We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I hadn't”

The Fort William Henry Museum & Restoration
Ranked #4 of 51 things to do in Lake George
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Fort William Henry Museum and Reconstruction is located on the site of the original French and Indian War fort at the south shore of Lake George. Experience how the soldiers fought and died at this wilderness outpost and learn the REAL history behind the surrender and massacre made famous by James Fennimore Cooper's, "Last of the Mohicans". Cannon and musket demonstrations at 10am, 12, 2, 4pm daily. Free admission to active duty military, veterans, police and firefighters with ID. Open May - October.
Brighton, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wish I hadn't”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Fort William Henry was not worth the cost to go in. I love old forts and American history. This place was run down and very creepy. This trip was centered around Fort Niagra, Fort William Henry and Fort Ticonderoga. Wish we had skipped William Henry and hit Fort Ontario.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Minibene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    231
    107
    36
    17
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
State College, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Educational”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Very educational; we enjoyed our excursion through the history exhibits and did a little shopping at the gift shop.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great feeling of History”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The day was miserable which only added to understanding what it must have been like in 1757. Gave a good understanding of htis timein hisdtroy , very informative and fun

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank sterling1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Had to get a fix of some history!”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My husband and I are history buffs and enjoyed the fort. As the day began with torrents of rain, we didn't know if we could do this one. We went inside and talked to the ladies in the gift shop and were just charmed. They said that we shouldn't worry, that our guide would try to keep us out of the weather and then they loaned us their personal umbrellas. We saw a cannon fired, a "bomb" detonated, and a musket fired....even in the rain. Kids would like this alot.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank 1proudmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very Informative”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The tour guides were very informative and enjoyable. The displays within the fort were somewhat limited but given the fort's history we still had a great time.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank mj315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fort William Henry Museum & Restoration also viewed

 

Been to The Fort William Henry Museum & Restoration? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing