We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth The Price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn at Erlowest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Inn at Erlowest
Ranked #1 of 26 Lake George B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
278 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Worth The Price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Away, but not too far, off the main drag of Lake George, this beautiful Inn on the old Millionaires Row is awesome. As soon as you wind down the long driveway and the Inn comes in to view you realize you are in store for something special.

From the reserved parking spot of the room you're staying in to the rooms themselves its an awesome experience. Check in on the main level, which also houses the restaurant, a private dining room and a quaint bar area overlooking the lake. In the summer you can sit outside the bar area and enjoy the view or upstairs from the private deck for overnight guests. The rooms beautifully decorated. And you should take the time to read the history of the Inn and how it has been transformed.

We dined there twice, once on our stay over and again in the private dining room. The food was delicious and the chef personally took time to come out and greet his guests which was a nice touch.

This experience is not inexpensive and i would add not really where you would take a family with young kids, but if you are looking to treat yourself, I'd do it here

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jdsbiz98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    49
    12
    14
    4
See reviews for
29
252
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Upstate NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

The Inn at Erlowest offered by far the very best in every way! The staff was very attentive and friendly. The grounds and room were beautiful, unique, private and clean! Well worth it, we will go back over and over! Food was delicious! Relaxed in room with hot tub or by fire, outside by the large stone fireplace. The inn has amazing views from their balcony!! Had the opportunity to see other rooms, every room is beautiful and lavish!

Room Tip: Every room is beautiful and lavish! Well worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nycole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

The Erlowest is a first rate food and wine destination, to which we will return again and again. The kitchen is the best in the Lake George area, which is otherwise awash in mediocrity. General Manager/Sommelier Tom made our stay with a careful wine pairing tailored to our palates and dinner choices. He thoughtfully selected a red and white wine for each course, and took the time to explain his selections and solicit our feedback. The rooms were cozy and comfortable, our only regret was staying for one evening. I would have preferred some choices beyond a Caesar salad for the first course, but the salad, with it's fried anchovies, was a distinctive and tasty take on a tired and dated concept. Perhaps an amuse bouche from the kitchen would have added an additional touch of creativity and sense of value to the experience. Make sure to have a cocktail in the warm and cozy bar before dinner, and soak in the ambiance of this beautiful historic structure. Thanks to Tom for imparting his customer service skills to his staff. Since the dynamic menu changes frequently with the seasons, it would be nice if the Inn placed the current menu on its website and updated it on a regular basis, as Chef Ken's creations can serve to inspire a trip in their own right. I would also encourage themed wine pairing evenings as an additional excuse for us to travel back. It's unfortunate that the restaurant's current concept is to restrict dinner to guests of the Inn. While the focus on guest experience is laudable, perhaps this could still be accomplished by allowing a limited number of non- guests to dine by advance reservation only.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RAS1279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

WOW! What a beautiful Inn. We loved the history of this warm,cozy Castle. We came to see the fall foliage,relax by the lake and get away from our electronic life we all know. The staff, Marie, and Tom were so accomodating. Chef Mike cooked for us the absolute BEST meals we have ever had! Every bite was mouth watering, delicious! Our room was beautiful & the bed so comfortable. We cannot wait to go back! Kelly C.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicville, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We were married at The Inn at Erlowest on 11/11/11 - so it was only fitting that we went back for our first year anniversary. Beautiful place, HUGE outdoor fire place to sit by with a drink and enjoy your evening, wonderful people and the finest dinner ever! $70 each for a 4 course dinner that words do not describe! Cheese platter in our room, champagne, fire place going only helped set the mood! The rooms are expensive (come with a great breakfast) but if you are looking for a place to treat yourself and someone special - this is the place to go!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loraine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Loved our stay at the Inn. We came for Thanksgiving dinner and to stay overnight. I typically shy away from old historical Inns because they seem musty and without modern conveniences but so NOT the case here. It was charming and yet updated with spacious suites with gas fireplaces, flat planel TVs, and huge baths with 2 person jacuzzi. We booked the Erlowest Suite and it was a nice touch to be greeted with a platter of cheese, olives, nuts, figs and fruit with Prosecco. The grounds are beautiful with lovely view of the lake and mountains. It would be a great setting for a wedding. The dinner was absolutely A+. Kudos to the Chef for a wonderful array of inventive dishes for a very special Thanskgiving feast. A delicious breakfast was also included. Highly recommend a visit here to escape, unwind and be pampered at a very reasonable price. We will definitely be back!!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicville, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

We returned to the Inn for our 1st anniversary last weeekend. The staff and venue only seems to get better with every visit. Upon our arrival in the Erlowest suite we found Proseco and a cheese and olive platter, much to our delight. After settling in we walked the grounds enjoying the late afternoon vistas that only the Adirondacks can provide.
Dinner was another level. The meal was as expected, excuisite. The main course, braised short ribs, were cooked to perfection and matched well with Winter vegetables. We finished the evening with conversation on the patio with a large fireplace to keep the chill away.
Erin, the Event Coordinator, remembered us and took the time to visit. She was still able to recite our Wedding menu! A fine new addition is Tom, the General Manager. He was most accomadating and as expected in an Inn this size, wears many hats. He was first to greet and last to see us off, a fine representative of this establishment!
We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
2.0 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake George
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Lake George
Courtyard Lake George
#9 of 87 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lodges at Cresthaven
The Lodges at Cresthaven
#27 of 87 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Erlowest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Erlowest

Property: The Inn at Erlowest
Address: 3178 Lake Shore Drive, Lake George, NY 12845
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Erlowest 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 15-acres on the shores of Lake George, The Inn at Erlowest is a stone Queen Anne revival mansion constructed as a private residence in 1898 and converted into a 10-suite bed and breakfast in 2001. The Inn offers a blend of elegant rooms, exquisite dining and everything that Lake George offers to guarantee a time remembered. A quaint bar accompanied by a fine dining restaurant provides guests a memorable dining experience. Complimentary breakfast is included and a wide range of welcome amenities are offered for an additional fee. Lounge areas are available for the quiet board game, reading or conversation time. An expansive patio and accompanying deck complete with a magnificent outdoor fireplace connect the indoor experience with the outdoor views of Lake George. Rooms includes elegant furnishings, antique furniture, king size bed, down pillows and Penhaligon’s bath amenities. Each suite offers other unique features that vary suite by suite. Rooms can include one or more of the following features; a fireplace, sitting area, spa tub and shower, and lake view. At The Inn at Erlowest there is free Wi-Fi access and reserved, free parking. A fitness center along with complementary kayaking is combined with two beach areas and an outdoor heated pool. The Inn is located between Lake George (2-miles) and Bolton Landing (8-miles). Interstate I-87 (The Northway) is a 5-minute drive connecting Erlowest to area shopping and activities. The Albany International Airport is 48 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The Inn at Erlowest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Erlowest Hotel Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing