We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastical!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Inn at Erlowest
Ranked #1 of 26 Lake George B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newburgh, New York
2 reviews
“Fantastical!”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

My wife and I had booked a special through Facebook. It was one night stay , 4 course meal, Champagne and cheese and breakfast. Since we were expecting a major snow storm on our day we called and reserved the room also for the night before. This also came with champagne and a cheese plate and breakfast. From the moment you arrive you are welcomed just as if you were coming home. The staff is warm and friendly and so very helpful even making dinner reservations for us at a restaurant in town that first night. The Inn built in the late 1800's and furnished in the period is so inviting. The fireplace in the common area was going and it just made it very special. We all need to enjoy luxurious surroundings and have a staff that just wants to please once in awhile. This is the place to go. Our dinner was absolutely fantastic from the superb presentation to the flavors on our pallet. After a dinner that truly satisfied we went to the bar area and sat by the fire for an Irish Coffee then off to comfortable room and bed for a last night of pure enjoyment. You must go enjoy the Inn and it's amenities you will not be sorry that you did!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatErlowest, General Manager at The Inn at Erlowest, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
It was our greatest pleasure to make sure your experience was wonderful. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    49
    12
    15
    4
See reviews for
30
256
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

The Inn is beautiful, the rooms are exactly what you would expect, the staff is knowledgeable, friendly, and there to help with whatever you might need. Breakfast was very good and there were no issues with deviating from the menu. We had dinner both Friday and Saturday night and this was our only issue. Both nights were just OK. On the first night, my bisque was very salty and my girl friend's duck was raw. Our server and the sous chef agreed in both cases that errors had been made. The rest of the meal was great and what you would expect from a high-end restaurant. The next night was better, but again not great. My girl friend's risotto was cooked well, but had no flavor and my monk fish entree was nicely presented but it was very dry. Everything else was very good. Trust me, we are not picky, but there were enough issues that we would probably opt to dine elsewhere. We would highly recommend the accomodations to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms are priced differently depending on size and views of the lake. We stayed in Schyler which do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpcgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatErlowest, General Manager at The Inn at Erlowest, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for staying and dining with us and we appreciate all compliments and comments that could only help us strive to make your stay and dining experience excellent. We took your feedback seriously and have already implemented actions to make sure that this would not happen again to our future guests. We thank you for your patronage and hope that when you do visit again that we can meet your expectations again in dining with us. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Vermont
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2014

My wife and I stayed there in November and it was just magnificent. This place is everything we were looking for. The rooms and common areas are just stunning. The staff truly make you feel right at home from the minute you walk in the door. If you plan on staying there you must have dinner in their beautiful dining room. The food is excellent you will not be dissapointed. It also has a cozy bar lounge to relax in. Being my wife and I are also Innkeepers, we recognize good hospitality. We can't THANK YOU guys enough for a very very rare getaway. We will be back...
Thanks again
S and T...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olympia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

The Inn at Erlowest offers unmatched views of the lake, meals and quaint guest rooms that are decorated perfectly. The champagne, cheese and fruit platter was perfect to enjoy on the deck overlooking the lake.

Dinner and breakfast were excellent meals and the staff if very friendly and go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable.

If you stay during a wedding and are not part of the wedding party, you should consider where your room is within the building.

Room Tip: Our room advertised a private balcony, be advised you do have to walk through a short common area to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

My husband and I got married here in September, so I may be a bit biased. However, the Erlowest is gorgeous and so romantic. We have stayed at the Inn three times now, including our wedding, and were never dissapointed in our accomodation. Gorgeous, sprawling rooms- with large tubs and plenty of space to relax. The fruit/cheese and champagne welcome is always awesome too. Although it is a small place, someone is always on call to assist with needs. My favorite part besides the view of the lake, is the outdoor fireplace. It is so cozy and romantic! Perfect for an after-dinner drink.

Room Tip: Horicon or Lake George Suite are our favorites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
197 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

This place is so charming that it deserves a great review with details. We stayed at the Inn on New Years Eve, so there were no many guests.
The house was beautiful, with fireplaces. The lake is stunning, magical. The frozen landscape was out of this world. The town becomes a ghost town in winter, there was just the pizzeria Capri. I felt in a eskimo town.
The highlight of the inn is the dining room, it is a gourmet hotel, The menu was delicious,a real chef. Fine dining better than lots of restaurants in New York. Their wine list is spectacular, and not very expensive. It is considered one of the best wine list in the world by a wine institution.
Some of the plates we had:
-Cauliflower veloute.
-Beef of filet.
-Green salad.
You can study the menu in your room, dress well and eat a fancy and gourmet dinner in this 1o table restaurant. It was like dining in a museum in the middle of nothing in from of the gorgeous lake.
The breakfast was delicious, the scrambled eggs with bacon, yummy.
This is a unique place and experience, for a weekend. The concept is very different, to be in a castle of 1900, with just 10 rooms, with the mystery of the landscape, and a cold i never felt before. One of the best experiences was waking up and smelling the pancakes for breakfast.
The staff was polite, helpful. the jacuzzi wasn’t working in our room , and it was much better, those jacuzzis didn’t look appealing at all.
We knew the inn at the Erlowest by watching an episode of the TV show “The Real Housewives of New Jersey”. Our waiter appeared in one of the episodes, hilarious! The way they serve you the pepper is great.
This was a two night trip i will never forget. December 2013 was frozen, with an arctic vortex wind. We left New York City with good weather for the highway and we came back before Hercules the mega winter storm affected all the state.
Lake George is the queen of the american lakes. The geography of the place makes you feel in Greenland, or Iceland. We had a great time. Laughed. Got drunk with two bottles of Pinot Noir in New Year’s Eve and a bottle of Moet Nectar Imperial to receive the new year.

Room Tip: Check their website and choose the room you like in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank voolksorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

My husband and I were driving to NYC and were planning on stopping in Lake George on the way. I booked a one night stay at this Inn as a surprise for my husband thinking it would be very romantic. I won't go into too much detail, but here are some of the negatives about this place: there was no hot (or even warm) water in our room on arrival (Horicon suite), someone came up to try and fix it, but apparently there was no solution to the problem...the internet was very spotty...there was a weird gas smell in the Inn, especially on the main floor...there was a wedding going on at the Inn, so all day there was cigarette smoke coming up into our room (despite the window being closed) from the people smoking outside on the main floor and in the evening, the music was blasting.

I have never done this before, but when we got back from dinner that evening and the hot water still was not fixed and music was blaring, we decided to leave the Inn. The only nice part about the whole experience was that we were fully refunded without putting up too much of a fight. We drove to the Holiday Inn not too far away, and I was finally able to take a hot shower and sleep without loud music or cigarette smoke bothering me!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yassi_smile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatErlowest, General Manager at The Inn at Erlowest, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We value all compliments and especially criticism which only helps us to make sure that future guests do not experience the same issues that you had experienced. We apologize that you had a less than wonderful experience. Unfortunately, issues do arise, which we cannot control, when equipment breaks down and causes inconveniences to our guest. We can assure you that we are now responsive to unforeseen circumstances and are continually monitoring and upgrading our equipment so that the same issues will not arise again. Our venue allows for beautiful wedding receptions to take place here and we are very conscious to make sure that the music and smoking is now contained as not to interfere with the peace and quietness that our non wedding guests can enjoy. We welcome you to come back and enjoy the Inn at Erlowest and its grandeur and fine service. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
2.0 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Lake George
Courtyard Lake George
#4 of 88 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
2.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake George
0.2 mi away
The Lodges at Cresthaven
The Lodges at Cresthaven
#24 of 88 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Erlowest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Erlowest

Property: The Inn at Erlowest
Address: 3178 Lake Shore Drive, Lake George, NY 12845
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Erlowest 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 15-acres on the shores of Lake George, The Inn at Erlowest is a stone Queen Anne revival mansion constructed as a private residence in 1898 and converted into a 10-suite bed and breakfast in 2001. The Inn offers a blend of elegant rooms, exquisite dining and everything that Lake George offers to guarantee a time remembered. A quaint bar accompanied by a fine dining restaurant provides guests a memorable dining experience. Complimentary breakfast is included and a wide range of welcome amenities are offered for an additional fee. Lounge areas are available for the quiet board game, reading or conversation time. An expansive patio and accompanying deck complete with a magnificent outdoor fireplace connect the indoor experience with the outdoor views of Lake George. Rooms includes elegant furnishings, antique furniture, king size bed, down pillows and Penhaligon’s bath amenities. Each suite offers other unique features that vary suite by suite. Rooms can include one or more of the following features; a fireplace, sitting area, spa tub and shower, and lake view. At The Inn at Erlowest there is free Wi-Fi access and reserved, free parking. A fitness center along with complementary kayaking is combined with two beach areas and an outdoor heated pool. The Inn is located between Lake George (2-miles) and Bolton Landing (8-miles). Interstate I-87 (The Northway) is a 5-minute drive connecting Erlowest to area shopping and activities. The Albany International Airport is 48 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Inn at Erlowest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Erlowest Hotel Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing