We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to stay in Lake George NY” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Balsam Motel & Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lake George
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Balsam Motel & Cottages
Ranked #34 of 87 Hotels in Lake George
Certificate of Excellence
Honeoye Falls, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay in Lake George NY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

We've been going to the Balsam in Lake George for several years, as we participate in the Community Band Festival that is held in the village. We stay in one of the cottages. They are very clean and comfortable. The pool is one of the cleanest pools I've ever been in. The owners are friendly and always available to help in any way. This year, we had 4 generations of family members and everyone had a great time. In addition, the location is in the village of Lake George and walking distance to the beach, restaurants and other attractions.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    21
    4
    6
    5
See reviews for
65
31
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

The Balsam was perfect for us! We Were close enough to walk to everywhere in the village and loved it! It was just my husband and I with our german shepherd and it was a great, relaxing, long weekend. The owners were welcoming and friendly -- we loved our stay and will be back to play! Highly Recommend this comfy, clean, simple, affordable, family owned motel!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DayDreamerCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

We once again stayed at the Balsam Motel and Cottages and had the best vacation, this year we went a little later then last but there was still alot of things to do and see, and again the owners and now our friends Sue and George are on speed dial on our phones so when we're ready we can call and make our reservations. Please remember that this place takes dogs which makes the vacation so much better. I have a fifteen year old boy, whom I could never leave or kennel so being able to bring them along is great and they get a vacation too. The place is clean, the folks are friendly and you can get the best rest and you time that you want but of course if you'd rathr do stuff then the mail road is a very small walk away. They have wax houses, festivals, boat rides and shopping all within about two blocks from this place.

Room Tip: We love to stay in cabin 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dustyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

I have been staying at the Balsam since 2000 or 2001. The rooms are spacious, even with my toddler's pack n play in the room! I love mom and pop places, and try and frequent those types of establishments as often as possible. The owner George and Suzanne treat me like one of their own kids! Bugs don't freak me out, so no problems there. The Balsam is like a secluded little oasis hidden amongst you guessed it! Balsam trees! The pool is solar heated, and feels great on a hot day. It's a short walk to the village and from a small beach down the street (the motel is on the lake side, but doesn't stretch down that far).

Room Tip: Cabin 11 has lots of room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PurimLuver1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastchester, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

It was my first time to Lake George, and I chose this place due to the great reviews on Tripadvisor. However, I think the people who wrote the bad reviews are exaggerating a bit, but I do understand where they are coming from. My room was a nice size cottage in the back. The room was cute and for the most part clean. However, I did see a couple of spider webs, which really freaked me out. It was toward the end of the season which might have been the reason. That being said I was extremely happy with the location and the owners of this Place. It’s nice to go somewhere and feel like people appreciate your business and are genuinely happy to have you there. It’s very rare to find places like this, which is why a few spider webs well not prevent me from going back. I might just let them know instead of complaining about it on Tripadvisor. I plan to go back to Lake George soon and hope to be able to stay here. Don’t listen to the bad reviews and give this place a chance, you’re going to love it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tammy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STATEN ISLAND, NY
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

This is our first time staying with Suzanne and George and we are TOTALLY SPOILED.
The accommodations are lovely, clean and well appointed. The location is perfect, right in Lake George village, within walking distance to everything. Thank you, Suzanne and George, for a terrific weekend. Looking forward to visiting you again soon. Paul and Nancy.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NANCYB39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam,NEW YORK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

My husband, grandaughter and I spent yet another lovely weekend at the lake in one of the cabins. Which as usual was very clean and ready for us when we got there. You will find no people more dedicated, friendly, and proud of the place they own. W e will be heading back up in 2 weeks to spend anohther wonderful weekend up there but this time we will be bringing along my brother, his wife and my mom. We expect to have a wonderful time and know that we will because the place we are stayin g at are beautiful places and Suzanne and George make us feel like family and right a t home. Thanks to them for being such special freinds.........J,K,&B

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 13jim13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
0.1 mi away
The Lake George Inn
The Lake George Inn
#42 of 87 in Lake George
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
1.2 mi away
Green Haven Resort
Green Haven Resort
#43 of 87 in Lake George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
O'Sullivan's On The Lake Motel
O'Sullivan's On The Lake Motel
#18 of 87 in Lake George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heritage of Lake George Motel
Heritage of Lake George Motel
#7 of 87 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sundowner Motel
Sundowner Motel
#32 of 87 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balsam Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balsam Motel & Cottages

Property: The Balsam Motel & Cottages
Address: 430 Canada Street, Lake George, NY 12845
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balsam Motel is a family run motel. Whether you choose the privacy of our own cottage or one of our motel rooms, our Lake George Village location gives you easy access to shops and attractions. Our secluded wooded setting is the perfect place to unwind and have a barbeque. We strive to offer you the best and friendliest accommodations. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Balsam Motel & Cottages Hotel Lake George
The Balsam Motel And Cottages
Balsam Hotel Lake George
The Balsam Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing