We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

Boathouse Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Boathouse Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #27 of 164 Restaurants in Lake George
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Boathouse Restaurant on Lake George at The Lodges at Cresthaven is a place to relax and enjoy casual or fine shoreline dining, stunning views, and exemplary service. At The Lodges at Cresthaven in Lake George, dining at The Boathouse Restaurant lets you enjoy splendid water's edge views from the shores of our exceptional lakefront location. Originally built in 1876 as part of the Abenin estate - once owned by New York Times Publisher, Adolph Ochs - The Boathouse Restaurant offers dining on Lake George with an atmosphere steeped in Adirondack charm, history and unlimited Lake George views. Whether you're enjoying a summer lunch or a nightly dinner, our lakefront restaurant is the perfect setting for any occasions. Lake George Weddings, private parties and special events are also welcome, with lovely Adirondack lodge-style vacation rentals on Lake George available for you and all of your guests! The Boathouse Restaurant will delight your senses. Your table is waiting!
Reviewed July 31, 2014

We were there at the height of the tourist season and the place was very busy. Nevertheless we had no wait for our table and received prompt , friendly service. Our drinks were brought to us promptly as was the food but we had no feeling of being rushed.
The portions were ample and well prepared. We would go back.

Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred V, Owner at Boathouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Thanks for the kind words, Stephen! We're happy to hear you enjoyed a tasty time with us and will be sure to share your many compliments with the whole team. Don't be a stranger!

Cheers,
The Boathouse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (318)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

191 - 195 of 318 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2014

4 visits in the last 2 months and 4 outstanding meals...that consistency is hard to come by. We've had everything from salads and burgers to prime rib and lobster and all have been as good or better than anticipated. Prices are very reasonable for what you get. Service has always been very good as they appear to always be well staffed. Staff uniforms are very impressive and standout so you know who actually works there. Fantastic view of Lake George from nearly every seat in the building. Logoed pint glasses have random charming quotes printed on them but I couldn't figure a way to smuggle one out so I swiped a pen with their logo on it instead :)
Gary R

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred V, Owner at Boathouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Comments like these just make our day! We appreciate you taking the time to share your support, Gary. Next time you're in Lake George, come on over! You've always got a spot at our table.

Take care,
The Boathouse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Stayed at The Lodges for 2 weeks and had the best time ever!! The rooms are above and beyond. The view spectacular. Having the Boathouse Restaurant on site is great! One of the best Happy Hours I've been too!! Met friends for dinner a couple of times they came by boat which is also a plus for restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Msbmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred V, Owner at Boathouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

We are delighted to hear you had such a great stay! Even happier that we made your visit to Lake George that much more memorable. Thanks for taking the time to spread the good word about us and please, don't be a stranger! Our door's always open.

Cheers,
The Boathouse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We went by boat and were greeted by a very friendly dock tender. He helped tie up the boat and directed us to the bar upstairs. We found that they had a very reasonable happy hour with live music. We found seats at the bar and ordered up some happy hour fun. We ordered sandwiches off the menu and found them to be very tasty and reasonably priced. No doubt one of the best places to sit and relax, enjoy the views, drinks and food. We will be making this one of our regular stops as we frequently visit the Lake.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred V, Owner at Boathouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

If you're happy, we're happy! Thank you for taking the time to spread the good word about us, Frank. From the sandwiches to the live music, we're thrilled to hear it was a great time. Hopefully we'll have the pleasure of serving you again soon!

Till then,
The Boathouse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

The Boathouse is a nice restaurant that many people in the area recommended to us. We walked right in and got a seat in a private little deck area that was outside on the Lake. It was an amazing view. However, the food was just average. It was shocking how many people raved about this place considering the food was only okay. I got just a french onion soup and even that was just eh. It's nice if you're looking for a decent place with a view, other than that don't go in expecting a 5 star meal. The service was very good and the place was clean. The prices weren't even too bad, the food needed some work though.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred V, Owner at Boathouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, Stephanie. While we're happy you enjoyed our views, we're disappointed to read our food was "just average." That's certainly not feedback we often hear, nor is it the impression we wish to leave on our valued guests.

That said, it's great to hear that overall, you had a lovely time with us. We'll be sure to share your compliments with the team and hope you'll give us another chance to impress. We're confident we can serve you food just as great as our views and service.

Kind regards,
The Boathouse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boathouse Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Boathouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing