We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View”

Boathouse Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Boathouse Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 163 Restaurants in Lake George
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Boathouse Restaurant on Lake George at The Lodges at Cresthaven is a place to relax and enjoy casual or fine shoreline dining, stunning views, and exemplary service. At The Lodges at Cresthaven in Lake George, dining at The Boathouse Restaurant lets you enjoy splendid water's edge views from the shores of our exceptional lakefront location. Originally built in 1876 as part of the Abenin estate - once owned by New York Times Publisher, Adolph Ochs - The Boathouse Restaurant offers dining on Lake George with an atmosphere steeped in Adirondack charm, history and unlimited Lake George views. Whether you're enjoying a summer lunch or a nightly dinner, our lakefront restaurant is the perfect setting for any occasions. Lake George Weddings, private parties and special events are also welcome, with lovely Adirondack lodge-style vacation rentals on Lake George available for you and all of your guests! The Boathouse Restaurant will delight your senses. Your table is waiting!
New Jersey
Level Contributor
105 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great View”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We only stopped here at the outside bar for drinks and ended up ordering lunch. The burgers were good, nothing special. The view is amazing! If you're looking for a place to sit back with a drink and relax and enjoy the scenery, then this is the place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jen91610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana F, Owner at Boathouse Restaurant, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, Jen. We're happy you ended up joining us for a drink and staying for lunch. After all, we always want our guests to feel welcome! Next time you're in Lake George, we hope you'll keep us in mind. You've always got a spot at our table!

Until then,
The Boathouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    88
    52
    19
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
lk george
1 review
“The Whole Package!”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Looking for a fabulous meal, an outstanding view, friendly atmosphere and lots of fun? The Boathouse Restaurant in beautiful Lake George, NY has all the amenities you need for a great night out, whether your looking for a romantic evening with that special someone, a place to treat the family, or a gathering with friends, all of your needs will be met. Various activities and events are scheduled throughout each week to add to the entertainment. There is a very friendly staff and a wide selection of food and drinks for all ages. Check out The Boathouse Restaurant for a night of memories that will last a lifetime!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana F, Owner at Boathouse Restaurant, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
What a heartwarming review! Thank you for taking the time to share such kind words with us here on TripAdvisor, Jeff. From our fabulous food to the outstanding view, it means a lot to hear just how much you enjoyed your time with us! Hopefully we'll have the pleasure of serving you again sometime soon. You're always welcome!

Cheers,
The Boathouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
1 review
“View was nice, food was poor”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We've been to the Boathouse for lunch several times and usually had sandwiches, which were very good.
Tonight we tried dinner and it was a disappointment. I ordered shrimp and linguine fra diablo. The shrimp was rubbery, clearly overcooked and salty. The sauce was bitter and pretty much tasteless with none of the spicy-ness that should have been there. My wife had baked stuffed filet of sole, which was not hot. It tasted bland and flavorless and the veggies were overcooked. We decided to cut our losses and skipped dessert. We come up to the lake every year, but we will not return to the Boathouse.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JimN696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana F, Owner at Boathouse Restaurant, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Jim, as you can imagine, this is disappointing to read. We do appreciate your honesty, though. Did you happen to mention anything to your server about your concerns with the way the food tasted? We hate to think that you were sitting there with something you weren't enjoying, and we would've been happy to get things right for you.

We hope we'll have the chance to redeem ourselves sometime down the line.

Sincerely,
The Boathouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Scenic Dining!”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Lovely setting, friendly staff and yummy food! Dined at the Boathouse on two occasions during our week long stay. Loved the ribs!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Auscanuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred V, Owner at Boathouse Restaurant, responded to this review, May 26, 2015
Lovely setting, friendly staff, and yummy food -- sounds like a win-win-win to us! We're especially thrilled you really enjoyed the ribs, so thanks for dining with us during your stay. Looking forward to seeing you the next time you visit.

Safe travels,
The Boathouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
1 review
“Wonderful Evening Out”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We were looking for an evening out and were in Lake George NY and found the Boathouse Restaurant. What a beautiful location. We arrived on a Saturday night and enjoyed music on the patio overlooking the lake while waiting for our table. Once seated, our waitress was very attentive and gave us great service. The food was amazing and I would highly recommend the French Onion soup. The night was finished off with a variety of delicious desserts, thankfully there were 4 of us so we all ordered a different one and shared them. I would highly recommend this restaurant for families and couples. Great food, price and service with a magnificent view.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gibsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boathouse Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Boathouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing