We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Glad we stayed"”
Review of Admiral Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Admiral Motel
Ranked #19 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Wallkill, New York
2 reviews
“"Glad we stayed"”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Have read comments in Trip Advisor over the years - have not been disappointed when booking motels. We had # 5 teenagers with us. We felt safe and very welcome by the owners (Sue & Janine) and their staff. Rooms are immaculate and within walking distance of the center of Lake George. Also, rooms are "quiet" - can't hear people next to you.

Room Tip: 2nd level rooms are very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 46anniversary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moteladmiral, Manager at Admiral Motel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We truly appreciate it. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    51
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
65
63
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Our 33rd annual trip to LG and have always stayed at 1 of 2 motels depending on vacancy. Last year, it was about budget over vacancy (see my other review on last year's lodging) . What a mistake!!! The staff at the Admiral reminded me this year that you can skimp on meals , attractions , etc but NOT on lodging!!! The rooms are spotless, pool is perfect, and staff is friendly and helpful. The only complaint ( but not really) was the parking situation upon returning late on a Sat night . This is to be expected I guess during the height of vacation season in LG lol. Will def be back from now on!!!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Historynut1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moteladmiral, Manager at Admiral Motel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thanks for your input on our establishment. We truly appreciate it. As for the parking, we are sorry but sometimes when people bring extra cars and don't register them it is difficult to monitor into the evening. I'm so glad you'll be back! Thanks again. Sue & Janine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

A small group of us stayed here for a couple of days during a large function in town. We booked purely on the recommendations of other people here on Trip Advisor. Plus the photos looked promising too.

We were not disappointed. The Admiral is a cute older Motel that is charming in many ways. The grounds are shady and welcoming with flowers and is clean and neatly groomed. The pool is inviting and there is a small sitting area above the pool area where you can get coffee in the morning. The rooms were all meticulously clean. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The location is within walking distance of the lake, plenty of restaurants and stores.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ATourist2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moteladmiral, Manager at Admiral Motel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for your opinion of our motel. Every bit helps. Please come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

If you're looking for a clean, comfortable place within walking distance to everything downtown Lake George, this is the place. Exceptionally friendly owners and staff, small, quaint, very clean. While it may not be a big chain hotel, this is where you want to be and support the small businesses in the area. I and friends were attending a vintage car show and it was nice to be able to park our classics by the rooms and walk to restaurants, waterfront and town. I'm in the hotel business myself and choose where I stay carefully. I highly recommend The Admiral Motel. Sue will take good care of you.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Neil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moteladmiral, Manager at Admiral Motel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. Please don't hesitate to call us if your coming to Lake George again. We truly appreciate your response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed at the Admiral Motel from 7/8/14-7/12/14. We came to Lake George from Ohio for a family vacation. I chose this motel because of the price, the Trip Advisor reviews, and the pictures. I wanted a basic hotel/motel room that was comfortable and clean. We stayed in room 21, which, according to the person who took my reservation (I think it was Janine), was a little larger than the standard rooms because it was on the second floor. The room was a good size and it had a cathedral ceiling with a skylight. We had a small refrigerator in our room, which we used. The beds were a little firm for my taste, but comfortable, with a pretty blue matelasse coverlet. We were on the end, so we only had one neighbor, and didn't have to worry about anyone walking by our room at night. It was very quiet. The room was also very clean. The pool was very clean and set at 85 degrees. It was a tiny bit chilly at first, but I was able to walk right in. The pool area was clean, as well. I felt like we were swimming in their yard because it was nice and homey. The location of the hotel is nearly perfect. I say nearly, only because it is across the street from the lake, not directly on it. Other than that, it is a short walk (5-10 minutes) to get to dozens of shops and restaurants, beaches, parasailing, and steam boats. If you are looking for a clean, well-kept place to sleep, with a nice pool, home-like atmosphere, and kind staff, the Admiral Motel will not disappoint.
Cons: not on the lake, no in-room coffee pot, no breakfast included
Pros: close to everything, quaint setting, clean, quiet, variety of room types, rooms have been recently updated and decorated, great pool, coffee in the morning on the front porch by the pool.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank joshmom03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Comfortable,clean, quaint and the flowers are all around and beautiful. The staff is friendly and helpful. The pool is clean and inviting. All within walking distance of the town. We have been going to the Admiral Motel for 10 yrs and we will return next year.

Room Tip: 2nd floor has sky lights
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kafreck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moteladmiral, Manager at Admiral Motel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thanks so much for your review. We truly work hard and like when people notice. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

The place was very clean plenty of parking and the pool was great. The price was right to $104 for a deluxe room. We enjoyed our stay and would come back again. Everything was in walking distance. The staff was very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank romo6424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
0.1 mi away
Heritage of Lake George Motel
Heritage of Lake George Motel
#2 of 89 in Lake George
293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sundowner Motel
Sundowner Motel
#42 of 89 in Lake George
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Park Lane Motel
Park Lane Motel
#24 of 89 in Lake George
243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake Motel
Lake Motel
#7 of 89 in Lake George
328 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brookside Motel
Brookside Motel
#11 of 89 in Lake George
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Motel

Property: Admiral Motel
Address: 401 Canada St, Lake George, NY 12845-1115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Admiral Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get away from it all. Relax at our pool; enjoy your morning coffee on the deck; browse our art gallery and let us help you plan your day. Stroll to the village beach, restaurants, boating and attractions. Enjoy walking to weekly concerts in the park and Thursday Night Fireworks. We are experts at making you feel at home. The Marinelli family has been providing TLC to our guests for 33 years. Check us out; we'll make you smile! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Admiral Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Hotel Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing