We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hate chain hotels? Stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glenmoore Lakeside Cottages and Lodge
Ranked #47 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Reviewed July 13, 2013

My wife and I didn't want to spend $200 a night for the Holiday Inn or other similar places. With 3 small children, we had a hard time finding a place to stay for a reasonable price. The owners were excellent, making sure that we had anything we needed. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were clean. Being only a few minute drive from Lake George made this a great find, but the best part was that being right on Glen Lake, you may not want to leave. They had a few row boats to use with a pier and comfortable porch over looking the lake.

I really liked that we didn't have to worry about security or our things. The entire place was wide open when we arrived. Dave and his wife were very personable and gave us suggestions on where to eat and things to do - and seemed to really care, as opposed to the chain places that really don't care.

Bottom line, help a family run business stay in business and stay here!

Room Tip: Family Room #1 was perfect for my wife and I with 3 children 5 and under.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aviation1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
There are newer reviews for Glenmoore Lakeside Cottages and Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 71 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2013

A great place to come back to after all the commercialism of Lake George.The Glenmoorelodge is quiet and simple,granted its a little dated but clean,peaceful and comfortable.The lake is beautiful.There is a dock that you can swim off of or bring a lunch,glass of wine and enjoy.In the back of the lodge is a shaded deck with several tables right on the lake that you can sit at and enjoy.There are a few free rowboats and a conoe for your use.Aboutt 1/4 mile away is a good restaraunt,the Docksider,that has a coverred deck on Glen Lake with dinner specials every nite for 12.95 and you have to buy a drink,the food is good.You can row to the Docksder!For pet owners dogs are ok.Dave was a great host kept his distance but if ou need something he took care of it.The only negative is that the cottages are close but arranged in a way to give you privacy.We stayed in the Tamarack cottage which was nice,a little private for the close quarters and had a great screened porch.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the lake
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Overall we had a good experience and would recommend to anyone looking to stay in the Lake George region. The reason for 4 stars vs. 5 is that the WiFi was in the lodge only, there wasn't enough comfortable seating in the cottage (1 sleeper sofa and 2 computer chairs), no outdoor firepits (charcoal grills at each cabin though) and the road was fairly close and busy (watch your kids when crossing to the parking area) The cottage and lodge were simple but clean, and the host was very friendly and helpful with area information. The swimming area was good for kids at 2-4ft deep, not perfectly sandy but the kids didn't care, stronger swimmers will find the waters off the end of the dock nicer. There is also a small play structure that the kids enjoyed. The use of canoes and rowboats is a plus (we used them often). The lodge has a deck overlooking the lake and a screened in porch which was nice for viewing the fireworks without the bugs and hassle of finding parking and dealing with traffic. Our cabin had a screened in porch that had a lake view and was nice for relaxing but not very private which was o.k. because everyone was so friendly. The location is not far from shopping, dining or the area attractions but seems a world away when you are at the cottage or lodge, soooo relaxing.

Room Tip: If looking for a cottage ask for one that is away from the road with a lake view.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CD01108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed during Americade. Called to confirm reservation before arriving, Dave the owner said go to the office if no one is there he will leave the key in the door of the room..; Wow, no worries about security...We stayed in Room 7 which is not a cottage but a room built off the main lodge with a great view of the lake. Got there soaking wet on motorcycle, as is always the case during Americade. Dave was there to great us and check in. Explained that there would be coffee and muffins in the morning. There is a very large back deck area with table and chairs where we sat out the next afternoon and had conversaiotns with other guests. Also at night you can clearly see the fireworks show from the Great Escape. That was really cool the way it reverberates off the lake. Speaking of Glen Lake...what a gem... Never knew it existed. Very clean water, went swimming, a little cool first week of June but nice. Property is extremely quiet. Dave is a wonderful host. Needed a little oil for my chain and he found some, no problem. Met some great people there too. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Room 7 has Lake view
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights at The Glenmoore this past week. Dave was a friendly and warm host. We stayed in The Tamarack which was nestled under beautiful White Pines. The cottage was cozy, very clean and pet friendly.
It was so relaxing sipping our morning coffee sitting by the tranquil lake.
The property is spotless.
A short drive and you have access to all shopping and restaurants on Route 9.
We absolutely loved this place and plan to stay here again.
Thank you,Dave

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NewYorkCityMoonchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

As its been mentioned plenty of times on other reviews for various places to stay, this ain't the Ritz or the Holiday Inn. Let me start off by saying the owners are very friendly and nice. The location of this property is prime if you like to stay away from all the crowds but like a quiet place to stay and still be very close to all the action and site attractions. We stayed in the Hemlock cottage. It was rustic and very clean but also outdated. The beds creaked something fierce every time we got into or out of the beds which kept waking the other person. The shower head was short for even an average person, I am 5'6" and just fit but my husband had to bend over. The grounds and the lake access seemed to be very nice as we didn't really experience them because we were always out and about. Also as its been mentioned before its very dog friendly and there is a trail to walk to your dog...just ask the owners.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Neatoconchito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed at the Glenmoore in the Spruce Cottage for four nights in early September. The location is ideal...right on Glen Lake close to but also a world away from the Lake George crowds. Property is tidy and right on the lake. Well worn kids area and canoes and row boats for you to use! Proprietors friendly but give you your space. Cottages are clean but dated...which can be okay! Being some kitchen supplies since some things are missing such as cutting board and sharp knife. Relax and enjoy the quiet and beauty of this area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReviewerfromPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
1.0 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#21 of 89 in Lake George
419 reviews
1.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Lake George
Comfort Suites Lake George
#13 of 89 in Lake George
669 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mohican Motel
Mohican Motel
#29 of 89 in Lake George
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Lee's Motel and Cottages
Lee's Motel and Cottages
#58 of 89 in Lake George
13 reviews
6.5 mi away
Cramers Point Motel & Cottages
Cramers Point Motel & Cottages
#54 of 89 in Lake George
70 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tall Pines Motel
Tall Pines Motel
#52 of 89 in Lake George
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenmoore Lakeside Cottages and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenmoore Lakeside Cottages and Lodge

Address: 330 Glen Lake Rd, Lake George, NY 12845-4310
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Price Range: $79 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Glenmoore Lakeside Cottages and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenmoore Lakeside Cottages Hotel Lake George
Glenmoore Lakeside Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing