We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nasty food in dumpy setting”

George's Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 163 Restaurants in Lake George
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: George's Restaurant specializes in serving prime meats, seafood, poultry and fresh produce daily. We offer a full service salad bar along with a two house-made soup offering. Our service staff are friendly and knowledgeable. The decor is unique with hanging Tiffany style lamps in a beautiful log cabin setting. We invite you to come join us for a great experience!
CT
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nasty food in dumpy setting”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Other than big portions of bad food, salty sauces that likely come from a jar, there isn't much to look forward to here. Even though there were plenty of tables open when we arrived at 8pm, the hostess rolled her eyes in disgust because we didn't have reservations.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank WTBY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    81
    34
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bohemia, New York
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Very pricey and the food wasn't all that good. Pass it up and go to the Adirondack, or The Boathouse, better food for less money.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Invasor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elba, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hope Your Hungry!!!”
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Traveled to Lake George for our annual Labor Day trip and decided to eat at Georges for our Anniversary. As has been mentioned the portions are huge and more than can be eaten in one sitting. The salad bar is meal enough and the bread with garlic baked inside is delicous. My wife enjoyed the Salmon filet with horseradish and I ate the chicken cordonblue. She enjoyed the salmon and the crust on my chicken was slight overdone and the sauce was lacking some spice. All and All it was a good choice and would not hesitate to stop in again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nortons67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
524 reviews
473 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“come hungry the portions are HUGE!”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

went with my friend...I ordeered an end cut prime rib...it was HUGE..my friend had the cordon bleu chicken .....also huge but he didn;t like the breading...great salad bar ... staff attentive...under new management as of June....staff is keeping things on course.....prepare fro a doggy bag forsure.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thephoenixrisesagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

The best part about this place is the salad bar. Everything on it is delicious and it's huge. Pretty sure you get the salad bar with any meal.

From 5-6 or 5-7 they have early bird specials. 17$ for prime rib, stuffed shrimp, 12oz sirloin, and a few others including the salad bar.

Behind this restaraunt in a seperate building of course is a cat sanctuary if you are a feline lover so sad, over 200 cats.

Give it a try and enjoy esp the salad bar and early bird specials! Bring an appetite too!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LindsayCSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to George's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing