We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Mansion- Outstanding Food- Lovely View”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Inn at Erlowest
Ranked #1 of 26 Lake George B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Schenectady, NY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful Mansion- Outstanding Food- Lovely View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Wife and I stayed one night in the Montcalm Room with large balcony and huge windows on 2 sides overlooking beautiful Lake George. We enjoyed hot lobster bisque, coffees, teas, and baked goods in the room next to the front desk when we checked in. The entire staff was professional, friendly and informative. We used a cart to bring our stuff up the elevator to the 2nd floor which has a large sitting area with a balcony. Awaiting us in the huge room was a very nice selection of cheeses, fruits and nuts and 2 bottles of chilled champagne with a small fridge, gas fireplace and 2 person Jacuzzi! So romantic! Dinner is from 5-7pm in front of another huge fireplace with white linens and elegant glassware. The chef is amazing and the gourmet food we had was inspired. I had the seared scallops, tasty free salad, filet mignon and chocolate crepes with raspberries for dessert. We went to the Erlowest with our super neighbors, had great conversation and laughed a lot. The inn has so much history and is very tastefully decorated with antiques, beautiful and elegant. Be sure to tour every bit of it and the grounds. The free breakfast is from 8-10am in the dining room. We hope to return soon!

Room Tip: The Montcalm room has its own balcony and there is a nice sitting area just outside the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sturbridge7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    49
    12
    14
    4
See reviews for
29
253
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Spent the weekend to celebrate my husbands birthday, great experience. Definitely reccommend including dinner. The chef is amazing , wonderful choices , combinations were maddeningly delicious. The entire staff were warm , welcoming and friendly. Each night a fire is lit in the outdoor fireplace, on the amazing patio/veranda. The Inn is tastefully decorated, beautiful & elegant. Coffee, tea fruit & soup available throughout the afternoon. We will definitely return .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Averill Park, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a short 25th wedding anniversary get-away to the Inn at Erlowest. I tend to build up my expectation for such trips based on photos, reviews and a very active imagination, often being disappointed in one way or another. In this case, there was no disappointment whatsoever.

From the initial impression of driving into a room-assigned parking spot to a hot bowl of lobster bisque, cheese and fruit arrangement and chilled champagne upon arrival, the experience was posh and pampering without being pretentious. We were made to feel like we were the only guests in a nearly full establishment.

Our Schuyler Suite was absolutely lovely with a bed that just enveloped us in comfort and a fireplace to keep the mood and the room warm. The furniture and decor were spot on in respecting the feel of luxurious days gone by, but the spacious bath and two person jaccuzzi were welcome up to date touches.

Our four-course dinner and full breakfast the next morning were absolutely wonderful. The dinner choices - four each for the appetizer through dessert courses - held something for everyone and we made sure to try things we would have not normally selected. Wise choice. Zach, our server, was attentive without hovering and helpful in his suggestions. The full breakfast - included in the room rate - was more than satisfying.

In conclusion, we hated to leave this pampered life style but look forward to returning for another special occassion or perhaps when we've just had enough of rigors of our day to day lives. General Manager Tom Wysocki and his staff should be proud of their service. This was a little slice of heaven on Lake George.

Room Tip: Although it did not have a direct view of the Lake, the Schuyler Suite was just lovely. Spacious an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed at the Inn at Erlowest for one night and we had an amazing time! The staff was beyond accommodating and so very nice! The inn is beautiful and the rooms are so nice!!! The breakfast was also delicious!!! We will definitely go back!! And don't worry if it is winter time... You can still enjoy the lake views and the snow!! Loved it!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank betsey03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnt Hills, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Wife and I wanted a one night getaway for winter break. We had driven by Elowest several times and were intrigued. The building looks like a very nicely kept castle/stone mansion. The grounds and facilities are outstanding. The attention by staff is also outstanding. The food was amazing. We stayed in the Montcalm room for out visit. It was beautiful with an incredible view of Lake George and the mountains. The room had a nice fireplace and a large hot tub. Waiting in our room upon arrival were two bottles of champagne and a fruit and cheese platter. Very nice. Later, we enjoyed a nice bowl of soup while sitting at the bar in the very rustic small pub. We ended up staying in the pub for more than an hour. Dinner was award winning. It was a four course dinner that was very special. The chef is truly outstanding. Breakfast the next morning was delicious. All comes with the room rate except the dinner.

We highly recommend Erlowest for anyone who wants a getaway. We will no doubt return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We went for the Valentine's Special overnight and had a wonderful time! The staff were the best and the gourmet food was outstanding! Every single bite was a treat!
Our room was very nice, comfy and restful. Loved the outdoors fireplace, as well as all the other fireplaces inside the Inn. Just a really nice experience... a TREAT!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

We visited Lake George In October during Fall. The drive from New York was beautiful....on arrival at the Inn we were happy to find the location peaceful and quiet with a lovely view facing the lake. During the summer months the same area is very busy since the Inn is facing many cottages that are on the lake.
The Inn itself is warm and inviting with very friendly staff. Our room was on the 2nd floor, very comfortable and well decorated. A basket with wine and cheese, fruit and crackers was brought to our room complimentary from the hotel. This was a much appreciated gesture.
The only drawback to our room was that it faced a terrace which had machines/ heating? which was put on and made a dreadful noise through the night. Wish we had been told before we chose this room- make sure you you have a clear understanding that your room is noise free!!
The breakfast was wholesome as were the snacks and soup that are laid out during the day.
The staff were kind enough to suggest some great dinner places in the neighborhood.
Beautiful Location!

Room Tip: Stay away from the terrace with the heaters/ air conditioner. Terribly Noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank adugrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
2.0 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Lake George
Courtyard Lake George
#8 of 87 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
2.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake George
0.2 mi away
The Lodges at Cresthaven
The Lodges at Cresthaven
#25 of 87 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Erlowest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Erlowest

Property: The Inn at Erlowest
Address: 3178 Lake Shore Drive, Lake George, NY 12845
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Erlowest 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 15-acres on the shores of Lake George, The Inn at Erlowest is a stone Queen Anne revival mansion constructed as a private residence in 1898 and converted into a 10-suite bed and breakfast in 2001. The Inn offers a blend of elegant rooms, exquisite dining and everything that Lake George offers to guarantee a time remembered. A quaint bar accompanied by a fine dining restaurant provides guests a memorable dining experience. Complimentary breakfast is included and a wide range of welcome amenities are offered for an additional fee. Lounge areas are available for the quiet board game, reading or conversation time. An expansive patio and accompanying deck complete with a magnificent outdoor fireplace connect the indoor experience with the outdoor views of Lake George. Rooms includes elegant furnishings, antique furniture, king size bed, down pillows and Penhaligon’s bath amenities. Each suite offers other unique features that vary suite by suite. Rooms can include one or more of the following features; a fireplace, sitting area, spa tub and shower, and lake view. At The Inn at Erlowest there is free Wi-Fi access and reserved, free parking. A fitness center along with complementary kayaking is combined with two beach areas and an outdoor heated pool. The Inn is located between Lake George (2-miles) and Bolton Landing (8-miles). Interstate I-87 (The Northway) is a 5-minute drive connecting Erlowest to area shopping and activities. The Albany International Airport is 48 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Inn at Erlowest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Erlowest Hotel Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing