We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Mohican”

Lake George Steamboat Co.
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.00*
and up
Lake George Moonlight Cruise
Ranked #1 of 24 Tours in Lake George
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A fun activity for the whole family, this popular cruise company offers steamboat tours of historic and scenic Lake George on three ships: The Minne-Ha-Ha, The Mohican and The Lac du Saint Sacrement.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Stairs / elevator, Food available for purchase
Saratoga Springs, NY
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The Mohican”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

The Mohican steamship took us for a nice cruise the pier in the village north past the Sagamore resort in Bolton, through the "Narrows", a series of islands both private and state-owned. The weather was mostly sunny and clear, perfect for criusing. The lake is historic in itself and the narrator periodically enlightened us with the rich and famous who once or still do live on the shore or one of the many islands. We've never been this far up the lake which was busy with boat traffic. Lake George is unbelievably clean and clear and a source of the village's water supply. A great body of water to vacation on.
As for the ship, we sat on the very top level. There are two more lower levels with plenty of seating on all decks. The bathrooms were clean, the snack bar had quite the variety of food. I had a couple hotdogs that were grilled and tasted great....all beef. They also have a full bar. We've sailed on all the ships for the Steamboat Company and havealways had a great time. But I do recommend the Island Exploration cruise. 2.5 hours of relaxation and fun.

D

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank tripbucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    440
    211
    50
    13
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Meriden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
131 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Brunch cruise now 2 hours”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Went previously was 2 1/2 hours. Now total trip 2 hours, boat seems to go faster, but still covers the same amount of the lake. Food was great. Love the guy that makes the omellettes. makes 3 at a time, without a mistake. went to purchase tickets at 10:30 monring of cruise. Lady said "sold out" but wait to hear from the coordinator on the ship. 10 mintues later said table available. great. Lesson to be learned call and reserve tickets. pakring across from ship $10 for entire day until midnight if needed. Entertainment good, live music with a few give aways to keep crowd involved. View of lake from top of boat is breathtaking. Always an enjoyable time, have taken 4 cruises, never a bad experience. Cash bar if looking for drinks beyond what is included.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great family trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We went for the one hour lake cruise on the Minnie- ha-ha, three decks, old boat but clean, lots of seating options....our kids, from age 6-14 were all engaged and enjoyed the narration. Great idea after spending time out in the sun at the beach, or in town, a nice chance to relax and talk and get a new view of the lake!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 4girls2boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Beautiful scenery from beginning to end of the trip. Great food but just the average snacks. Also had a drink bar where we brought virgin pina coladas - delicious!!! Made me wish I could own a piece of land there. We were 1 day late to take the full length of trip that would've taken us up the historic path. Ahh well..maybe next time. Small bathroom but very clean. Very friendly staff. Would recommend to anyone

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank lv2travel4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Dinner Cruise- great fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

The dinner cruise on the Lac Du St. Sacrament was worth the price. The buffet was very good, nice assortment of entrees well prepared. The live entertainment was wonderful. It was truly fun for adults and kids. The duo had every one up dancing and enjoying the beautiful scenery of Lake George. We did the dinner/fireworks cruise together, and it was fun as the entertainment kept going for both cruises, but it was a long night for the kids. I would recommend doing dinner and then watching the fireworks from the shoreline. It was also a little pricey to add the fireworks.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank LisaO_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake George Steamboat Co. also viewed

 

Been to Lake George Steamboat Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing