We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Stay”
Review of Lake Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lake Motel
Ranked #7 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Certificate of Excellence
West Hartford
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Perfect Stay”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

My wife and I and another couple spent one night at the Lake Motel in early September. I chose the motel based on previous Trip Advisor reviews, location, and reasonable price. Our hostess made us feel extremely comfortable, from my initial inquiry phone call through check-in. She was welcoming, congenial, helpful with recommendations, and professional. We arrived mid afternoon, after taking a one hour cruise on the lake. We had a delightful swim right in front of the motel in the crystal clear waters of Lake George, followed by an hour or so in kayaks available to motel guests, and even a swim in the motel pool.Our hostess suggested a great place for dinner within walking distance of the motel, where we were served our meals just before a massive power outage in the area. We literally ate our meals by candlelight. After walking back to the motel we were loaned a flashlight (yes they were prepared for such emergencies), and spent the rest of the evening on a covered porch area near our room on the upper lever, looking out at the storm as it traveled over Lake George - magical! The electricity came on right before we turned in. For breakfast (again at the suggestion of our hostess) we walked to a local bakery, picked up some delicious pastries, and had our breakfast with complementary motel coffee (surprisingly good) on that same covered verandah overlooking the lake ... perfection! The rooms are a little smallish, but perfectly adequate, and clean, and the grounds are well maintained. Yes, we'd definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms nearer the lake are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    78
    30
    9
    2
See reviews for
135
114
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed September 12, 2013

thanks edri, shannon and mary for such wonderful, friendly service..will definitely be back!! will say "be prepared to walk, but worth every step"! being in town is definitely the way to go..park your car when you arrive and you don't need to move it again until you leave..after reading other reviews, all i can say is if you want high-class accommodations you need to spring for a stay at the Sagamore..for the rest of us that live on a budget, the Lake Motel provides all you will need/want and more!!

Room Tip: definitely worth paying few dollars more to be closer to the lake..view's spectacular and main r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We booked the lake motel based on the reviews on trip advisor. I admit, we booked it more quickly than usual...I usually do more research but was running out of time. This was a return trip from Burlington, VT after taking my son to college.

It is very clean and the price is right, as stated in other reviews. We chose the second floor as we expected a view. We basically faced a the wall of the motel next to us. The driveway is very narrow and the motel is situated on a small slice of property. The only way to really have a view is to be up in the front few rooms. We did not enjoy dragging our suitcases up those stairs, to be in a small room with no view. Stay on first floor if that is an issue!

If you are looking to economize, be within walking distance to town, stay in a clean, well preserved place this is a good find. The pool is small but does face the lake. It was not heated when we were there end of August. That was also disappointing.

I would have preferred something a little bit out of town, like Bolton Landing, for a quieter more charming, spacious room. Downtown is good for families, not as much for couples in my opinion. I am giving them four stars instead of three because the people that run the motel are very nice and helpful. It was not their fault we did not choose correctly.

Room Tip: Pick a room as close to the water as possible. Not worth climbing to second floor with suitcases if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shawbeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, CT
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The lady at the front Desk - Shannon was awesome. We stayed there at the Labor Day weekend and there although there was No Vacancy at the Hotel, the entire staff and everyone always treated us well. The rooms, pool, kayaks - all were nice and clean. Will definitely stay there again if needed.

Room Tip: We were two families and we stayed in Rooms which were connected together so that children could pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sachin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Billerica, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2013

While the rooms are kept very clean and the staff are all very pleasant, we will not return to this hotel as none of us are smokers. We were all looking forward to being able to relax outside of our rooms on the deck which was made impossible by all the smokers surrounding us. We had spent five nights in three separate rooms that were described as having lake views, when we actually faced the back of some building across the parking lot. The only room that actually has a view of the lake is the one at the very end of the hotel. There were a few nights during the week where there were people talking very loudly outside of our rooms until 2:30 in the morning. We were able to drown the noise out by keeping the windows closed and turning up the air-conditioner. Although I never saw one, I am sure there must be some sort of rule posted somewhere about being quiet at night after a certain time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enola, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

My husband and I recently spent two nights at the Lake Motel. It is in a great location right in the village near shops and restaurants. It is right on the lake and has a pool that overlooks the lake and a deck that you can assess the lake. Unfortunately there is no sand beach which some of the nearby hotels have.
We stayed in a small room w a king sized bed, table and chairs, small fridge and microwave. Outside each room is a cute table and chairs to sit.
Price is excellent and the room was clean. The only issue was the noise outside our room at night but that is not the hotel's fault.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LinaK221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn, ny
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

We booked a day before arrival for 8/28-8/30. The place was very nice and cozy. We were only able to book 2 double beds and room was a bit on the small side for the 4 of us. The pool was very nice and the lakefront was gorgeous. You got to experience the senic views of lake George right at poolside. It is a very family friendly place and the kids got to meet a lot of new friends at the pool. We got to see a beautiful firework event and the owner treated everyone ice cream from a truck right before it started. The location was in walking distance to the village shops and restaurants. We are looking forward to coming back next year.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetwai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeMotel, Owner at Lake Motel, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thanks for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. It's one way the small "mom and pops" can get exposure as we don't have the advertising budgets of the big chains.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
0.5 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Lake George
Courtyard Lake George
#5 of 89 in Lake George
148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scotty's Lakeside Resort
Scotty's Lakeside Resort
#8 of 89 in Lake George
322 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marine Village Resort
Marine Village Resort
#18 of 89 in Lake George
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Motel

Property: Lake Motel
Address: 380 Canada St, Lake George, NY 12845-1100
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lake George
#21 Family Hotel in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lake Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Lake Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Hotel Lake George
Lake Hotel George
Lake Motel George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing