We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great site for family with a dog”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lake George
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Balsam Motel & Cottages
Ranked #34 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great site for family with a dog”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

It was so nice to find cottages that would allow a dog in Lake George. Our cottage was roomy and close to the pool and office. It was great being able to wake up and walk my dog down to the little beach at Lake Avenue- she had a grand time swimming. We liked the location being a little further from the crowds but still within walking distance of everything we wanted to see in town. The cottages are all shaded and although right on Canada Street there was very little noise at night. George and Suzanne were always available. The pool was great- our 14 year old son had the best time swimming.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angelvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    22
    4
    6
    5
See reviews for
68
31
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wappingers Falls, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

My wife and I stumbled upon the Balsam last year because we like to vacation with our dogs. Finding a pet-friendly motel is never easy, but this was a real find. The cottage we were booked into was enormous, clean, located a few steps away from the pool, and had a small private deck. The owners, George and Suzanne are friendly, always present, and as accommodating as you could ever want.
This year we returned, and spent two weeks there again, and this time we found that staying there felt like staying with family, if your family was not dysfunctional. George and Suzanne made us feel at home, and when it was time to leave, we left as friends, not just as guests of their establishment.
I would recommend that anyone looking for a comfortable place to stay in the heart of the village consider staying at the Balsam.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RickSlansky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2012

My family and i stayed at the balsam for 1wk and had the best time. We were even allowed to bring our dogs. the rooms were clean and the owners could not have been anymore accommodating to myself and family. we went out on a day trip and they even let our dogs out for us so we didnt have to worry about them. I would recomend the balsam to anyone with children and animals. Thanks Suzanne and George for a wounderful vacation. see you next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marissaliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Great vacation at the Balam Motel - We stayed four night s and would have extended our stay if there had been any vacancies- the pool was very clean and my Grandchildren loved swimming there- George provided us with coffee cups when we forgot cups for the motel room

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank conniehh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcy NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We have been vacationing in Lake George for years. This year we switched to the Balsam Motel and we were so glad we did. The atmosphere was so quiet and the owners were extremely friendly! The grounds and pool were spotless. It is a short walk to the village of Lake George to the area shops, restaurants, park etc. We will definitely be back and will recommend it to friends and family. Thanks to George and Suzanne for a great place to stay :-)
Brad & Pat

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We went for our first vacation with our dogs ( a Great Dane and Boston Terrier ) to the Balsam hotel, this motel is the best place to be with your dogs. The Owners where so nice and great people. We had a blast and enjoy every minute of it. It is so well positioned and George was really helpfull indicating things to do with our dogs. Thank you so much and we'll see you guys next year so sure :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MarilynG4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honeoye Falls, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We've been going to the Balsam in Lake George for several years, as we participate in the Community Band Festival that is held in the village. We stay in one of the cottages. They are very clean and comfortable. The pool is one of the cleanest pools I've ever been in. The owners are friendly and always available to help in any way. This year, we had 4 generations of family members and everyone had a great time. In addition, the location is in the village of Lake George and walking distance to the beach, restaurants and other attractions.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.1 mi away
Motel Montreal
Motel Montreal
#52 of 89 in Lake George
271 reviews
0.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
0.1 mi away
The Lake George Inn
The Lake George Inn
#36 of 89 in Lake George
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Green Haven Resort
Green Haven Resort
#45 of 89 in Lake George
45 reviews
0.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Lake George
Howard Johnson Lake George
#42 of 89 in Lake George
187 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sundowner Motel
Sundowner Motel
#43 of 89 in Lake George
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balsam Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balsam Motel & Cottages

Property: The Balsam Motel & Cottages
Address: 430 Canada Street, Lake George, NY 12845
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Lake George
#22 Family Hotel in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balsam Motel is a family run motel. Whether you choose the privacy of our own cottage or one of our motel rooms, our Lake George Village location gives you easy access to shops and attractions. Our secluded wooded setting is the perfect place to unwind and have a barbeque. We strive to offer you the best and friendliest accommodations. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Balsam Motel And Cottages
The Balsam Motel & Cottages Hotel Lake George
Balsam Hotel Lake George
The Balsam Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing