We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would add something new”

House of Frankenstein Wax Museum
Ranked #11 of 51 things to do in Lake George
Attraction details
Watertown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Would add something new”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

I have always enjoyed going to the House of Frankenstein. Price is getting up there at this point. Would like to see a couple updates while maintaining the old charm. Something to do while enjoying the area!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank amusementfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    66
    70
    28
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Kitschy ... nostaligic but run down”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Not much to see...if yu have been to niagara falls you will see the same. All the displays are behind a small glass window panel, most are decrepid and falling apart, no actually historical figures, may as well just use mannequins. The best part is in the entrance which you can see for free as you look in. Disappointing and not worth the cost.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank fnx30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Skip it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

The best part of this attraction is being able to shake Frankenstein's hand out front. I decided to go through the museum and it was very old and creepy. The wax figures were scary and the scenes were gory. My kids (ages 6 & 7) laughed most of the way and loved it. The staff were very good about warning me first about bringing my kids through and there was great communication between the front desk and the staff inside the museum. I don't feel that it was worth the price.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank firemomof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Old but fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

I go inside the museum every year when our family visits Lake George. The building is very old, however the wax figures are fun to look at, and there are neat exhibits. I would recommend it if you enjoy horror movies through the 60s and 70s. Please take notice that this might be too frightening for children under 10.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JSliker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very, Very Dark”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Be prepared when you walk in here - It is very dark - so dark that you can barely see where you are going! All displays are behind glass and nothing jumps out at you, there are a couple rooms you walk through that give you a little jump. Seems a little old. Definitely NOT for kids.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank xbrittany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House of Frankenstein Wax Museum also viewed

 

Been to House of Frankenstein Wax Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing