We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still Good, but not Great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of George's Place for Steak

George's Place for Steak
Ranked #10 of 162 Restaurants in Lake George
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: George's Restaurant specializes in serving prime meats, seafood, poultry and fresh produce daily. We offer a full service salad bar along with a two house-made soup offering. Our service staff are friendly and knowledgeable. The decor is unique with hanging Tiffany style lamps in a beautiful log cabin setting. We invite you to come join us for a great experience!
South Plymouth, New York
Level Contributor
133 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Still Good, but not Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Have been eating here yearly for at least a decade & will continue to do so. Always have the prime rib early bird special. Seems to be less choice on the salad bar. Food just isn't quite as tasty as it used to be, although very acceptable. Perhaps management has changed or corners are being trimmed just a bit. Still, decent enough food for the area which can be very pricey and underwhelming. Try to avoid weekends and reservations are recommended.

One thing that needs huge improvement is their parking lot. Horribly dangerous if you are on a motorcycle, which we were for the yearly Americade Motorcycle Rally.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ljc2tall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    75
    33
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South Glens Falls, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

06/10/13. My husband and I have been coming here for many, many years. We have always loved the Early Bird Specials and the salad bar. Apparently there are now new owners (2013). The menu is the same, but item preparation is not. Wait staff is still the same crew who has been there for years-and restaurant is still full of beautiful stained-glass lamps. The salad bar is not the same-a lot fewer items than there used to be-not nearly as good as it was. New bread on the salad bar is a Focaccia which was warm and delicious, but not enough to justify $17.95 for the meal. While the presentation of the chicken cordon bleu was beautiful, it is now 1/2 the size that it was, heavily breaded w/panko crumbs (fried and nicely crisp) and swimming in what I think was alfredo sauce. I don't like heavily breaded fried food and don't eat heavy, creamy sauces-wish I had known before I ordered. I loved the old chicken-huge portion w/a light breading and the mushroom sauce. The garlic mashed tasted like cardboard-no flavor at all-certainly no garlic taste-they were horrible-my husband only ate 2 bites. Very disappointing as we look forward to George's opening, and always come here a few times during the season. I guess the new owners have never heard "if it ain't broke-don't fix it"! We won't be back-dinner was a waste of $43. They should really update their photos of the meals online as what you see is no longer what you get. .

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Davida C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester new york
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great food and atmosphere. great service and reasonable prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We always eat here every time we go to lake george. I do recommend having reservations. It is a very popular place to eat. The salad bar is great and home made bread too.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gotcha5005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
longmont
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We come from Colorado to visit George's ( and the Lake )”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We are from Poughkeepsie NY originally and had a summer cottage on the lake from from 1962-1972. When we travel back from colorado we always visit George's for a most excellent all around dinner. From the ambience, to excellent service, to the best salad bar, to steaks, prime, to sea food we never miss this casual yet tasteful atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank keith w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Colborne, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“More than just steak - it's all good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Came to Lake George for a leaf tour & had to share this place with our friends. As always, great food, wonderful log cabin-esque decor.
Our troup had the chicken, stuffed pork chop and of course steak. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed their meal. Great assortment at the salad bar too.
It's a must stop every time we visit the area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SneakersGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George's Place for Steak also viewed

 

Been to George's Place for Steak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing