We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous wedding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn at Erlowest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Inn at Erlowest
Ranked #1 of 26 Lake George B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Punta Gorda, Florida
2 reviews
“Fabulous wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

My daughter and her finance chose Erlowest for their wedding reception. It was the most wonderful experience. My husband worked with Cheryl (the owner), Mike (the restaurant manager) and Chef Ken and from the very first meeting until the night of the reception - they could not have been more professional or more accommodating.

The atmosphere at Erlowest is absolutely enchanting. The view of Lake George and the mountains from the patio is amazing and just set the atmosphere for the entire evening. Guests raved about everything. The staff couldn't have been more attentive and the food was incredible.

We will never forget how absolutely perfect everything was. There wasn't one negative thing throughout the planning or actual night of the reception. Our sincere thanks to everyone at Erlowest and we would definitely recommend this place for anyone looking for a gem in The Adirondacks for a very special event.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jlp-trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    49
    12
    14
    4
See reviews for
29
252
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

My husband and I stayed overnight at the Inn at Erlowest just to get away. We are local, and had heard that the cuisine was fabulous.The road is windy and steep to get there but once you are there it's well worth it. The castle is grand in it's stature and service is excellent. From the moment you walk in you are treated like you are the only guest. We arrived in the late afternoon to find a cheese and fruit platter with champagne waiting in our room. It was tasty. We sat on the outside deck, which is quite large, and took in the sight of beautiful Lake George until our dinner. Dinner came, and we could hardly wait after hearing all of the great talk about the restaurant. We were not disappointed. The service was top notch. The menu is limited but all is done to perfection. Your mouth will water with anticipation after the first bite. My husband had veal and I had steak. Both were prepared with scrumptious sauces and cloud like mashed potatoes. Light and fluffy. We also had an appetizer and dessert which both were outstanding. Everything is made on site with the freshest ingredients. It's worth every dime. Our room was quaint with plenty of space. We were in the Leffingwell Suite which was appointed with a wonderful king bed, one of the most comfortable I've slept in, a sitting area with sofa and chairs and flat screen TV, duel shower (the water pressure was low and shower heads were placed very low in the shower. A person of 5'6" or more would have a hard time showering), and a wonderful deep multi-jetted heart shape bath tub. All very suitable for a most comfortable stay. The Inn has 2 very large decks to enjoy the view or a fire by night. Each floor has a delightful, common sitting area as well. The Inn wasn't quite ready for the summer crowd yet as the North East has had so much rain I think they were delayed in getting things set up for the summer crowd, i.e. pool filled, flowers up, cushions on chairs. We didn't mind. We still enjoyed every minute. A huge bonus for us was that the Inn is for Adults only. The restaurant is geared towards adults as well. I wouldn't bring a child into that area. A great place to relax without kids running around. They have cottages on the premise for families. You also have the Village of Lake George just a little over a mile away for nightlife. If you are looking for a fabulous, quiet, elegant place to stay, then the Inn at Erlowest fits the bill and then some. Also, the photos on line are exactly what the Inn looks like so I won't post any more. ENJOY!

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kathydnys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2011

What a lovely Inn we discovered overlooking Lake George, New York
We were in a quandary as to were to meet friends that were visiting the east coast and we were all the way in Montreal
An ideal halfway point between New York City and Montreal was Lake George so after some serious googling I discovered the Inn at Erlowest
The Inn comprises of 11 rooms that can only be classified as magnificent suites - several overlooking the Lake itself
The Inn is known for its Gourmet Meals and we must agree - the variation of dishes was beyond our expectations and changes daily
Our guests were thrilled with the Inn and we will most assuredly pass the word on to all our friends about the amazing find we discovered in Lake George

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mittaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loudonville, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2011

Heard about the Inn and decided to try it. It was our wedding anniversary!
The trip was a suprise since I had not told my wife where we were going.

As we pulled into the property and started driving down the long, winding driveway, we could not see the Inn. Then, as we made the final turn, there it was - a castle on Lake George. Absolutely beautiful! I was looking forward to seeing more.

It was Friday afternoon. We opened the big wood front door and entered the lobby. We was warmly greeted in the lobby by staff. They informed me that my room reservation had been upgraded (Great!!!).

Went to the room to find a wonderfully layed out and decorated suite. Plenty of room. Confortable.

We relaxed and got ready for our dinner. Dinner was an absolute delight. An extensive wine lis and a gourmet menu to satisfy the pickiest of pallets. Our selections were excellent and the service was superb. Desert was outstanding.

After spending a little time on the porch by the wood burning fire looking at lake George, we decided to call it a night.

The next morning I was up early and decide to go down to the lobby. I was greeted by a friendly staff who asked me - would you like a cup of coffee? In the same breath she told me - the newspaper just arrived. Please feel free! she got me a cup and coffe and when she returned we started talking abiut the history of the Inn - The Wood family. How the house was originally layed out.

We truly enjoyed everything about our stay ay the Inn at Erlowest! We will make it an annual visit (hopefully a few times a year).

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Live_Your_Dreams05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunkport, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2011

Just finished planning and having a small, intimate wedding at the Inn of Erlowest.
What a beautiful spot! What a beautiful inn! All of the staff went above and beyond to make it a perfect wedding weekend for a second marriage. Nothing was left undone.
People are raving about what a gorgeous cake--and also the incredible food in the dining rooms as well as the level of service by everyone on the staff ---Everything was as perfect as it could possibly be!! Treat yourself to this never-to-be forgotton wonderful inn and spot on Lake George!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank judigraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2011

This was the 2nd dining experience for my girlfriend and I at the Inn at Erlowest. However, it was our first time staying in the castle. The food is the best I have ever had and I have worked in the restaurant business for almost 8 years. Nothing has ever rivaled it. We stayed at the Inn for two nights and we can honestly say it was one of the best experiences we've had. We stayed as part of the "off-season" package; 199$ for a 3-course dinner in the 4-Diamond restaurant, a night in the castle, and breakfast the following morning. The actual value is double in my opinion. The staff was exceptionally kind and polite in the dining area as well as at the front desk. The rooms were beautiful, quiet and elegant. I would recommend the Erlowest to anyone who considered it. It's great for romance, the finest food, relaxation and the great environment of Lake George. There is truely nothing like it that I have experienced. In the few days since we have been back, we have recommended it to everyone who will listen! We will be back soon. Outstanding!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jfoskett16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2011

A man once quoted, “Fix your eyes on perfection and you make almost everything speed towards it”. Obviously, this is the philosophy embraced by the staff of the Erlowest. When we booked our two- night stay with friends who were celebrating their wedding anniversary, we expected a romantic weekend, but our expectations paled in comparison to the service, ambience, food and accommodations.
The team embraced our every need: Marie, Susan, housekeeping and wait-staff (I regret I cannot recall all their names), fulfilled our every request. From the moment we entered the spectacular rooms, we were charmed with the meticulousness given to each and every detail. The champagne and fruit/cheese platter was a perfect touch to welcome us. We relaxed as we noted the plush robes, Jacuzzi tub, magnificent appointments and overall accommodations afforded at the onset. This, of course, was just the beginning of the impressions that delighted us!
Having returned from Italy and France just months before, our level of food assessment was high, but the cuisine was likely the finest we have ever savored. The staff tickled our friends by noting their anniversary congratulations at the top of the dinner menu! Our curiosity regarding the banquet facility and adjoining guest rooms was accommodated by an informal tour that was graciously arranged.
As we enjoyed the night air on the stone patio, a fire pit with surrounding chairs invited a romantic aside to the evening. The comfortable beds offered us a restful night and although we anticipated a continental breakfast in the morning, we were thrilled to be offered any choice on the menu.
The package deal was economically advantageous and as I consider many more accolades for the Erlowest, my highest compliment is reflected in our plan to return next month for our anniversary… with bells on! Enjoy!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank priscillamerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
2.0 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake George
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Lake George
Courtyard Lake George
#9 of 87 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lodges at Cresthaven
The Lodges at Cresthaven
#27 of 87 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Erlowest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Erlowest

Property: The Inn at Erlowest
Address: 3178 Lake Shore Drive, Lake George, NY 12845
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Erlowest 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 15-acres on the shores of Lake George, The Inn at Erlowest is a stone Queen Anne revival mansion constructed as a private residence in 1898 and converted into a 10-suite bed and breakfast in 2001. The Inn offers a blend of elegant rooms, exquisite dining and everything that Lake George offers to guarantee a time remembered. A quaint bar accompanied by a fine dining restaurant provides guests a memorable dining experience. Complimentary breakfast is included and a wide range of welcome amenities are offered for an additional fee. Lounge areas are available for the quiet board game, reading or conversation time. An expansive patio and accompanying deck complete with a magnificent outdoor fireplace connect the indoor experience with the outdoor views of Lake George. Rooms includes elegant furnishings, antique furniture, king size bed, down pillows and Penhaligon’s bath amenities. Each suite offers other unique features that vary suite by suite. Rooms can include one or more of the following features; a fireplace, sitting area, spa tub and shower, and lake view. At The Inn at Erlowest there is free Wi-Fi access and reserved, free parking. A fitness center along with complementary kayaking is combined with two beach areas and an outdoor heated pool. The Inn is located between Lake George (2-miles) and Bolton Landing (8-miles). Interstate I-87 (The Northway) is a 5-minute drive connecting Erlowest to area shopping and activities. The Albany International Airport is 48 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Inn at Erlowest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Erlowest Hotel Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing