We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“three strikes your out”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lake George Escape Campground
Poughkeepsie
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“three strikes your out”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Have been going to this campground for 6 years. Been getting worse every year. Three separate trips this year alone and we're all done. Dirty sites,dirty bathrooms and showers, personnel extremely rude!!!! This place used to cost a little more but it was worth it. Now, its a free for all. We'll head back to Maine or Rhode Island.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank Deb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    112
    70
    40
    42
See reviews for
334
56
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester Center, Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We weren't impressed with this campground. There needs to be money put into this place. The pools are so old that it's ridiculous, the only "nice" bathroom was at the lodge, every other bathroom didn't have toilet paper and if it did it was paper thin and hard to grab. When we arrived at our campsite that they assigned us to we came to find that there were two tents already set up there. Sweet! Then we had to wait for someone to come and check it out. We ended up getting a better site but still it screwed us because the sky opened up on us and we were in the middle of setting up our tent. Also, We were unfortunate enough to go on halloween theme week and they had a chainsaw chasing people every five minutes from 8 until 11 for their haunted hay ride. It was horrible. But then the next night they put a bunch of teenagers next to us and they were up partying until 1AM when my husband had to go over and tell them to shut up. I tried calling security 15 times to complain and no one ever answered. Their voicemail was also full. I mean, if you're going to run a campground you should have security circling to make sure things are running smoothly! Then when my husband asked the girl at the front desk about where security was last night she obviously didn't care that we got 4 hours of sleep and just dismissed him and said she would look into it. Yeah right! And who cares at that point anyway, we were leaving! Our kids are 2 and 4 so I think if they were older we would have had more fun if the other things listed above were taken care of. There's a lot for older kids to do but it is just not a very desireable campground. i wouldn't go back unless they fixed things up and had security on call 24/7.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mary Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Otselic, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We just got back from a five day stay at the resort. Staff was friendly and the capmground was clean. We have 2 children (9 and 7) and they had a blast. Great flat area to ride bike and the pool was great. The wagon rides they have each night (free) were a blast. We got on a wagon that seats about 25 people and rode around the park listening to music and greeting campers. It is a very busy resort with plenty to keep kids entertained. We were a little nervous about the sites being so close together but it worked out fine because everyone was friendly. We would go back again. - South Otselic, NY

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RugerSouthOtselic_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wappingers Falls, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

My family and I go camping a lot, to different places , and we thought visiting lake George would be great . We stayed in this camp ground years ago and had a wonderful time . This time we went we left a day early because it was horrible . no security , staff are rude and unwelcoming. I got there at 12:40 and the lady wouldn't check me in until 1 and made me wait because she said " she doesn't like checking anyone in early " I told her we had just been driving for 4 hours and we are only 20 mins early but she didn't care we had to wait and there were 2 cars full of people and we rented 2 sites . When we were finally able to check in the sites were never cleaned and there was a pile of trash in our fire pit. The bathrooms were horribly dirty with no toilet paper. The showers were gross . There was dirt on the floors and 2 out of the 4 showers close to us were broken . laundry was a joke . I did 2 washes and had to be refunded for them because they didn't work and i had to put the wash in another washer because they never washed and one washing machine leaked water all over the floor . The dryer took $1.50 to dry 4 towels . I had to hang the rest on the line .The machines are about 30 years old too. The pools are very old and horrible. The lining of the pools are separating from the sides and the water was dirty and cloudy. We only used the pool once for not even an hour . It was nasty . They also didn't have security and people partied until almost 3am . When it says quite time is at 10 pm and 11 on weekends . Also the golf carts are insane my son was almost run off the road while he was walking to the bathroom because of the kids driving there parents golf carts without a drivers licence and no security to stop them. We will never go back to this campground again, and we will tell everyone not to waste there money here . It is old and dirty and very unfriendly , also garbage is everywhere in the streets and on the sites its nasty .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

My family of four just returned from a very impressive visit to this resort. Upon our arrival we were greeted by a very friendly staff member who gave us a quick orientation. We rented a 34 foot cabin and were thrilled to find that it was actually one of their large mobile-home style units, which was extremely clean and well cared for. This unit had a very cool loft upstairs which was perfect for our two children - ages 7 and 9 (one twin and one full-sized mattress on the floor). Cable TV, full kitchen and bath, private bedroom with queen bed and large living area - we were very comfortable. Lots of storage space for clothes, etc. The beds were very clean and surprising comfortable. The kitchen was truly fully equipped - microwave, toaster, coffee maker (with filters), dish soap and sponge, drying rack, pots and pans, paper towels, plates, bowls, silverware, cups, mugs, pot holders and even wine glasses. Oh - and a broom, dust pan, mop and bucket! The bathroom has toilet paper. The web site doesn't detail all of this, and it would have been helpful to know as we brought a lot of supplies with us that we could have left at home.

The clientele at this resort is primarily families. It was very quiet - at no time did I hear any loud partying and music. Lots of kids riding around on bicycles. Good, clean family fun.

I was also impressed with the staff who were very helpful and professional. We took advantage of a couple of the many offered activities - tubing down the river ($8 per person) and swimming in one of the two in ground pools (free). They also have a nice playground, baseball diamond, shuffleboard, basketball and tennis courts.

We had a wonderful time and I highly recommend this resort for families, couples, or anyone looking for a great outdoor experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank radbirdz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We went to the Lake George Escape Camping Resort for a long weekend from August 9 till August 12. We arrived at the camp at around 6:30 in the evening and were greeted at the gate by a friendly Security guard. We registered and went to the site assigned to us with our RV. When we got there, the site was already occupied....by a TENT. There was a tent on a site that was supposed to accommodate our 35+ foot motor home. We went back to the registration desk and let them know our problem. There, they denied that there was someone on the site and told us that there none others available on the river like that one. It took about 15 minutes for us to convince them to send someone to the site to find out information and why they were on that site. The staff did not seem concerned about the fact that we did not have a site to park on and they certainly did not care that we were sitting IDLE in the pouring rain. At one point, a young man who worked at the desk piped in and said "we are sorry that we can't help you, we only have one security guard on duty to find out information and he is busy right now." Working in a resort myself and knowing the world of customer service inside and out, I could have flipped out. I know he just said that because they were in a really crappy situation, but I never would have said it like that. The staff tried to pull us into an issue that should have been between a security guard and the tenters occupying the site! At 7:30, the lone security guard finally freed up enough time to go out to the site and find out what was going on. It turns out that the resort had messed up the reservation for the other party and had overbooked. In the end, we talked to the other people when the came to the registration desk (who were really nice ) and decided that we would take a different site. The staff ended up giving us a far inferior site on the "pond" which wasn't actually a pond site because we couldn't see the pond!
We were also bothered by the security at night. They bugged us close to 5 times because we were supposedly being too loud. We were talking (no, we weren't yelling, laughing, or being belligerent) at a more than reasonable level but they just would not leave us alone. Not that it would have mattered if we were being loud, the only people that were sleeping around our camp were people that we knew, and they did not say anything about us being loud when they woke up! All in all, our experiences with the staff at the resort were not great and I would not say the grounds are not impeccable either. For $85 dollars per night, you can go to the Lake George RV Park, get first class service, they have paved roads (not cattle paths) and they have beautiful grounds.

Room Tip: Be sure to call and confirm your reservation days before, their reservation system overlaps so if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Evan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwood, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2012

If you have kids this is the place to go.we stayed a week on a river site,could not swim from there but every site is not the same,We did alot of fishing.If you like action stay out front if you want less noise camp further back.Do your research.There is so much to do,The staff was great.can't complain about the bathrooms being a little dirty(your camping)everyone's a little dirty.pools were nice.teens love the dj.and the prices in the stores were what to be expected.dunks and mc d is close and walmart is 15 min away.village is 1 exit down.We were 2 adults 11 year old girl and a 13 yo boy.we hardley saw the kids and even after quiet time we had a fire and they were cool with that.The rules state all kids have bike helmets but nobody wore them.I saw no prob in that .bikes were faster than any car 3 mph for cars also that electric scooter is ok too.I saw plenty of kids riding them.if you have a golf cart thats cool too. We are going back next year.We had fun! Joe Northwood New Hampshire

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joe g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
6.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
9.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Lake George
Comfort Suites Lake George
#9 of 88 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
5.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Lake George RV Park
Lake George RV Park
#2 of 32 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
1.0 mi away
Super 8 Lake George/Warrensburg Area
5.1 mi away
Scotty's Lakeside Resort
Scotty's Lakeside Resort
#16 of 88 in Lake George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake George Escape Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake George Escape Campground

Property: Lake George Escape Campground
Address: East Schroon River Road, Lake George, NY 12845
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lake George Escape Campground 2*
Number of rooms: 576
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Lake George Escape Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake George Escape Camping Hotel Lake George
Escape Resort Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing