We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Bed!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dunham's Bay Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington,CT
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome Bed!!!”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

My Husband and I stayed at the Dunham's Bay Resort in Lake George, NY this weekend. Normally when we travel we almost never have a solid nights sleep. We both usually wake with horrible back aches as well I have terrible hip pain. The bed in our room in the main hotel was wonderful.
There was very nice linen as well multiple great pillows. The bed covers were double sheeted which made the bed VERY comfy. We both had a good solid nights sleep and BOTH woke with no back or hip pain..The staff that we met were very friendly and made us feel welcome. Our room was located on the second floor and there is no elevator. Andrew at the front desk offered to carry our bags. But we did have to climb stairs however to our room. If I might suggest, larger bath towels, as the ones provided were not very big at all .We did have a very nice stay and will stay again at this hotel when we return next year.

Room Tip: Just remember if stairs are an issue, there is no eleavtor. Let staff know when making reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerrilynK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunhamsbay, General Manager at Dunham's Bay Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
So glad to hear about your well deserved rest. We are very happy to hear that the choices we make for the comfort of our guest are the right ones. Also very glad to hear when a guest comments they will be back. Hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    49
    14
    11
    10
See reviews for
77
44
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guilderland, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2012

My wife and I took my sister for a weekend get away and stayed here for the first time. The rooms were great, in the old style, but very clean, comfortable beds. My sister's AC didn't work great so they couldn't have been quicker and pleasant about moving her. The staff was very welcoming and friendly. The area lost power due to severe storms but the resort had a back up generator so we ate there, had a tremendous meal and a great breakfast buffet in the morning. We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Al M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunhamsbay, General Manager at Dunham's Bay Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
So nice to hear your experience with us was a good one. Thank you for the kind words and for taking the time to enjoy our restaurant, "The View". To many times when a guest stays with us they miss the enjoyment and the quality of our fine restaurant to head into town. We look forward to seeing you again.
Regards,
Matthew Taormino, HGM GM
Dunham's Bay Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Recently stayed at Dunham's Bay for 2 nights based on memories of what the place was like when John owned it in my childhood.

They let us know when we booked our king room in the main building that there would be a wedding going on. But they didn't warn us of the following:

1.) The restaurant was taken over all night for the wedding -- no dinner view for anyone else
2.) The pool was closed during prime swimming hours for the reception
3.) Our room was right next to the wedding itself -- music thumping through the walls and drunk people still screaming as of 11pm. This one annoys me the most -- what a lack of foresight on their part to put ANYONE not part of the wedding in rooms alongside the reception. (Side note -- if your neighbor is watching TV, you are too. Complete lack of sound insulation).
4.) The wedding guests were running around banging on doors and screaming drunkenly well past midnight, with calls to the front desk doing nothing.

I was also appalled by the condition of the room itself, including: stains on the bedsheets (coffee or blood, they look the same dried, so take your pick), stains on the chair in the room, terribly rough towels, and toilet paper so thin that I could turn it into a sheer bodice for a dress on Project Runway.

Yes, the view is beautiful. It is at the Sagamore too -- and I bet they know how to throw a wedding that doesn't disturb all of the other guests.

I paid $380 for 2 nights of this. Safe to say it won't happen again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshua K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunhamsbay, General Manager at Dunham's Bay Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Guest,
First my apologies for you not having the stay you might have remembered from your childhood. Things do change from time to time. I am happy to see you point out that we make our guest aware both at the time of booking and by confirmation email letter that we are hosting a wedding at your time of stay and there are changes to restaurant locations and pool hours:

They let us know when we booked our king room in the main building that there would be a wedding going on. But they didn't warn us of the following:
1.) The restaurant was taken over all night for the wedding -- no dinner view for anyone else

There is always dinner service durng weddings. We never close our dining facility. As a matter of fact that evening in particular was one of our busiet dinners for in house guest of the season.

2.) The pool was closed during prime swimming hours for the reception

The ammended pool hours are noted on your confirmation and does state extended pool hours that day/night.

3.) Our room was right next to the wedding itself -- music thumping through the walls and drunk people still screaming as of 11pm. This one annoys me the most -- what a lack of foresight on their part to put ANYONE not part of the wedding in rooms alongside the reception. (Side note -- if your neighbor is watching TV, you are too. Complete lack of sound insulation).

The wedding that night did finish promplty at 10:30pm, only 10 minutes after us speaking about your concerns. As for lack of foresight. Rooms are built where rooms are built. King rooms share the same floor as our restaurant/banquet facility. No foresight needed.

4.) The wedding guests were running around banging on doors and screaming drunkenly well past midnight, with calls to the front desk doing nothing.

After you phone call, I personally addressed those guests at 11:30 on thier way back to the firepit and asked them to please be mindful to guests who might not be other wedding guests staying with us that evening.

5.) I was also appalled by the condition of the room itself, including: stains on the bedsheets (coffee or blood, they look the same dried, so take your pick), stains on the chair in the room, terribly rough towels, and toilet paper so thin that I could turn it into a sheer bodice for a dress on Project Runway.

As for the stains, towels and the toilet paper. Very harsh claims that I truly take to heart. Neither yourself or your traveling companion made us aware of any of these items. As you can see and follow through all our trip advisor comments we immediatly address any and all concerns and correct them in a timely matter. I am deeply dissapointed about your experience. We as always try to balance wedding and transient guests the best we can. Unfortunatly we are not the size of a large resort so have chosen with our booking/conformation system to be as insightful and open with guest when booking during a wedding weekend as is possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunn Loring, VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We truly enjoyed our 3 day stay at Dunham's Bay Resort. Lynn our host for our son's wedding reception was fabulous and made everyone feel like we were so important. She was so good at taking care of details and keeping us informed the details were completed. Our hotel room was clean and comfortable and we slept very well on the bed. It was a beautiful location with a great view of Lake George and access to the beach right in front of the resort. They really do a great job of giving a resort experience including a bon fire after the sun sets with supplies to make smores! We also really enjoyed the food at their restaurant. Every meal we ordered from breakfast to Sunday Brunch excellent.
The also served a clam bake for our son and his fiances reception and it was so delicious!!!
I can't recommend Dunham's Bay Resort enough.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Went up recently with some fellow songwriters, needed a good place to unwind. Beautiful place and such a great location! The staff were wonderful and our host was extremely gracious. I'd highly recommend the Dunham's Bay Resort for couples and families alike- experience Lake George at it's best.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ak_songwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

This resort has everything! Have stayed in Bolton Landing hotels, but found this one (just 5 mi from Lk. George village) to offer sooo much more!!! Two bedroom cottage, clean & comfortable!Thank you to the staff who were more than accomodating. Loved the indoor pool, especially since we had rain one day!! The food at their restaurant was delicious & the bar was great for meeting up with our friends & family who came!! They have their own private beach to enjoy the crystal clear water of lake George...We will definately be back next year!!!

Room Tip: Bring sand chairs for the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorri V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunhamsbay, General Manager at Dunham's Bay Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for the thoughtful words and all the explanation points!!! I am so glad that you had a great time. Its so nice to hear that your stay was everything you expected it to be and more. Looking forward to your return trip next year.

Matthew Taormino, GM
Dunham's Bay Resort
Lake George, NY 12845
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ma
Level Contributor
118 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed here one night because that was all that was available. We checked in and were shown our room by the guy working the counter. When we walked in we notice a slight smell, but couldn't figure out what it was. We had a candle packed and lit it and the room smelled fine after. The room was a good size and looked clean. We had a room with a good view of the bay. We were given a coupon for a free bottle of house wine at the restaurant. We took advantage of it when we ate dinner. The staff was very friendly throughout the resort. We went in the hot tub.....it was only set to 100 degrees so a little cooler then I would've liked it, especially being that there were other using it too. The grounds looked well maintained, there was a fire pit, horse shoes, shuffle board, a small play set, and a tennis court.

We went to the restaurant in the hotel. We were the only ones in the place. We ordered our food, we had salad ,and warm rolls to start. I ordered chicken parmesan and was given two large pieces of chicken and a large portion of pasta. My boyfriend had the penne vodka and added chicken to it. He said the chicken wasn't good as it lacked flavor and was thrown on top of the penne. He said the penne was good though. The one thing I would recommend would be that they take time to check the glasses, and silverware. The wine glasses were spotty and streaked from the dishwasher and looked dirty because of this. The floors needed to be vacuumed, there was a lot of food on the floor by the tables.

So the beach was across the street. It was a short easy walk to get to. I know that people were complaining about the traffic. I guess if you follow the simple rules of look, listen, look then walk you shouldn't have a problem. This beach was easier to get to across the street then some others I have had cross the street to get to.

I would definitely stay here again. The bed was SUPER COMFY!!!!!!

The one thing which was a little frustrating was when we were trying to check out, there was only the one guy working. He kept running out to show the people who were checking in their rooms. While this is a nice touch...they should have someone else helping them to their rooms or teo people doing check ins/outs. There were 5 of us trying to check in or check out.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank princess1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunhamsbay, General Manager at Dunham's Bay Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thanks for sharing your thoughts and pictures with all. I am so sorry we could not accomodate a longer stay. Its so nice to hear from a guest who got to enjoy all of the resort from the comfy beds to our great full service restaurant "The View". Our apologies for your experience at checkout. We were in the process of a large turnover or rooms due to back to back weddings. We hope that you are able to join us once again in the near future.

Regards,
Matthew Taormino GM
Dunham's Bay Resort
Lake George, NY 12845
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
3.5 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Courtyard Lake George
Courtyard Lake George
#4 of 88 in Lake George
110 reviews
3.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
3.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunham's Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunham's Bay Resort

Property: Dunham's Bay Resort
Address: 2999 State Route 9l, Lake George, NY 12845-5009
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunham's Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family resort on the southeast side of Lake George. Formerly known as Dunham's Bay Lodge. Renovated in 2007 with new carpeting, flat screen TVs, new mattresses and the new View Restaurant. We are open year round! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Dunham's Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunham`s Bay Hotel Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing