We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gives the big chains a run for their money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Admiral Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Admiral Motel
Ranked #27 of 87 Hotels in Lake George
Certificate of Excellence
Poughkeepsie, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gives the big chains a run for their money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

I have been going to the Admiral on and off for many, many years. What I like most is that it is family owed and operated. They remember your name and are always so nice! The rooms are cute and always very clean! The grounds are beautifully manicured, the pool is heated and well maintained. Location wise, it couldn't be more convenient. It is right in Lake George Village so you park your car and walk to Shepards Park, all of the shops and restaurants as well as the Lake Tour Boats (Minnie HaHa, Mohican, etc.) Would recommend this Motel hands down! The one thing owners should get is Wifi because almost everybody these days needs this when traveling. Love you, Admiral!

Room Tip: All the rooms are fine for the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phyllis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moteladmiral, Manager at Admiral Motel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thanks Phyllis L- by the way we do have wi-fi!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    47
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
54
57
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Torrington, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

just afew minutes walk down town.yet still very peaceful.not over crowed like other places.this has been my 13th stay,and most enjoyable yet.the owners and staff,are warm, friendly and accomidating.look forward to next year!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ken j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandown, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Wehave been staying at the Admiral for about 19 years now. We love the fact that it is a family owned business and not a chain. Supporting small business is very important in this economy and you get that personalized customer service that you don't get with a chain. When we arrive every year it is just like coming to visit family, we are treated like we are! It is always clean and comfortable and you cannot beat the price and location. Walking distance to the village shops and local restaurants if you want a stroll. The flowers just show how much care they take with the motel and that is how they treat their guests. As far as my husband and I are concerned, there is no other place to stay if you are coming to vist the LG area. We meet up with friends here every year and feel like we are coming home!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MD
Level Contributor
127 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We were looking for a low cost option to check out Lake George, our first visit to this New York State resort area. The Admiral motel is located on Canada street, the "main drag", but across the street from the Lake. It doesn't have a lake view, but it offers very clean and comfortable rooms at an affordable price. The hostesses are friendly and there is an owner's art studio in the office, with original water colors of the area at reasonable prices. Morning coffee at available at the office and there are no coffemakers in rooms. We stayed on the second floor, which we recommend because there is an airy cathedral ceiling. Beds are comfortable and the bathroom is fine, though not luxurious. One drawback is it has a wallmount combo ac/heater which is a bit noisy when the fan comes on, something to consider for light sleepers. A plus is the small outdoor swimming pool which was winding up for the season. You may easily walk to all the town attractions within five minutes, so location is excellent. We stayed during the annual Jazz Festival with free music all day in the Lakefront park. We also walked to the Lake George Steamboat Cruises which shouldn't be missed and Fort William Henry, a restored colonial fortress with period dressed reenactors and musket firings. Flowers in the front of this old fashioned motel add to the "homey" atmosphere (see website). There are many local restaurants within walking distance, and free parking which allows you to explore the attractions without paying for parking meters. You are a five minute drive to the Veterans' Highway entrance to Prospect Mountain's 100 mile view from the 2030 foot summit ($10 charge but worth it). If you are looking for a low cost but clean and comfortable spot for your first visit, the Admiral Motel may work for you. It did for us.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room which will have a cathedral ceiling and no one above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelmanColumbia_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keene, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

This is a great small family owned motel on the main drag in LG village. Clean friendly and quaint. After spending my childhood in LG and now vacationing there yearly this is our go to place. Best landscaped motel in LG as a bonus. I go back once or twice a year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Omg! This place is adorable! I drove up and keep in mind its right on Canada Street which is the main road in Lake George Village. Here is this Country Cottage looking place and im like WOW can we get any more cute?!?!
I stayed over night and got to meet the owner and her daughters Jeanine & Sue. Both were just real down to earth and sweet. They have a little front patio where they have fresh coffee in the mornings and some seating overlooking the pool. The pool was great perfect Temp alot of places say they have heated pools but then turns out umm yea the water is FREEING....Well not this place the water was amazing! I even think it was a Salt water pool.
My room was just as pretty as the front entrance there was no bait and switch here. The room was a Deluxe two double beds with a skylight. The bathroom was clean and bright.
I wanted a relaxing overnight getaway and thats what I got! I will be back and make sure to tell all my friends about This adorable charming place! To the owners thanks for a very nice stay!! Keep up with what your doing!

Room Tip: I stayed in room #25 great room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank April S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moteladmiral, Manager at Admiral Motel, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for noticing our efforts. Please come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

I loved the Admiral Motel. You know that this is an old motel, but you'd never know it by it's looks. The property was beautifully painted in white, with statues and fountains adorning the area. There was even a double swing! The rooms were decorated beautifully, with one wall being an accent wall in burgandy. The room was very clean and neat. I felt as if I was in my own bungalow up the mountains. I only have two issues with the room. The beds weren't as comfortable as my foam bed at home, and there was very little sink area for toiletries. The bathrooms could use updating, but I was absolutely thrilled with my room. The office was decorated nicely with window boxes of flowers outside the windows, and a porch overlooking the pool. Hint: The afternoon sun is at the deep end of the pool. I highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lippycan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moteladmiral, Manager at Admiral Motel, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We take pride in our property and will look into your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Lake George
Quality Inn Lake George
#28 of 87 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Tiki Resort
The Tiki Resort
#51 of 87 in Lake George
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Heritage of Lake George Motel
Heritage of Lake George Motel
#7 of 87 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sundowner Motel
Sundowner Motel
#32 of 87 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake Motel
Lake Motel
#5 of 87 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Motel

Property: Admiral Motel
Address: 401 Canada St, Lake George, NY 12845-1115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 87 Hotels in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get away from it all. Relax at our pool; enjoy your morning coffee on the deck; browse our art gallery and let us help you plan your day. Stroll to the village beach, restaurants, boating and attractions. Enjoy walking to weekly concerts in the park and Thursday Night Fireworks. We are experts at making you feel at home. The Marinelli family has been providing TLC to our guests for 33 years. Check us out; we'll make you smile! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Admiral Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Hotel Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing