We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfortunately, won't stay there again!”
Review of Admiral Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Admiral Motel
Ranked #14 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Reviewed July 24, 2007

The second night they "forgot" to clean the room and also we had no safe place to park our one vehicle. They admitted it was their fault about not cleaning the room, but said that they advise everyone that there is only one car allowed per room. They indicated that some rooms must have more than one car! This did not help us as we had only one car! When we came back just before checking out, they were in there cleaning the room so we asked them to leave so we could use the bathroom before our long trip home. LOVED the Band Festival and Lake George -- just will NOT stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
4  Thank clarinet-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 174 of 174 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2006

We just got back from a long Memorial Day weekend at Lake George with the family, which consists of myself, my wife and two young daughters. This was actually our first time in many, many trips to the region that we've stayed in the actual village of Lake George. It's a mistake we're not ever going to repeat. But first the hotel review:

The Admiral is at the north end of the village, just a little down from where 9N splits off from 9. It's a very nice hotel and the proprietor is a very friendly lady that keeps the place spic and span. She runs a "family first" kind of hotel, and I actually heard her on the phone yesterday screening the caller to see who she'd be booking the rooms for, asking for ages and explaining that she's not into reserving rooms for college kids and partiers. My guess is that she's had problems with it before and would rather just keep the room empty than endure the inevitable problems. There were nice rooms with plenty of space and refrigerators to keep things cold in. There are skylights on the rooms on the second floor, which is a nice touch. The only complaint I have, although it's much more of a nitpick, was that the A/C in our room wasn't able to keep it quite as cool as we'd have liked, but we still weren't that uncomfortable. So for anyone interested in staying in the town of Lake George itself, definitely consider this establishment.

Which brings me to my review of Lake George village itself. I should state that this comes from a family-oriented perspective. This town, in the evening (at least this past weekend), is no place for a family. We actually felt unsafe at times, given the caliber of some of the people congregating all over the place. There was an incident while I was off buying an ice cream where a kid was cursing and yelling right in front of my wife and girls in an apparent attempt at proving how cool he was. This was something that wouldn't have occured had I been standing right there. However, you'd have thought the police officer that was standing right there would maybe tell the idiot to cut it out. He shrugged instead. Someone almost ran me over as I headed into the Price Chopper a block in off the strip and decided it was funny instead. When I thought that she might've hit one of my girls she continued to laugh about it and called us names instead. The two cops standing next to the entrance to the place that saw all this? They did nothing. By this time that was basically what I was expecting from them, but one can always hope.

If you're planning on relaxing by the pool or being able to read outside your room in anything resembling peace and quiet, you can forget that as well. The sheer number of knuckleheads gunning their engines, popping wheelies on their bikes, peeling out and racing each other out in front of the hotel on Route 9 is not countable. And can someone maybe tell some of the store owners that some of the t-shirts they have on display for sale are absolutely not appropriate for viewing by kids my daughters' ages? I'd tell you what they said, or even imply it, but I'd really like this review to get posted. You'd think you were in Daytona on spring break the way this place is now, though. By the time this morning came, I couldn't wait to check out. And not come back. I really do feel for the better business owners in the area, though. They have to be cringing at what's going on. I spoke to more than one family there and they felt very much the way I do, and aren't planning on any return trips. It's a shame what's happening to such a beautiful area, although this certainly won't preclude us from going to the many other better choices in Adirondack Park and even up Lake George from the village.

9  Thank moconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Ne vous fiez pas aux sites de réservation en ligne qui reçoivent de des pourcentage élevés pour reco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie19800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2015, traveled with family
Thank Blizak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admiralmot, Front Office Manager at Admiral Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank alexmo2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
0.6 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake George
1.9 mi away
Best Western of Lake George
Best Western of Lake George
#17 of 89 in Lake George
606 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heritage of Lake George Motel
Heritage of Lake George Motel
#1 of 89 in Lake George
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Motel

Address: 401 Canada St, Lake George, NY 12845-1115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Lake George
Price Range: $82 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Admiral Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get away from it all. Relax at our pool; enjoy your morning coffee on the deck; browse our art gallery and let us help you plan your day. Stroll to the village beach, restaurants, boating and attractions. Enjoy walking to weekly concerts in the park and Thursday Night Fireworks. We are experts at making you feel at home. The Marinelli family has been providing TLC to our guests for 33 years. Check us out; we'll make you smile! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Admiral Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Hotel Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing