We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual Pub with Good View of Lake George”
Review of John Barleycorn's Pub - CLOSED

John Barleycorn's Pub
Cuisines: Pub
Restaurant details
Westbury, New York
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Casual Pub with Good View of Lake George”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Good choice of draft beers and good strip steak. We arrived around 6pm 8/24/13 for dinner and asked to sit outside. We were graciously accommodated by the bartender who waited on us and took our order. The wait staff arrived and so did other patrons. We all were enjoying the summer evening and our meal when the waitress and our server accidentally collided and spilled my husbands beer. No big deal. Yet the waitress had to loudly tell her patrons what a "pain in the [--] the bartender is and how he is always in her way. " Really! Only a poorly managed establishment would allow such nonsense to go on. Maybe if she had been on time she would not have had to share her station with him. What makes this place a go to spot is the Cook. Steak tender and perfectly cooked. Hopefully the management will get a grip on its employees. Calling Jon Taffer.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LIMOM220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    3
    8
    1
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albany, NY
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Homey Atmosphere”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I'm not a bar person, at all. I poked my head in during the day to check it out. I thought I'd might like to watch the football game there later that night. I was quickly greeted and told he'd have the game on. I returned to watch the game & some friendly conversation. I also enjoyed watching the game with 2 other couples sitting at the bar. We were all distressed to learn that this quaint little bar was going to be torn down and replaced by a 6 story, brick faced, Marriott Hotel. So I suggest you visit this establishment before it is forever gone!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank OC4Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Old Time Pub.”
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here for dinner the food was ok the service slow but we had to move to an outside table because the a.c. was not on inside.The waitress was friendly but she did spill the water on me that I asked for to clean my hands after eating the chicken wings.For finger food they should provide hand wipes.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aiots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Brook, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Casual”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Just a quick sandwich the price is reasonable and the food very good. We sat outside as the weather was nice.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank cindy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mahopac,ny
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice little pub”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Good pub food! We all enjoyed the food. Right in town. Service a little slow but that seems to be the case right in town!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank rosalita62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John Barleycorn's Pub also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing