We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly, cute place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Colonel Williams Lake George Motel and Resort
Ranked #62 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Homer, New York
2 reviews
“Clean, friendly, cute place”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Nice motel, clean & cute, owners are really nice. If you're planning to go to Lake George and not be in your motel/hotel much this is a perfect place to go. They have a really nice piece of property, and 2 pools. It's not far out of the village which is nice, it's quiet. The only down part, is the room sizes, our room was small but we were only there to sleep so it wasn't a big deal, however the bathrooms were extremely small. Only room for one person, the plumbing needs to be replaced (they work just really old) and you can hardly fit through the doorway, a large person would have to go through sideways. On the whole nice place, nice people.

Room Tip: I would think some of there other rooms probably don't have the slanted bathroom walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rebekah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lgresort, Owner at Colonel Williams Lake George Motel and Resort, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your nice review we really do appreciate it.

I would just like to address the issue of our bathrooms (i.e.old plumbing) that was brought up in this review.

As the owner I do not want the general public to think anything about any of our rooms is OLD...far from it! We upgrade and take care of our place and that includes the plumbing. The room in which this person is speaking about was either the COMPACT SINGLE ROOM or COMPACT DOUBLE ROOM. These rooms are located in the original motel building that we bought in 1975 and are the least expensive of our rooms. So yes, the layout of these rooms are smaller then our Super Queen, Suites and Two-Bedroom unit buildings that we built by us later down the road. I know when I take a reservation for these types of rooms, I explain that they are small and have a stand up shower. We also provide several photographs of each type of rooms on our website so people know what they are getting.

The Compact Single & Double rooms are perfect for two people or parents with 1/2 small children.

Thank you again for taking the time to write a review about our place...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    31
    15
    19
    30
See reviews for
75
33
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Excellent place, very clean and close to everything. Nice homely feeling, excellent staff/family. Room was small but sufficient. Great place for the price, breakfast was included and they had discounted tickets for six flags.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Astha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miles R, Public Relations Manager at Colonel Williams Lake George Motel and Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Hi Astha,

Thank you for all the nice words regarding out facility! We are glad you felt homely while staying in one of our rooms. We hope you had a nice time at Six Flags and hope to see you soon!

Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The motel was very clean. This is not a resort in the sense of a high-end hotel resort; there is nothing glitzy about it. They do provide a nice play area for children, and a game room as well, with old fashioned fun stuff: air hockey, foozball, and ping pong. The room was small but comfortable. Hair dryers are provided on request. The morning breakfast wagon was open from 8 to 10 AM, serving coffee, yogurt, English muffins, donuts. It wasn't a lot, but it kept you going. The internet service was spotty at best. I felt the price was a bit expensive, but if you are traveling with kids this is a really good place. Also, it was very close to Lake George and the outlet malls along Route 9.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shel29Brooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miles R, Public Relations Manager at Colonel Williams Lake George Motel and Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you shel29Brooklyn for writing a nice review about our facility. We apologize for the spotty wireless connection and will work on making sure there is a better connection in all of the rooms. We hope you come back to visit us and see Lake George again!

If you have any further comments or concerns please feel free to contact Dick Willmen at 518-668-5727.

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

With some of the other reviews, I got a little nervous but it was excellent. Friendly staff, spotless grounds it was great! The owners went above and beyond to make sure we had a great time. Would definitely stay there again and it was so close to everything too! Very impressed.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliviasmom2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miles R, Public Relations Manager at Colonel Williams Lake George Motel and Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Hi Oliviasmom2013,

Thank you for writing a very nice review about Colonel Williams Resort! We are glad the few negative reviews did not deter you from experiencing a stay at our facility. We're happy that you enjoyed your stay and would come back again!

Thanks again we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed at the Colonel Williams for two nights and had a great overall experience. The staff was friendly and attentive, and the rooms were very clean. The hotel was close to both Lake George (~5 minutes) and Saratoga Springs (~30 minutes), but you do have drive to get to either town. Overall it was a great value for the money and I would recommend it to anyone looking to stay in the area.

PS - Two words: Breakfast Wagon.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BreakfastWagoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miles R, Public Relations Manager at Colonel Williams Lake George Motel and Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank You BreakfastWagoner for a positive review about Colonel Williams Resort! We're happy to hear the staff was both friendly and attentive and that you enjoyed the Breakfast Wagon!

Come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The owner and his daughter are both very very friendly (contrary to some other reviewers' assertions). We stayed there last summer and, after a lot of research on other hotels, my wife and I decided to return. We did NOT regret it. The playground on site is wonderful for small children (we have a 2 year-old and a 3 1/2 year-old). Both of them rushed from our room to the playground early in the morning and when we returned from out daily excursions. The room itself (two queen sized beds) was spacious, neat, and very well maintained with a comfortable and up-to-date bathroom.

The inside pool is also great for the kids while the sauna and hot pool (which we did not use) is refreshing for the adults.

All in all, the location (two minutes from Magic Forest and no more than five minutes from the village) is excellent.

So...if you are able to adhere to the common-sense rules set in order to maintain the quality of this establishment (like staying off the grass where the sign says KEEP OFF GRASS, and not soiling the rooms with juices that the next guest will then have to "enjoy), you will not regret your decision to stay there.
Would we go back next year? Absolutely!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miles R, Public Relations Manager at Colonel Williams Lake George Motel and Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you David M for taking the time to write this very detailed review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our resort in several different areas. We are also thankful for such nice words about the owner and his daughter! We hope to see you and your family back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Massachusetts, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The owners were rude and nasty. It is obvious that they care more about the grounds than the customers. My son was yelled at for walking on the grass, then the owner followed him in his golf cart to yell at him some more. He was terrified! When spoken to by my husband, the owner became furious, swearing and threatening. The other owner (daughter of the man in the golf cart) was also argumentative and rude, instead of helpful and polite. No apologies were given for this unacceptable behavior. We were told that if we did not like the owners yelling at my son we could "get your [--] out of here!" We did. They are lucky that we did not call the police. If the owners have to write a disclaimer after every negative review, there is something very wrong. Do not stay here!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jeff1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miles R, Public Relations Manager at Colonel Williams Lake George Motel and Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear jeff1993,

We would like to apologize for the negative experience you had while staying at Colonel Williams Resort. If you would like to talk to us further so we can work on creating a better experience for your family and others please contact our Hotel Representative Dick Willmen at 518-668-5727.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lake George hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
1.1 mi away
Best Western of Lake George
Best Western of Lake George
#21 of 89 in Lake George
555 reviews
1.5 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#16 of 89 in Lake George
412 reviews
3.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Motel Montreal
Motel Montreal
#53 of 89 in Lake George
271 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mohican Motel
Mohican Motel
#30 of 89 in Lake George
102 reviews
1.6 mi away
Super 8 Lake George/Downtown
Super 8 Lake George/Downtown
#13 of 89 in Lake George
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonel Williams Lake George Motel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonel Williams Lake George Motel and Resort

Property: Colonel Williams Lake George Motel and Resort
Address: 1787 Historic Drive, (State Route 9), Lake George, NY 12845
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Colonel Williams Lake George Motel and Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CWR is a unique and private family resort located just 2 miles south of the hussle and bussle of Lake George Village. Just 45 distinctive guest rooms are spread among three one-level buildings on 10 acres of beautifully landscaped property that adorns fountains, an abundance of colorful flowers, plush gorgeous bushes and tress all nestled into a small forest in the back. CWR is a true adirondack experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Colonel Williams Lake George Motel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonel Williams Lake George Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing