We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice little town”
Review of Lake George

Lake George
Book In Advance
More Info
$26.00*
and up
Lake George Steamboat Islands of the Narrows Cruise
More Info
$30.00*
and up
Lake George Moonlight Cruise
More Info
$150.00*
and up
Lake George Scenic Power Boat Private Tour
Ranked #1 of 51 things to do in Lake George
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: During a 1791 visit, Thomas Jefferson was moved to say, "Lake George is without comparison, the most beautiful water I ever saw." Not much has changed. Today this 32-mile long, 3-mile wide dazzling lake draws vactioners who come to enjoy a plethora of outdoor endeavors including sailing, swimming, cruising on historic steamboats, hiking and more.
Ontario Canada
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“A very nice little town”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

A great place to station yourself if you want to drive around the area including through Vermont. There are lots of restaurants, shops and pubs and there are tours you can take of the lake.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank RobGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,579 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,077
    364
    95
    21
    22
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hackensack, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Going Back Next Summer.”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We are from NJ and we usually go to the shore during the summer. This year, the shore prices were too high so we sought out another place for our family vacation. We ended up in Lake George and we loved it. There is lots to do and expereince. My two kids loved the theme parks and the arcades and I loved the cruises on the lake. There is lots to do and one trip barely scartched the surface of it all.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Nadia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake George, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful Lake George”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

One of the most beautiful lakes in the U.S..Rent a boat and explore the lake.
Avoid spending much time in the Village-very honky tonk.
Also, spend time driving through the surrounding mountains.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jayjayjay56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson Valley, NY
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Queen of American Lakes”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Lake George has always been highly regarded for its beauty and it holds true for every season. There's plenty to do for every kind of visitor, from cultural activities to outdoor adventures during the day, and arcades and live music at night. From the very accessible Million Dollar Beach at the south end of the lake in the Village of Lake George, all the way to Ticonderoga in the north, the view is spectacular (and less crowded the further north you go).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank thorly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, New York
1 review
“la du saint sacrement”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

we do like the boat and we like the food that they serves on the boat and we enjoyed riding on the boat this summer and thank you

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake George also viewed

 

Been to Lake George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing