We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Festive night at Mario's”
Review of Mario's Restaurant

Mario's Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 164 Restaurants in Lake George
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Festive night at Mario's”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Our golf group stopped into Mario's for dinner on a Saturday after golf. First off our waitress was a gem, she took care of us with a smile and some good natured ribbing, that added to the night. The wine was flowing and the food was good, a great time.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ksl64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    137
    50
    34
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Really wanted to love this place.”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We came to Mario's with high hopes and recommendations from other people I know that have been here before. There are many family-owned long-established Italian restaurants where we are from. My wife and I try to frequent them as often as possible because the quality is ALWAYS better than chain restaurants and we like supporting family-owned businesses.

They were in the process of remodeling their bar area and it was maybe a busier evening than they had staffed for. Our waiter was excellent but clearly juggling a lot of things at once. Still he made no mistakes and kept our glasses full throughout the evening.

The bread they provided was fair, but nothing especially grand. I tried the chicken milanese. I found it to be ok, a modest effort but nothing especially memorable. The chicken was a bit tougher than I would have preferred. My wife had a pasta dish (don't remember which one) and her meal was also fine. But just fine, again nothing special.

We tried the "Chocolate Decadence" dessert. The feeling was that the dessert did not live up to the name either. Kind of just a regular piece of cake. Oh well.

Maybe it was just an off night for them - clearly after 60 years they have a following of loyal customers for a reason. I just felt that the meal was a bit disappointing and that my expectations were too high going in.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom-in-CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“60 Years and Still Going Strong!”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

So we decided to finally give this place a try based solely on the fact that the sign out front said they were celebrating 60 years in business. That alone says a lot. Now we know why. From the minute we walked in, we were greeted and treated like family. From the waitstaff to the bartender, to the owner who personally took us around the restaurant to show us pictures of his family and the how the restaurant came to be, we loved it here. And the food? Perfect. We were the last ones to leave, but we will definitely be back.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank calanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A delicious meal”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Our meal was exactly what we were hoping for, a friendly Italian restaurant with real Italian food and excellent portions. They are located a little bit north on the village main street, so if you weren't looking for it, you might miss it. We are definitely glad we found it. We'll go back next time we are in town.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaryLou I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We visit Lake George often and we love Italian food, so I eat here often. Definitely the best Italian restaurant up here. We always engage in many physical activities throughout the day on our excursion here and we develop quite a healthy appetite, and Mario's always delivers a nice meal to satisfy our hunger!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chloe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mario's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mario's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing