We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Getaway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Motel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Lake Motel
Ranked #5 of 87 Hotels in Lake George
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

At first was a little disappointed as the rooms appeared bigger in the onlice pics compared to what they really were. However the rooms were extremly clean, one of the cleanest we have seen. The view from the room was nice, and the small table with chairs outside our room was great for sitting and having our morning tea. Only real complaint is the parking. There is little to no room to manuver your vehicle, especially if you do not get a parking garage. If you drive in, plan on having to back your vehicle out to get out. But regardless we would stay there again and actually may do so next summer!!!! Oh if you plan to take the boat trip to the "private" island, be aware that it is not so private and not good for swimming, and if your just looking to relax...not the thing to do. If your planning a picnic then it is ok.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    73
    26
    9
    2
See reviews for
128
107
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cranford, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

My family and I stayed at the Lake Motel in mid August. When we checked in my husband realized that the new beds weren't very firm and he was concerned that his back would start acting up again if he slept on it for 4 days. I inquired in the office about a firmer mattress and the owner himself took me from room to room to find another mattress. We realized that the pillow top was making the mattresses so soft so, to remedy the situation the owner went and purchased a new firm mattress for our room. We were thrilled and my husband slept well & felt great every morning. My young daughters and I also inquired about kayaking on the lake and the front desk manager told me that they would be getting kayaks soon but not sure when they would arrive. The night before we were to check out the kayaks arrived and we were the first to use them the next morning, thanks to the motel groundskeeper who lugged them down to the lake, unpacked them and helped me lower them into the water. We had a wonderful time at Lake George and a wonderful experience at the Lake Motel. Thanks for making our short vacation very special for me and my family.
Christine

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a queen size bed, most motels don't have them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

One of the best things about his place is the locale.
It's smack on Canda St so you can't go wrong there . The back yard is a beautful view of the lake and has a pool that some talented photographer has manged to make look pretty darn nice on the website. It's ok, but be prepeared - for the amt of ppl at the hotel, the pool is most definitely on the SMALL side :>( It will not be your refuge place by the lake as you might imagine from website. You'll have lots of noise and kids , but if you want to go for a quick dip, its there. Grills are down below too.

They just began letting out kayaks free of charge ---nice bonus there !

OK, microwave could not be any smaller so unless it is just a muffin dont count on this place for helping save $ on meals out. Fridge will take care of your basic beverages- that's it.

No coffemaker ( wake up , Lake George! ) and the room (FIRST FLR) was really claustrophobic. Wood walls looked charming on website, but talk about cabin fever . YIKES! Very dark. Decor needs an update and bedding didnt look very clean , but it was hard to tell----the room is really dark and uninviting. If it was a rainy day and you were stuck in this room, you'd go crazy. Thank goodness we had great weather !

We could not have squeezed a playpen in that room, and we had one queen size bed.

Parking was very very tight. If you cant parallel park , you will have a big problem there !

Price was good so if you are looking for a cheap place to say that doesnt involve a camper, you might have come to the right place. Smokers were all over .

This will not be a return spot for me :>(

Room Tip: Ask about room *size* and avoid the rooms with the wood walls. Perhaps the upstairs was nicer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anonymouse32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

They had a great view of the fireworks from the pool deck. The free ice cream was a nice touch. They recently got kayaks that we used every day at no charge. My daughter and i loved them They don't have a beach but they have a dock with access to the lake and a couple of BBQ's. They had free coffee at the front and the managers couldn't be more accommodating. The location was ideal for walking into town. The rooms were clean and in line with what we expected for the price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yellowstone_Newbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Let me first say I did not have a great feeling about this motel when I booked it. But apon checkin I was shocked we stayed in room 15a it had two double beds and a small living room. The room was a bit small but it was clean and comfortable! The staff is nice and attentive! The location is perfect it's far enough away from town that you can't get all the noise but close enough that u can walk. I was disappointed that there was no lake access but they have a small pool with a great view! Theonly downside was the tricky parking if you have an suv it can be a real pain! We stayed for 4 nights and is was roughly 600.00 not to bad!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elle3125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuckahoe, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

The motel was nice. Rooms were a good size. We even had a full size air mattress on teh floor. Beds are comfortable. One complaint would be the smoking. The rooms are fine but each room has a bistro table and chairs outside. Almost every room had people smoking constantly in front. So we never sat outside. Maybe they can have a set of rooms without any smoking. There is no beach but there are deck chairs and lake access. From the pictures, we thought there was a beach but that was the motel next door. Owners and office staff were very nice and very helpful. Nice touch with free ice cream for the fireworks.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Was looking for a motel in Lake George for 2 adults and 2 teenagers. Wanted to be on the lake and have a clean place... that was of utmost importance. The Lake Motel was very clean. The bathroom was spotless. The rooms are a little tight for 4 people, but we made due. Office staff was very nice and helpful with any questions. It was nice being on the lake and had access to kayaks.. Reviews had stated that parking was difficult, but we traveled in an SUV and had no problem backing into the covered garages.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
1.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Lake George
Courtyard Lake George
#8 of 87 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Motel

Property: Lake Motel
Address: 380 Canada St, Lake George, NY 12845-1100
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lake George
#21 Family Hotel in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lake Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lake Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Hotel Lake George
Lake Hotel George
Lake Motel George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing