We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for lunch, not great, not bad”
Review of Lookout Cafe

Lookout Cafe
Ranked #107 of 163 Restaurants in Lake George
Price range: $5 - $11
Cuisines: American
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children
Riverhead, NY
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“OK for lunch, not great, not bad”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Food was fairly decent, the kids had chicken I think, wife and I had burgers. Satisfying lunch, nothing to write home about but no major complaints. A little pricey from what I remember for lunch. Very convenient to the boat dock/tours which is why we went. One thing - there is one men's room and one women's room. The line for the women's room was about 15 minutes long. Completely inadequate facilities. But if you don't have to go, the view is nice and the food is decent.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LIDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    37
    38
    34
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really great view, but that's it”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

One assumes that when comments come in about how bad the food is here, management and staff are not offended. Maybe they would be offended if they were trying... But why try? Great view + tourist town = successful business.

Food was really not good. Staff was very nice but did not seem to be pleased to be there. Bathroom smelled like old cigarettes and paint. But hey! The view was great!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KMat1924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake George
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great view, average food”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

The sign says best view, best burgers. The view is great, but the food (including the burgers) is pretty ordinary. Also, it's not the cleanest place in the world. The prices reflect the location and view, but the value as far as food goes, is average at best.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mary V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“"Lookout"-Great. "Cafe"-Not so great.”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Just returned from a day trip to Lake George. Wish I had read the reviews on this place beforehand, but it was a spur of the moment thing.
I have been by the Lookout Cafe many times, but have never eaten there, so my family and I decided to give it a try. While the view was very nice and our wait staff was polite, there are much better places to eat in this town. If you don't mind being served with plastic silverware, small plastic baskets for your food and paper cups for your beverages, then you'll be fine. Rolls of paper towels are on each table to be used as your napkin. As for the food, it was so-so and for what you're getting, I think overpriced. I basically could have gone to a fast food place and ordered pretty much the same think and paid half the price.
The restaurant itself is not the cleanest either. I understand that this is an outside cafe with a roof over it, but cleaning the tables off before you seat another party, I would think, would be just a normal thing to do. Plus, I don't think the floors had been swept in days.
In all fairness, I guess if you just want to order a drink and look out at the lake - then I think you'd be fine. But my overall thoughts - I agree with Mmadd's review on this one - walk up the stairs, take a look - walk back down, and then run from this place!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lovethebeach4312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great burgers, views and service”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Nice covered outdoor patio overlooking the lake. Had the best burgers of the stay and the onion rings were great. also has a great beer selection. Our server was terrific.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sammy2co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lookout Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Lookout Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing