We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the only "dog" motel in lake george village we stay at!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lake George
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Balsam Motel & Cottages
Ranked #35 of 87 Hotels in Lake George
Certificate of Excellence
Bethel, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“the only "dog" motel in lake george village we stay at!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

this was a "getaway" trip for us this time, and again George and Suzanne were as gracious as our many times before. don't think of going anyplace else. this was about our 12th stay here and we are in walking distance of all lake George activities, we have a view of the lake, the public beach is 500 feet away! yet it is off the beaten path. thanks again Suzanne & George for a very enjoyable stay. Pete ,Nancy & Cora.

Room Tip: they supply charcoal grilles, a beautiful pool, are dog owners themselves. try this place, don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doverplains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    21
    4
    6
    5
See reviews for
65
31
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Troy, New York, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

The Balsam Motel is one of our favorite places to stay every summer! The motel is always clean, quiet and only a short walk to the village and restaurants. The owners are extremely accommodating and treat you like a family member. We have been staying at the Balsam Motel for many years and look forward to many more to come! Thank you George and Suzanne!
Dean and Kristen

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had a wonderful time .You has been the best place to stay.
Balsam Motel recommended it because a clean , quiet and the owners are friendly If you need anything, information or just wnat to have a nice talk George and his wife are there for you. The Cottage are beautiful. Located about 1 minute walk from the lake you can even beneficiate of a little private beach. The Balsam's also has a great pool and is a quiet & safe place for all the family. It's located about a 10 minutes walk to the grocery & downtown (main activities). .Thanks for everything . We will see you next year. Thanks Carol

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donnacona, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

What can I say, first word that comes to mind is "friendly". When you arrive the owner "George" greets you and takes time to bring you to your lodge and go around it with you. If you need anything, information or just wnat to have a nice talk George and his wife are there for you.

The lodges are nor new, but comfortable, clean and have al the ammenities you need to have on vacation. Located about 1 minute walk from the lake you can even beneficiate of a little private beach.

The Balsam's also has a great pool and is a quiet & safe place for all the family. It's located about a 10 minutes walk to the grocery & downtown (main activities).

Frankly if you are lucky enough to be able to get a room, I assure you that you will have a pleasant stay. Sure it's not the Ritz but who cares, friendly, well priced & well located is better that the glitz!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bertrand G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

I will start with the positives. SPARKLING, CLEAN POOL. CLEAN SHEETS. VILLAGE LOCATION. FRIDGE AND FLAT SCREEN in room. Now the negatives. The carpet was in bad shape. None of us would dare walk on it barefoot. The mattresses had stains. The towels had hairs embedded in them. Loose tiles on bathroom floor. The initial appearance of the room was very drab. This motel is pet friendly and it shows. I know this is not the Georgian Resort down the street, we happen to prefer smaller, rustic, hidden spots when we travel, and there are several better options than this place. Oh, be very careful with their billing procedures. All is not as it seems. Worked out in the end, but getting a straight answer was tough to do. Beware of Suzanne, she is not a happy person.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ManOnTheMove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at The Balsam in August. We go to Lake George every summer and this summer we made sure to return to The Balsam. Last year we stayed somewhere else and we wished we were at The Balsam! It is clean, calm, quiet, and woodsy. The owners are so friendly and they help you with everything you need. If you want crowded, commotion, and kids everywhere- do not go here. If you are looking for a peaceful experience in Lake George- The Balsam is your place.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bxtraveler84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malta
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

My husband and i have been coming to the balsam for only two years, but since we found the place last year there is no other place we would rather stay. We brought our parents with us for memorial day weekend and had a blast! Now we are coming back to spend our last summer hurrah weekend there. Awesome owners very family oriented and you get treated as part of the family!!! Never felt more welcome anyplace else except home.

Room Tip: the cabins are great for long stays all the ammenities of home for a reasonable place
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharitamalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
0.1 mi away
Motel Montreal
Motel Montreal
#45 of 87 in Lake George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.0 mi away
O'Sullivan's On The Lake Motel
O'Sullivan's On The Lake Motel
#17 of 87 in Lake George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Lake George Inn
The Lake George Inn
#41 of 87 in Lake George
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sundowner Motel
Sundowner Motel
#32 of 87 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
1.2 mi away
Green Haven Resort
Green Haven Resort
#43 of 87 in Lake George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balsam Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balsam Motel & Cottages

Property: The Balsam Motel & Cottages
Address: 430 Canada Street, Lake George, NY 12845
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balsam Motel is a family run motel. Whether you choose the privacy of our own cottage or one of our motel rooms, our Lake George Village location gives you easy access to shops and attractions. Our secluded wooded setting is the perfect place to unwind and have a barbeque. We strive to offer you the best and friendliest accommodations. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Balsam Motel & Cottages Hotel Lake George
The Balsam Motel And Cottages
Balsam Hotel Lake George
The Balsam Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing