We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take your time and stroll”
Review of Lake George

Lake George
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.00*
and up
Lake George Moonlight Cruise
Ranked #1 of 51 things to do in Lake George
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: During a 1791 visit, Thomas Jefferson was moved to say, "Lake George is without comparison, the most beautiful water I ever saw." Not much has changed. Today this 32-mile long, 3-mile wide dazzling lake draws vactioners who come to enjoy a plethora of outdoor endeavors including sailing, swimming, cruising on historic steamboats, hiking and more.
Douglasville, Georgia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Take your time and stroll”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We visited the area and enjoyed walking around the lake, watching the river boats and shopping. It was very peaceful and picturesque. I like how the area reminded me of places we visited in my childhood and look forward to returning next year.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RumJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,529 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,038
    356
    93
    20
    22
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Take a 1 hour steamboat ride”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

1 hour steamboat ride on the Minne Ha Ha gives you a nice tour of the Southern portion of Lake George.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetotravel020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful Lake with clean water and Beach like atmosphere”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We visited the Lake in June 2013, stayed several hours on the Million dollar beach. We took the Minnie Ha-Ha steam boat ride for an hour. The boat ride was pleasant and relaxing with the steam puffing out in rhythms and the boat slowly moving through the gentle waves. The captain mentioned highlights of the houses along the lake and provided history during the ride.

There are many restaurants and shops along the beach road and Canada Street. You can park on the street near the meters or in public parking area where there were many parking spaces with parking meters.

Overall the shops and the atmosphere makes you think that you are in a shore town near an ocean.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pilgrim_in_pr0gress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
593 reviews
202 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 415 helpful votes
“Very Peaceful”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I visited the area on a trip from Albany to Lake Placid. It was well worth the duversion. There is a very nice sand beach. It was calm and I was struck by how calm and peaceful the lake was. Very nice!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank kuwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KENT
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“so beautiful!”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Lake George is so beautiful and the people are friendly and helpful. Just walking around the lake - even in the non-stop rain - was wonderful! I am sure our next visit will be more sunny, but honestly, we enjoyed both days we were there despite the rain!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SummerDakotaBandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake George also viewed

 

Been to Lake George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing