We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't believe we've missed this place for years”

Lone Bull Pancake & Steak
Ranked #5 of 162 Restaurants in Lake George
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New York City
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Can't believe we've missed this place for years”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We travel to Lake George annually and only today found the Lone Bull (thanks to TripAdvisor). It is now on our permanent list of places to go in this area. Breakfast only (until 1:00 PM) but man oh man what a breakfast! A short stack of "s'mores pancakes" -- chocolate chip pancakes with more chips, marshmallows and marshmallow sauce (oh come on, we let her have a treat once in a while!) -- proved too much for our ordinarily ravenous 13 year old, and she gave up less than half way in. Mrs Cato and I each had the French Connection combination of two slices of cinnamon-raisin French toast, which was wonderful (they apparently make the bread there, and it tastes like it), with two eggs (poached and sunny-side-up were both perfectly cooked) and meat (bacon or sausage; you can also get ham). Each plate comes with a scoop of butter easy to mistake for ice cream. Coffee is served by the pot, not by the cup, a generous touch. The menus promise that you won't leave hungry, and the staff takes that seriously -- when I paid the check, the cashier (manager? owner?) asked, seriously, "Did you have enough to eat?". I answered honestly, yes we did. And it was soooo good, too! (And the whole check, with a glass of milk for the young 'un, came to $30!)

We will be back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CatoUWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    104
    37
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
93 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great steak and eggs!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Great spot for breakfast. My husband had steak and eggs, both are cooked to your liking. I had an omelette with 3 pancakes. The omelette was very thick and delicious. There is real maple syrup for sale if you want, otherwise on the table is Aunt Jemima. The coffee is in a nice big pot brought to your table. It seems like a real busy spot, so be prepared to wait a bit. We were lucky with our timing getting there around 9:15 am so we didn't wait at all, but after that there were line ups the whole time.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank suitcaseattheready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Place for Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We always eat here when we visit Lake George. The food I'd the best and the service great. It is well worth the drive out of town. You will not leave hungry.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicknlensmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Finally found a delicious breakfast with NO complaints!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

This was our first time to Lake George. As NYC foodies, we were highly disappointed with the food up here and horrible restaurant reviews! Our first night we were going to drive all the way to Saratoga Springs just to eat at a TGIFridays, but decided to check out the only place that had ok reviews, TRs Restaurant at the Holiday Inn Turf. Dinner was ok. Anyway, after talking to the waitress there who said she worked at many of the main strip restaurants, we were horrified!!! We drove around to kill time one morning and came across the Lone Bull who's parking lot was JAM PACKED!! This morning we headed over and were seated in under 10min, served fast and friendly .... We all had pancakes and they were the best we have had anywhere!!! Eggs, bacon and Home fries were all delicious!!! Our last two days we will be having breakfast here!!!!!! DON'T GO ANYWHERE ELSE!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VRPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Lone Bull Pancake & Steak serves up a wonderful breakfast that you won't want to miss. The menu is a dizzying delight and makes ordering a hard choice. When my boyfriend noted that he was having a hard time passing up the strawberry pancakes, our server Dakota noted that you could order just one so that you can try it. Uh oh! We'll have food covering this whole table, I thought! I had the Cinnamon Raisin Bread French Toast made with fresh baked bread. Delish!!!! My boyfriend had the French Connection which consisted of cinnamon raisin bread french toast, 2 eggs, and choice of ham, bacon, or sausage. He got the ham and was very pleased. He also ordered that strawberry pancake which had fresh strawberries both in the batter and on top as well as a side of home fries which were cooked with sauteed peppers and onions. The only drawback is that the coffee was a little weak for both of us, Other than that, perfection!!! Great food, friendly people, fast and reliable service, great prices! Definitely worth a try! Added Bonus: Our server was very familiar with the area and gave us some great tips, which we took him up on. Thanks Dakota! :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MillCityMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lone Bull Pancake & Steak also viewed

 
Lake George, NY
 

Been to Lone Bull Pancake & Steak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing