We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motel Montreal Get's 2 Thumbs Up”
Review of Motel Montreal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel Montreal
Ranked #53 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Lansingburgh, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Motel Montreal Get's 2 Thumbs Up”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

My family & I made our way up to Lake George last weekend for a 2 night stay. Looking for a place to stay, we came upon the Motel Montreal up at the end of the strip. We were delighted at the friendliness.of the owners, Rob & Nerisha at the front desk. No attitude what so ever from these two, as we had experienced at other places on the lake in recent years. Our room had a 32" flat screen, and was super clean and neat -- with a fridge & microwave to boot. The in ground pool was very clean, with a relaxing feel to the pool area. I was pleasantly surprised at the conduct & behavior of the other guest at poolside. No riff raff or hard partiers-- just families enjoying the great weather. Rob & Nerisha took the time to chat with their guest, introducing us to their beautiful son, Joey, who was quite the little charmer himself. The Motel was within walking distance to the beach (about 200 ft down the road), and also to the village. That was important with gas prices being so high -- we parked the SUV and left it there at the motel all weekend. If your looking for a place with all the bells and whistles, this isn't it. But if your just looking for a no attitude, clean, well kept place to stay, I'd highly recommend the Motel Montreal, and their family friendly prices. My family had a great stay there, and have all intentions of staying there every year now. Many thanks to Rob, Nerisha, and Joey for making us feel at home. Oh yeah, the prices are just fantastic, and can fit anyone's budget.

Room Tip: Any room is recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vito C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob G, Owner at Motel Montreal, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for taking the time to review the Motel Montreal. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you will return. Joseph (our little guy) was especially charming those nights and dad (me) looks forward to the day when he is ready to take control of the front desk while I lounge by the pool (or bet the ponies at Saratoga). Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you here soon!

All the best,

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    70
    32
    17
    24
See reviews for
95
90
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
montreal
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We spent 3 nights as a friends getaway and had a great time! The accommodations are basic but served us well.

We had a basic-value room (non-poolside). The room was small but we had plenty of space for the 2 of us. Room has hanging rack, little cupboard, full desk with chair and a super comfortable couch chair.

Fridge, coffeemaker and Microwave were recent, clean and functioned very well.
Beds are comfortable and clean. Room had AC which worked super well, it was 42°C with humidex outside and we didn’t even have to keep it on all the time, or have it to the coolest setting to keep the room comfortable.

The pool was great and well kepted, it is also closed late so you can enjoy it after a day of walking which is very nice.

Best is service, very personal and friendly. We got extra (coffee, shampoo) without a problem and anytime we had a question Rob and his wife were super glad to help!

Also, a great free wifi connection! Hotel is a 10 minute walk from the center village & the beach. 20minute walk to the Million dollar beach and not even a minute from Lake George awesome 1$ tramway service stop!

Great stay, Thanks!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunjies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob G, Owner at Motel Montreal, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for taking the time to write a review and post a picture. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you found value in our hotel. It was a pleasure hosting you and your family. I noticed that you stayed in Room 17. We will be renovating rooms 11 through 20 (including room 17) this offseason. Specifically, we plan to remove the paneling from and repaint the walls, install new, more energy efficient AC/heating units, and remodel the bathrooms. We hope that you will come back to see the improvements!

All the best,
Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson River Valley, New York
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

My girlfriend and I wanted to to head up to Lake George just for one night but (because it's the busy season) our usual place wouldn't take reservations for less than three consecutive nights. Called a few other places and got the same brush off. Fortunately, the Motel Montreal has no such rule. Rob, the owner, was able to give us a room with no trouble at all. He was there to greet us when we arrived and our room was all set to go. Really fantastic, friendly service. We also really liked that it was right across the street from one of our favorite LG restaurants, Mario's, and a short walk from all of downtown.

I'll agree with another recent reviewer that the room was pretty dated. Dropped ceiling, too-big furniture (including an extra single bed) that made the room feel too crowded, and a fairly old mattress with no padding. And the shower control worked backwards; for a minute I thought we had no hot water, until I realized that the handle just had to be set to "cold". But everything was clean and cared for. The room had a microwave, coffee maker, and refrigerator. And, despite being right at the end of the catwalk to the pool, it was also very quiet. The air conditioner worked perfectly. We had a comfortable sleep and woke up wishing we could add another night to the trip.

At $187 for one night during the busy season, it's a little steep for what you get. But compared to the rest of the motels in the area, at which you can't stay for a single night at ANY price, I guess it's worth it. We had a great time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kafziel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob G, Owner at Motel Montreal, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We are very glad that, on the whole, you enjoyed your stay and found value in our pricing relative to other comparable properties in the area.

With respect to the dated look of the queen poolside rooms, we agree. This winter, we will remove the single bed and possibly the sitting chair. After next season, we will renovate those rooms (rooms 11 through 20 are scheduled to undergo renovations during the 2012 offseason). Currently, the plan is to remove the paneling and repaint, remove the drop ceilings and install ceramic tile in the bathrooms. Also, we are discussing the idea of replacing the queen beds with king size beds but that decision has yet to be finalized.


Thanks again for staying with us and we hope that you will return soon.

All the best,

Rob Gregor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Booked a queen poolside room based on the many online reviews, but were shocked when we entered to see a single bed squeezed in alongside the queen, leaving very little room to move about and making the chair squeezed into the corner basically useless. The room had paneling that was painted over and a dropped ceiling that looked like it hadn't been updated since 1970. To their credit, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean. Thankfully, we only stayed here 1 night on our way home from New England - we made sure we spent as little time as possible in the dark depressing room. Others here have indicated they thought this place was a bargain, but spending over $100 for this type of accomodation seemed more like a rip-off.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Louwoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob G, Owner at Motel Montreal, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We are very disappointed that your stay did not meet your expectations and we wish that we had an opportunity to discuss these problems with you during your stay rather than after the fact. Nonetheless, we are very glad that you found the rooms clean and the bed comfortable and we greatly appreciate your business.

We agree that the paneling and drop ceilings should be removed. We renovated 10 of our 40 rooms last winter and removed the paneling and drop ceilings from those rooms. Unfortunately, our renovations are extensive and our budget permits about 10 rooms per year. During the 2012-2013 offseason, we will renovate rooms 11 through 20. The poolside queen rooms are scheduled to undergo renovations after the 2013 season.

With respect to the additional twin bed in the room, we are torn. On one hand, adding a twin bed to the room permits a family of three to stay in the room without incurring the additional cost of a room with two double beds. On the other hand, the twin bed occupies square footage that could be put to other uses. We have contemplated removing the twin beds and adding rollaway cots for families of three. The upside is versatility in room type but the downside is that the cots are often uncomfortable. It seems that either option is accompanied by a diminution in guest comfort and I hope that some deep thinking will yield a better option that enhances guest comfort.

I take offense to your characterization of the room as a "rip-off". To rip someone off means to intentionally deceive that person. A less than satisfactory experience is a far cry from being duped, deceived or, as you wrote, ripped-off. Moreover, I note that less expensive non-poolside accommodations were available to you but you opted for the more expensive room type. Also, it bears mentioning that $100 for a one-night stay in August in Lake George Village in a poolside room is at or below the market rate at similarly situated properties. Given the preceding, I think that the term "rip-off" was cruel, unwarranted and inappropriate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

My wife, daughter and myself spent 4 nights here on our return from New York city and were very pleased with the motel. Rooms were clean, price was right, and the location is perfect as the village center is a short walk. It was nice to have a small fridge and coffe maker in the room. The owners are especially nice people who go out of their way to ensure everyone has a pleasnt experience at their motel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheers1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob G, Owner at Motel Montreal, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. It was a pleasure hosting you and your family and we hope that the return trip went smoothly. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon.

All the best,

Rob Gregor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall On Hudson, New York
Level 6 Contributor
315 reviews
193 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

This is the first time we have been totally led astray by the Trip Advisor reviews. Based on those reviews we booked two nights and had to pay for one in advance. When we arrived we were startled to find a shabby looking place (with some shabby looking customers, too). When I walked into the office and gave my name the man said, "OK...you have paid for one night. Your balance is $149." I asked to see the room and he seemed surprised but he agreed. It was misrepresented as having a balcony (it was the walkway outside the door) and having view of Lake George (NOT!). The room was tiny, smelled bad, and was dark. I told him it wouldn't do and he said he wouldn't return my first night's payment and I said I really didn't care because I wouldn't stay there under any circumstances. It was worth it to forfeit that $149! Do NOT stay here unless you want to feel that you are in the slums.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UMichAlum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob G, Owner at Motel Montreal, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Although we are sorry that our hotel did not meet your expectations, it bears mentioning that you never stayed at the property. In fact, we offered you a trial night and you declined. You arrived with an abrasive attitude and it seemed that you had already made up your mind about the Motel Montreal without giving it a try.

With respect to your point about being mislead by the Tripadvisor reviews, I am not sure what you mean. The reviewers and the management responses make it abundantly clear that the Motel Montreal is an older hotel which was recently purchased and is undergoing a rebirth of sorts. Our team works very hard to maintain the rooms and grounds during the season and improve the hotel during the offseason (we have lots on tap for the 2012 offseason!). The reviews and the management responses make this clear.

Moving to the specific points of your review, the unoccupied room was dark because the curtains were drawn and the lights were off. We draw the curtains in unoccupied rooms to keep the rooms cool (otherwise, the sun would heat the room like an oven). We keep the lights off in unoccupied rooms for cost and environmental concerns. With respect to your comment about the smell, I have no way of proving or disproving the matter but we Febreeze each room after cleaning it and I didn't smell anything.

Additionally, I would note that your comment about "shabby guests" was uncalled for. The majority of our guests are hard working families on vacation. As such, I find it hard to criticize them for failure to dress in the latest trends while lounging at the pool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We just returned from Lake George and we all had a great time. Although most of that was in count of the beauty of the area, the Adirondack Mountains, and Saratoga Racetrack, it was also enhanced by our stay at Motel Montreal. The owner Rob and his staff were very hospitable and really cared that their guests were happy with their stay. The rooms were clean, the pool was great, the location was perfect. Judging from my eyes and ears everyone that I came in contact with during my stay felt the same way.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob G, Owner at Motel Montreal, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was great meeting you and your friends last weekend. The guests this summer have been great and we are ecstatic that you made the Motel Montreal part of your getaway. We hope to see you again and best of luck in and out of the Saratoga track! See you soon.

All the best,

Rob Gregor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
4.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#70 of 89 in Lake George
43 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lake George Inn
The Lake George Inn
#36 of 89 in Lake George
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Brookside Motel
Brookside Motel
#11 of 89 in Lake George
149 reviews
1.4 mi away
Studio Motel of Lake George
Studio Motel of Lake George
#22 of 89 in Lake George
248 reviews
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Downtown
Econo Lodge Downtown
#31 of 89 in Lake George
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Montreal

Property: Motel Montreal
Address: 3 Lake Ave, Lake George, NY 12845-1005
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Lake George
#5 Business Hotel in Lake George
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel Montreal 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Motel Montreal is located in the heart of Lake George Village within walking distance of shopping/ restaurants and/ Lake George. The Motel Montreal offers clean/ comfortable lodging at affordable prices/ a 20 by 50 foot swimming pool/ a picnic area with barbecue grills/ free parking/ wireless high-speed internet/ discount tickets to Six Flags Great Escape/ Water Slide World and other Lake George attractions and the beauty and scenic splendor of the Adirondacks. All guestrooms include a refrigerator, microwave, free WiFi and coffeemaker. Bringing the whole family? Ask about our two-bedroom condo which sleeps up to seven! Stay with us and discover how relaxing and fun a Lake George vacation can be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Motel Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Montreal Hotel Lake George
Montreal Hotel Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing