We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Motel Montreal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel Montreal
Ranked #52 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We were at Americade and stayed at the Motel. We were treated wonderfully and socialized with the owners who were charming and others in our group. We availed ourselves of the many Bar B Q's on the property and had a great time. Many of the rooms have been remodeled and they are all clean and well kept. We will be back next year.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Relic6241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob G, Owner at Motel Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2012

Thank you for staying with us again! Americade 2012 would not have been as much fun without our friends from Nova Scotia joining us in Lake George. Thank you for the wonderful review and for allowing me to sample your grilled treats and, of course, your domestic and imported beverages! It was a great Americade and we hope to see the whole gang back in 2013 if not sooner.

All the best,

Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
There are newer reviews for Motel Montreal
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 271 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2012

Not really sure how this place rated #3! It was miserable. if you have hair you will need forever in the shower to wash it, small, cramped space, peeling paint, main door to room sticks and is hard to open, smells musty, dark blue sheets on the bed??

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank islanderVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob G, Owner at Motel Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2012

We are truly disappointed that the hotel did not meet your expectations. With respect to the showers, we have rooms with tubs and rooms with walk-in showers. We would have been happy to move you to a room with a tub had you requested so.

We purchased the property in April, 2011 and we renovated (including repainted) ten rooms during the offseason. Another ten rooms are slated for renovation during the 2012 offseason (and so on in 2013 and 2014). I am not sure which room you stayed in but I am sorry about the peeling paint. Earlier this spring, we engaged in a thorough review of the rooms for such flaws but it is highly possible that I overlooked something.

We are a budget hotel. As many reviews indicate, we offer clean accommodations, great location, an assortment of amenities and personalized "mom and pop" service. At the end of the day, you pay $50 - $75 less per night than you would at one of the local chains but you sacrifice some square footage in the room. U

With respect to your comment about the color of the sheets, colored sheets help our staff differentiate between queen sheets (maroon and blue) and full size sheets (white).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

My girlfreind and I just spent Memorial weekend here and it was fabulous. The owners ae wonderful freindly people who are willing to help with any questions you have about Lake George. They also recommended 2 great places to eat one for breakfast and one for dinner, they also found us a cab with a great price to another restaurant and back.
The owners just been running it a year its a dated hotel but they are doing a great job fixing it up a little at a time. rooms were very clean the pool was fabulous , it is not far from all the action if thats what your looking for we walked almost everywhere , but we like to walk and while on vacation we like to indulge a little so it was good for us and alot safer.
Rob I would like to thank you and your wife for a great stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kylemech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob G, Owner at Motel Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a spectacular review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Motel Montreal and your time in Lake George. Similarly, we are very glad that you found value in the services and amenities offered at the hotel. We hope that you enjoy the rest of the summer and we hope to see you back in Lake George very soon.

All the best,

Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We stayed Memorial weekend at the Motel Montreal. The owners of the Motel are very friendly & accomodating... They gave us wonderful recommendations for breakfast & dinner, which we enjoyed very much! They made arrangements for a taxi to pick us up and take us to one place we wanted to go for dinner... The Motel is very clean & quiet and the price is great... The pool was very refreshing and a great to sit around with the temperatures as high as they were. They have grills outside & we would like to cook outside on our next visit... A very relaxed vacation & MOST everything is within walking distance. Their location is absolutely perfect. Pros... Clean, great location, super friendly owners & staff... Thank you for making our stay for wonderful!

Room Tip: We were in room 34 which was very quiet!
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VonAdams_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob G, Owner at Motel Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. It was great having you as our guests and we look forward to seeing you again. The team works very hard to ensure that our guests enjoy their stay and find value in what we have to offer. Thanks so much for the kind words and we will see you soon!

Best,
Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Stayed Memorial Day weekend, 2012.

Rob and his staff do a quality job keeping the motel clean and easy going. They're very concerned with guest satisfaction, and there wasn't a concern he couldn't address.

Pros: clean, inexpensive, near the strip, near the lake, fridge, recently renovated bathrooms, hot shower, clean pool w/ deck

Cons: rooms are small, furniture could be updated, noisy guests can be a nightmare

I would recommend this motel to other travelers, especially if they don't plan on spending a lot of time in their rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MakeBreaker37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob G, Owner at Motel Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and we are ecstatic that you would return. I am sorry that noisy guests disrupted your vacation. We make every effort to remind people to be respectful of their neighbors' quiet enjoyment of the property but, with 40 rooms, it is difficult to police everyone at every moment. We hope to see you at the Montreal again and we will do everything in our power to improve your stay. See you soon.

Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Motel Montreal is an excellent budget friendly place to stay. It is a family run business and they were there the entire time to answer questions or give suggestions/recommendations for places in the area. The place was very well maintained, clean, and included both a mini-fridge and microwave that most places in this price range would not offer. We were suppose to be staying for 2 nights but something came up and we had to leave a night early but they were really great about it. The recommendations they gave us for dinner and breakfast were both excellent and we couldn't have asked for better service. This is a budget friendly place so don't expect anything fancy but if you want a basic and clean room with excellent service then this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leaf99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob G, Owner at Motel Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review the hotel on TripAdvisor. These reviews mean a lot to us personally and help our business immensely. It was a pleasure having you as our guests and we hope to see you again soon.

All the best,

Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

My 2 friends and I stayed here for a long weekend while we were in town to white water raft and go to Great Escape. Overall it was a great stay and we were happy. The owner and his wife were pretty much always around and were extremley helpful and friendly. The owner even helped us by printing out our discount six flags tickets. If you're looking for an inexpensive place to stay with a good location, stay here! It's nothing fancy, but if you want to save some money on your long weekend, this place is perfect. It was very clean, nice flat screen tv in our room, they have charcoal grills and picnic tables if you'd like to cook out (we did one night), beds were comfy and bathroom was nice and clean. The room was quiet as we didn't hear the people on either side of us. The pool had just gotten filled the day before we checked in so it was a bit chilly but it looked refreshing and clean. There was no phone in our room which was kind of odd, but we all had cell phones so we didn't care. Also, it would have been nice if they had maybe some coffee and donuts or bagels or something in the morning. Our room did have a coffee maker and mini fridge (mini fridge came in handy as well). I would stay here again. Hope this helps!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdgotta65stang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob G, Owner at Motel Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was a pleasure having you at the hotel and we are extremely pleased that you would recommend us and that you would stay with us again.

We debated offering light morning treats in the office (e.g. bagels, donuts, etc) but the logistics of where to locate the food (our office is tiny) plus the need for a food license from the state caused us to opt against. Nonetheless, we revisit issues at the end of each season to determine ways to improve the property and the guest experience and perhaps we can find a way to offer some light morning food. Truth be told, it would give us additional opportunities to interact with, and to get to know, our guests and that would be great. Let us give the issue some additional thought and planning and we will see what we can do. Thanks so much for the kind words and for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor.

Best,
Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
2.0 mi away
Best Western of Lake George
Best Western of Lake George
#18 of 89 in Lake George
587 reviews
1.4 mi away
Studio Motel of Lake George
Studio Motel of Lake George
#20 of 89 in Lake George
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Brookside Motel
Brookside Motel
#12 of 89 in Lake George
152 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lake George Inn
The Lake George Inn
#39 of 89 in Lake George
97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Downtown
Econo Lodge Downtown
#29 of 89 in Lake George
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Montreal

Address: 3 Lake Ave, Lake George, NY 12845-1005
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Lake George
#5 Business Hotel in Lake George
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lake George
Price Range: $65 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel Montreal 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Motel Montreal is located in the heart of Lake George Village within walking distance of shopping/ restaurants and/ Lake George. The Motel Montreal offers clean/ comfortable lodging at affordable prices/ a 20 by 50 foot swimming pool/ a picnic area with barbecue grills/ free parking/ wireless high-speed internet/ discount tickets to Six Flags Great Escape/ Water Slide World and other Lake George attractions and the beauty and scenic splendor of the Adirondacks. All guestrooms include a refrigerator, microwave, free WiFi and coffeemaker. Bringing the whole family? Ask about our two-bedroom condo which sleeps up to seven! Stay with us and discover how relaxing and fun a Lake George vacation can be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Motel Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Montreal Hotel Lake George
Montreal Hotel Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing