We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and scenic location, wonderful service. Definitely coming back.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dunham's Bay Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Dunham's Bay for an anniversary weekend Thurs- Sat and had an excellent time. The place is a 10 min drive from the village if you take beach street. We had a King room on the 2nd fl of the main house. It was clean and the bed was comfy, though there was no headboard, which we found a bit odd. The faucet did run if not tightened and the shower head could use replacing, but for the value we were happy with the room overall. Don't expect a hotel: expect a mix of cabin + hotel and your expectations will be met.

We also took advantage of the tennis courts and pool area, which were both great. There are bugs around the facility due to some kind of conservation law, but I must say that ALL the inside areas including pool, room, restaurant, etc., had no bugs in sight. I second all the reviews about the cleanliness of the place - they do a very good job maintaining what they can. Lynn was very gracious to us - recommended things go do in town, helped whenever we called; she even let us use the landline free of charge since cell phone service doesn't work. We used wi-fi for all our other needs, which worked great.

If you are looking for a quiet place to stay for a very reasonable price that includes more than just the four walls of your room, Dunham's Bay is a great find.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roadtripping_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunhamsbay, General Manager at Dunham's Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear Roadtripping_3,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here at Dunham's Bay Resort. We are glad you took the time to make use of the many amenities around the resort. You covered so much about the resort and what we do here I can't thank you enough. Most of all like you headline reads, WE look forward to having you coming back.
Matthew Taormino GM
Dunham's Bay Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
There are newer reviews for Dunham's Bay Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 189 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

We were very happy with the resort and staff. Loved the camp fire at night and really appreciated the van service. Will definitely go back. The lake and location was beautiful. This was all that we expected

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Westy973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunhamsbay, Matthew Taormino, GM at Dunham's Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Westy973,
Thanks for using your mobile device to rate us right away. We enjoyed the weekend as much as all the guests. With large events in town like Car Show weekend its nice to have a spot like ours to come back to and unwind away from the hustle and bustle. The shuttle service also adds to not having to find parking on those busy weekends downtown. We look forward to you coming back soon.

Matthew Taomrino, HGM
Dunham's Bay Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Dunhams Bay is a great location for a wedding celebration. The outside venue overlooking Lake George is a beautiful setting. We chose the dining room for the reception. It was set up as we had wanted. The dance floor and bar are in a perfect spot. People wishing to celebrate could, while those wishing to just visit were able to do so as well. The bride and groom were treated in our minds like royalty. Lyn, the director was everywhere making sure things went well. The 2 bedroom cabins served us well. They were clean and comfortable. The amenities, such as the pool, playground, and of course the evening campfire were well attended by our group. The chef did an outstanding job of preparing the food. The meal was as delicious as we had enjoyed during our food tasting experience. The hor d'oeuvres around the pool before the reception were very well received. The staff both circulated among the guests and also had a serve yourself appetizer table poolside.
We would have liked to have had an earlier check in time for our guests. The staff had our rooms ready. But check in time of 4PM for a 3PM wedding is not realistic. Out of town guests needed time to unpack. Also, I would suggest any older guests request either the cabins or ground floor rooms, as there are many stairs to climb.
A Sunday wedding was quite enjoyable. The day after was relaxing. Although Dunhams Bay has a check out time of 11AM. They were flexible with our guests because Mondays are typically a slow day. We were able to enjoy a nice breakfast with some of our guests and then wished them well as they left.

Room Tip: If two couples in a party, it is a better value to get a cabin. Those around the playground are idea...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunhamsbay, Matthew Taormino, GM at Dunham's Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you so much for the kind words. As always we enjoyed hosting such a joyous occasion. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed using the inside of our venue for the reception. We also know check in on a holiday weekend was difficult but as always we try our hardest to get guest in as soon as we have rooms ready. Lynn and her team work hard to make it seem so effortless. Thanks once again.

Matthew Taormino HGM, GM
Dunham's Bay Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed in one of the two bedroom cabins for a friends wedding that was also held at the resort. The "cabin" was more of a small house, with air conditioning, flat screen tv, two bathrooms, etc. It was great - not like a cabin at all. The wedding was very nice - the staff was extremely attentive and paid great attention to detail. The buffet food at the reception was very good, which cannot be said very often for banquet food. Breakfast at the restaurant the next morning was exceptional. The wedding planner and hotel manager were visible during the entire event and were extremely attentive to the bridal party as well as all of the guests making sure everyone was happy. Cellular telephone service is almost non-existent on the property, but WiFi at the resort is great - it worked perfectly on the entire property with a very strong signal. The pool was very clean and the exterior grounds were also very clean. The rooms could use some updating - but the décor is as expected for the area.

Room Tip: Two bedroom porch cabins are spacious and have central air conditioning.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rbrtigac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunhamsbay, Matthew Taormino, GM of Dunham's Bay Resort at Dunham's Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

We are so glad you totally enjoyed yourself. Can't thank you enough for sharing all the great things we have to offer. Hope you are able to visit us again soon.

Matthew Taormino HGM, GM
Dunham's Bay Resort
Lake George, NY

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed in one of the porch suites at Dunham' Bay Resort for my brother's bachelor party. There was 6 of us in total and there was plenty of room. The room was clean and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. We ate at the restaurant for breakfast which I tought was excellent! The resort is about 5-10 minutes from the village and about 30 minutes from Saratoga (we spent a day at the race track). We had an awesome time!!! I would definitely reccomend this place! We are already talking about going back next summer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunhamsbay, General Manager at Dunham's Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Thank you for the kind words and thoughts. We are so glad that your stay was a nice one. We are happy to hear it when your trip turns out the way you wanted it to.

Regards,
Matthew Taormino HGM GM
Dunham's Bay Resort
Lake George, NY 12845

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We returned to dunhams bay for the second time, once again the staff did an excellent job looking after all our needs to make an excellent family vacation, the porch cabins are spacious , and the 2nd bathroom a great bonus for our young family, the pool and hot tub once again being a favourite. If we could ask for anything for next year, maybe an update on the child's playground. We hope to return next year 2014.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jplomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunhamsbay, General Manager at Dunham's Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Dear Jplamos,
Thanks again for choosing our resort to host your family's return to the Lake George area. We always love seeing familiar faces. This means were are doing our job extra well. Not only making it a comfortable vacation for all, but one you look forward to returning to.

Regards,
Matthew Taormino HGM, GM
Dunham's Bay Resort
lake George, NY

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is an amazing venue for a wedding! From start to finish we were exceptionally impressed!
We had a "weekend wedding". I cannot say enough and give a high enough rating to the staff who took care of us for the wedding! Lynn, the wedding planner was excellent! Whatever need any of us had, she or one of her staff were there to fill it! During the reception I only needed to say something to one of the staff members and my need was met, including going to our cabin to retrieve an important item I had forgotten for the wedding welcome. As parents of the bride we are very pleased with our wedding experience. The guests were invited to arrive Friday night and share in the festivities. After the rehearsal we had pizza & wings and a cash bar, the food was wonderful and the (almost) bride & groom chose many different kinds of pizza that just kept coming out of the kitchen! The wedding was late Saturday so many of the guests did things on their own during the day. We stayed around the resort and were very comfortable just sitting out in the lawn, playing games and enjoying the peacefulness.
Lynn, the wedding planner, definitely keeps the bride & groom happy, and that is her main focus. Even though she also had other responsibilities for the weekend she was visible and continuously checking on the bride & groom and the families. She has a wonderful, well oiled group of staff members for wedding work. Everyone of them was pleasant. The reception room was decorated to perfection. Our daughter and son-in-law had designed their own centerpieces with 6 different pieces to them and had given Lynn pictures of how they were supposed to look. When we arrived in the reception hall... they were arranged just as we wanted them.
We stayed in a porch cabin which was ample room for 4. They say you can sleep 6 but it would be crowded. The rooms need a little TLC but they are clean. The housekeeping staff was excellent. We had a couple issues and the maintenance crew were there within an hour of contacting them. The beds were very comfortable but the pillows were not.
They also have a large fire pit in the middle of the cabins that they lit both nights for us and left plenty of wood for the fire.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunhamsbay, General Manager at Dunham's Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Dear Deborah H,
Thanks for the very detailed review. Lynn and her team are the best in the business. With an average of 40 weddings a year we keep very busy and are so glad that when we are finished the memories are all grand ones.

Regards,
Matthew Taormino HGM, GM
Dunham's Bay Resort
Lake George, NY 12845

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
3.5 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
4.0 mi away
Best Western of Lake George
Best Western of Lake George
#19 of 89 in Lake George
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
3.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake George
2.7 mi away
Tea Island Resort
Tea Island Resort
#6 of 89 in Lake George
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunham's Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunham's Bay Resort

Address: 2999 State Route 9l, Lake George, NY 12845-5009
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Lake George
Price Range: $86 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunham's Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family resort on the southeast side of Lake George. Formerly known as Dunham's Bay Lodge. Renovated in 2007 with new carpeting, flat screen TVs, new mattresses and the new View Restaurant. We are open year round! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Dunham's Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunham`s Bay Hotel Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing