We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Balsam Motel & Cottages
Nearby Hotels
Heritage of Lake George Motel(Lake George)(Great Value!)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clarion Inn & Suites(Lake George)(Great Value!)
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George(Lake George)(Great Value!)
$191
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scotty's Lakeside Resort(Lake George)(Great Value!)
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George(Lake George)(Great Value!)
$199
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites Lake George(Lake George)(Great Value!)
$160
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western of Lake George(Lake George)(Great Value!)
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$168
$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marine Village Resort(Lake George)(Great Value!)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wingate by Wyndham Lake George(Lake George)(Great Value!)
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveler rating
85
22
4
6
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
85
22
4
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshort walkpublic beachlake george stripcanada streetpicnic tableswonderful hostssmall refrigeratorthe location is perfectsuzannecabinvillageofficenyratesprivacydeck
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 122 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2009

My family stayed at the Balsam in one of the cottages. We booked there because they accepted pets and we have an old dog that doesn't do well in kennels. The owners were very friendly and helpful on the phone but the cottage needs some work. It was relatively neat but lacked a few amenities. The beds were the worst problem-terrible to sleep on! During our trip my husband was chatting with a store clerk and when he mentioned where we were staying, she asked if the beds had gotten any better. She had never stayed there but apparently this is a known issue in town. It was a one room cottage which we were told on the phone. There was a queen (?) , a double and a rollaway cot provided for my husband, myself and our two teenagers. There was only two lamps in the entire "room" both on the same side-it was dark. There was a kitchen and bathroom that was neat but needed cleaning and some upgrades. I was told that the outdoor, heated pool would be open but when my son wanted to swim the pool was very cold and not useable. It was not heated very well if at all. We did stay for three nights as we were not sure where else to go with the dog. As stated the people were nice but we will not be returning when in the area again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank familyof4964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2009

This place is a different than all the others on the Lake George strip. Tall trees with thick canopy completely cover the grounds giving it a woodsy feel. Our room was at the end on the 2nd floor with partial views of the lake. The rooms were basic, but clean. It had a refrigerator which was very useful. It worked well for our purposes. There were cobwebs on the wooden staircases. Some people may see rustic charm in it, others might think it's neglect. It didn't bother me much. The owners are very nice -- friendly and helpful. The beach (very small) was about a 50-yard walk. Unforunately it was rainy and cloudy during our trip so we couldn't really dip into the lake, nor could we indulge in any star-gazing. They had fireworks on Thursday night which we saw from the beach. They were surprisingly good (better than many July 4th fireworks Ive seen).

The main problem is Lake George Village itself. It is not for me. It is full of t-shirt/tchotcke/ice-cream shops and restaurants. Ho hum. The lake itself is gorgeous and when we took a cruise I noticed lots of nice secluded houses on the oher side of the lake. So if we go there again I would keep 2 things in mind - 1) Go earlier in the summer. 2) Go with a couple of other families and rent a house/cabin on the lake from a private owner away from the town and only head into Lake George Village to get lunch/dinner.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank armanipatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2009

Not knowing what we were going to get, George and Suzanne were so welcoming and very accommodating. We had just adopted a small dog the week prior to our trip and they still allowed us to bring her, despite staying in one of their regular rooms (opposed to a cottage). Theu were very gracious with their recommendations of places to dine and never steered us wrong. We will certainly be returning next season and look forward to yet another enjoyable stay.

If you're looking for a place to stay with a local feel and convenient location to the downtown Lake George area, The Balsam can't be beat for the price.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShaunKendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2009

We only stayed one night in the motel portion of the building. The owners are very nice. But, the room left a lot to be desired, especially in terms of cleanliness. There was spider webs in the bathroom, stains on the baseboards in the bathroom, missing baseboard, and an overall mildew smell. It just seemed like there was a lack of attention to detail in terms of the cleanliness and maintenance of the place. We had no phone in our room. We did not use the pool but we usually don't...we travel to sight see, not swim at the pool. I'm glad we only stayed one night and didn't hang in the room, except to sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank realvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2009

We have been going up to Lake George for over 30 years,and have stayed at various locations. We have been bringing our kids up with us since they were 2 and 5 years old and amazingly enough 20 years later they still ehjoy going with us. This time we chose the Balsam Motel for it's woodsy type oasis at the end of the village. . Suxanne and George are regular people. They make you feel very comfortable, you feel like you are staying with friends. We even brought our dog Aiden with us as they are a pet friendly motel. We arrived July 30 and were suppose to check out on August 2, but being no one had to be back to work on Monday, we decided to stay another night. Now we could have chosen another motel/hotel as there was vacancy at other places, but we stayed the other night at The Balsam.
It is within walking distance of the village which I think we ended up walking back and forth at least 3 times a day! We stayed in the chalet type motel rooms and our kids stayed in one of the smaller motel room cottages which were all very clean. The Balsam has a very homey type atmosphere and we will be staying there again!

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DakotaRein327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews