel Montreal
#34 of 90 in Lake George
4.0 of 5 stars 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyn Aire Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyn Aire Motel

Property: Lyn Aire Motel
Address: 1872 State Route 9, Lake George, NY 12845-3705
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Lake George
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lyn Aire Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When looking for the best of Lake George Hotels, choose the Lyn Aire. We offer an abundance of amenities. You and your family will vacation with all the comforts of home! Continental breakfast, phones, refrigerator, and air/heat.At our Lake George Motel, you will find contemporary, clean & spacious rooms. Our Lake George Motel is located close to all the area attractions in Lake George, NY. Adjoining Rooms - Both Double / Queens Complimentary Coffee Groups Welcome All Rooms Include: 25" Remote Color TV HBO Telephones Air Conditioning Heat All rooms have Refrigerators, Microwaves are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Lyn Aire Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyn Aire Hotel Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing