We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool and creepy!”

The Fort William Henry Museum & Restoration
Ranked #4 of 51 things to do in Lake George
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fort William Henry Museum and Reconstruction is located on the site of the original French and Indian War fort at the south shore of Lake George. Experience how the soldiers fought and died at this wilderness outpost and learn the REAL history behind the surrender and massacre made famous by James Fennimore Cooper's, "Last of the Mohicans". Cannon and musket demonstrations at 10am, 12, 2, 4pm daily. Open May - October.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
92 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Cool and creepy!”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Went with my boyfriend and I was a scaredy cat! It was cool, not super authentic, as the tour guide described, the way the fort is built now the rooms weren't always the same, so the "jail" really was never there....
The only thing was it was shorter than we thought. MAYBE an hour at most, it's like they were rushing us out. Cool that we got to say we did it, wouldn't do it again
Although I thought i saw something, my boyfriend wasn't very amused LOL

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank alyssa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    209
    95
    35
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Centereach, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Interesting facts. Needs tlc”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

The fort tour offers many interesting facts but the fort itself needs some TLC. Many of the signs were missing and displays needed work.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Doris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wedding of my nephew.”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

The setting was georgous. It was by the lake with a gazebo and walkways to it. The reception included many trays of hordorves which were prepared perfectly and served in style. The meal was excellant, prepared to perfection and served with perfect timing.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Edward M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice and interesting”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Very friendly staff, informative and interesting trip into america's past. Worth a visit. Great gift shop too.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank redappel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ghost Tour at Fort William Henry”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This was an unexpected surprise to find at the fort. They had a walking ghost tour where we go a lot of historical information as well as the chance to photograph evidence of ghosts. It was fantastic, I got pictures of several obs. Super fun night!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Corinn1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fort William Henry Museum & Restoration also viewed

 

Been to The Fort William Henry Museum & Restoration? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing