We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We will be back real soon!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lake George
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Balsam Motel & Cottages
Ranked #34 of 88 Hotels in Lake George
Certificate of Excellence
massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We will be back real soon!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

The Balsams offered us the total Lake George experience. Its rustic setting and spacious and spotless cabins truly keep us coming back year after year. George and Suzanne make you feel like family. I can't imagine staying anywhere else and would recommend The Balsams to anyone looking for the ideal Adirondack vacation. The Balsams is our home away from home.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank twiggyMassachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    21
    4
    6
    5
See reviews for
65
31
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

We have been coming to the Balsam for the past 5 years and we love it. George and Suzanne are wonderful hosts who can't do enough for you. Convenient to all sights in the Lake George area. Pricing is reasonable, rooms are comfortable, easy access to the beach. It is also very pet friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms have refrigerators and microwaves as well as morning coffee in the office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbigurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

My husband, Granddaughter and I spent a few days at the Balsam in one of the cabins with our family dog and we had a wonderful time. The place was clean and the owners George and Suzanne are the nicest people to be around. They make sure that you are comforable and really make you feel right at home. We will be going again in August and hope to get to go in September sometime too. We love Lake George and really love the friendship we've made with Suzaqnne and George too. Their children are also very nice and pleasant kids. SEE YOU GUYS SOON..........JKB.......

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank butterflymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

I read some of the reviews before posting, definitely it's what you have in mind when you book a motel room/cottage. We rented a pet friendly cottage this week-end for our son's birthday and we did not expect a 5* hotel - the cottage was clean and nice, close to the lake and walking distance to everything Lake George's town has to offer. There was a small kitchen with all you need for a longer stay, the bathroom was clean and towels also. Garbage and towels were changed daily. In front of the cottage you have a picnic table, Adirondack chairs, BBQ and an outside wood fireplace and you can park the car in your own "driveway". The room was nice, with AC, a small flat screen tv and the beds were OK (just because we're used to a king bed and we had to "adjust", but again, they have king size beds in hotels).
Last but not least, the owners were always there, very nice and helpful people. We will go back for sure. The only suggestion that I would make - free wi-fi if possible. Congratulation for the beautiful place you have there!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alexa42_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2011

Our first visit to the Balsam was purely by chance. The wife surprised me with a trip to Lake George. She picked the Balsam from a list of motels. Since that time approx 8 yrs ago, our return stays are "purely by choice". The rooms are clean, comfortable, well equipped, and reasonable. We now visit 3 to 4 times a year. The owners are now friends and consider us part of their family. They have not changed their commitment to making your stay as enjoyable as possible. Anyone looking for a good place to stay should give th Balsam a try.

Room Tip: There are motel rooms and cottages with kitchens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luke021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2010

I was looking for a nice place to go for vacation and came across the Balsam Motel in Lake George Motel and Cottages after e-mailing and speaking with Sue the owner I found out that they would take my two pets. I went and had a wonderful time everything was clean and very comfortable. Both Sue and George the owners made us feel very welcome. They also were very helpful in helping us finding things to do and places go and eat. i would say if your looking for a place to go and relax, fish and have some quiet alone time I would recommand a say at the Balsam Motel and Cottages. Please take a minute to look into staying with them. We've already booked for next year.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dustyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2010

My husband and I had our honeymoon in L.G.--6/21/59--when Shirley Frey owned the Motel. Although we have lived many places, whenever we returned home to Troy, NY we would come to L.G and stay at the (cottages) Balsam. I am so happy it remains in business and the current owners are as hospitable as the Freys were back in '59. The Freys brought down their special record collection for the newlyweds to use. It is not 4 star------but that is not what we wanted and we would not have the memories we do now!! Continued success to the Balsam Motel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Newlyweds21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
0.1 mi away
Motel Montreal
Motel Montreal
#45 of 88 in Lake George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.0 mi away
O'Sullivan's On The Lake Motel
O'Sullivan's On The Lake Motel
#20 of 88 in Lake George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Lake George Inn
The Lake George Inn
#40 of 88 in Lake George
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sundowner Motel
Sundowner Motel
#32 of 88 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
1.2 mi away
Green Haven Resort
Green Haven Resort
#43 of 88 in Lake George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balsam Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balsam Motel & Cottages

Property: The Balsam Motel & Cottages
Address: 430 Canada Street, Lake George, NY 12845
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balsam Motel is a family run motel. Whether you choose the privacy of our own cottage or one of our motel rooms, our Lake George Village location gives you easy access to shops and attractions. Our secluded wooded setting is the perfect place to unwind and have a barbeque. We strive to offer you the best and friendliest accommodations. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Balsam Motel & Cottages Hotel Lake George
The Balsam Motel And Cottages
Balsam Hotel Lake George
The Balsam Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing