We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (520)
Filter reviews
522 results
Traveler rating
286
150
58
18
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
286
150
58
18
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach volleyball hydro bikes corn hole beach bar paddle boats ping pong new owners game room lakeside resort room suite next year water activities rent kayaks beautiful lake great vacation great family kiddie pool
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
456 - 461 of 522 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2014

If you want to get away and visit Lake George I highly recommend you stay at Scotty's Lakeside Resort. I stayed there on Labor Day weekend and it was wonderful. It has the old time charm of a lakeside resort with a beautiful little beach and view of the lake. I understand there are new owners there making changes and I look forward to returning next year to check it out. The staff was very friendly, and the facilities had everything. Pool, beach, play area, snack bar, boat rentlas, dsmall dock and lake side bar. Its charming and beats those stale corporate hotels anytime.

Room tip: get close to the Lake
Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISManager1, Public Relations Manager at Scotty's Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Scotty's Lakeside Resort. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that your interactions with our star were extremely positive. You are correct in mentioning that we are continuing renovations this winter and we look forward to you coming back next year to see them. We thank you again for your review, Meghan - Scotty's Lakeside Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2014

Stayed here for one night- 9/26 and checked into rooms 120 and 121. Liked the clean and renovated rooms. The location is just a few minutes walk from the hustle and bustle of Canada Street, although it is an uphill climb. Our experience was spoilt somewhat by a rude guest in the room 119, who sat on his porch right next to us and smoked all the time, despite the fact that his kids and mine were right there. he also had his dirty clothes and empty beer cans lying all around the front. I wish the hotel could make the area around the rooms non-smoking and designate specific areas where people can smoke, as there were too many guests smoking all over the property. All interactions with the front desk were great.

Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank B R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISManager1, Public Relations Manager at Scotty's Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Scotty's Lakeside Resort. On behalf of our entire staff, I would like to extend my sincere apology in regards to the problems that you observed during your stay. I have address these issues with our staff and would like to assure you that we are working diligently to come up with a solution so that these types of situations don't happen again. As we continue working on our operations and making improvements to our property we greatly value the feedback of our guests and we will keep everything you have said in mind. Please feel free to follow us on twitter or like us on Facebook to stay current with area events and resort specials.We hope to see you next time you are in the area. Thank you again, Meghan - Scotty's Lakeside Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2014

Our stay at Scotty's was very enjoyable. We were lakefront and the pool was only a few steps away. Beyond was their beach and beautiful Lake George. We really had an advantage to be able to see the Thursday night fireworks that the Village sets off (no getting in your car and trying to find a parking space which can be very frustrating!) Our room was clean and the mattress and pillows were wonderful. There is nothing like a good night sleep! We were told the bathroom was small but presented no problem. My only suggestion is to have a shower curtain magnetically attached at the bottom so the curtain would remain in place. The owners are new and are trying hard to make upgrades. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful answering any questions you might have. I love their cafe, especially for breakfast, and only wished I had checked it out sooner. The food is good and equals any that you get in the restaurants that you are paying top dollar for. We met a group of people that have been coming back for many years. Scotty's must be doing something right!

Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
7  Thank Gail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISManager1, Public Relations Manager at Scotty's Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Scotty's Lakeside Resort. We are delighted to read that your thursday night fireworks show attendance was stress free due to our convenient location and great view of the show from our beach. It truly is nice to not have to worry about getting in a car and find parking on busy nights like that. We are also happy to hear that you were able to enjoy a good night sleep and that your interactions with our staff were pleasant and helpful. As we continue working on our operations and making improvements to our property we greatly value the feedback of our guests and we will keep everything you have said in mind. Please feel free to follow us on twitter or like us on Facebook and we hope to see you next time you are in the area. Thank you again, Meghan - Scotty's Lakeside Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2014

I have been staying at here since a little girl in the 70s and continue the tradition now with my family. For those who turned away from Scotty's In past years due to its decline, give Scotty's another try. The new owners are working to make Scotty's a true resort. Improvements in the grounds which are now manicured and systematically maintained, uniformed, polite friendly and attentive staff, room improvements, pool improvements and upgrading of snack bar and bar area, as well as the beach, made our stay memorable and we have ore booked again for next year. The addition of paddle boards, row boats and peddle boats are great. The only complaint I have is that the snack bar closes too early. Many nights the kids wanted ice cream or to play video games but it was closed at 7, 930 or ten would be more reasonable especially on fireworks night. The thought of the mountain view from Scotty's is what gets me through winter and it will definitely will again this year.

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Lorraine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISManager1, Public Relations Manager at Scotty's Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Scotty's Lakeside Resort. We are delighted to read that you have been coming to Scotty's for years, and have continued to enjoy your time now bringing your family with you. We greatly appreciate you giving the new Scotty's Lakeside Resort a try and are glad that you have noticed several of our work in progress improvements. As we continue fine tuning our operations and working on our renovations we will keep your feedback in mind regarding hours of the snack bar and arcade. We are so grateful for your loyalty and hope that it will continue in years to come. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in the area.
Thank you again, Meghan - Scotty's Lakeside Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2014

I am a local resident of Lake George, and I always try to go around to bars in the area to get a good view of the Thursday night summer fireworks, and the Saturday night event fireworks, and Scotty's is a great location!
The view from their beach lets you see the entire Fireworks display, and nothing is blocked by other properties. The only way the view could get better is if you were actually out on the lake on a boat!
The bar is also right on the water, so it is a great location for the fireworks as well, and the bartender is always friendly!

Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISManager1, Public Relations Manager at Scotty's Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Scotty's Lakeside Resort. It is great to get feedback from not only our overnight guests, but also from our local visitors. We are delighted to read that you have been able to join us for thursday night fireworks during the summer months and we hope you are able to come back and join us next season. Please feel free to like us on Facebook or follow us on twitter. We look forward to seeing you again. Thank you, Meghan - Scotty's Lakeside Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews