We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time at the Depe Dene Resort”
Review of Depe Dene Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Depe Dene Resort
Ranked #61 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Massapequa, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Time at the Depe Dene Resort”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This place was recommended to us by friends who had stayed here a few years ago and had a great time. We were not sure what to expect considering the mixed reviews on trip advisor. We had a great time, there is so much to do at the resort and in the surrounding area. Staying at the resort was so convenient. We spent days just hanging out on the beach. My daughter was in the lake for hours and everyone enjoyed the resort's free kayaks, canoes and pedalboats. We enjoyed making a BBQ right in front of our cabin and the the kids played volleyball which was also right in front of our cabin. We had a 3 bedroom cottage near the pool. It was a great size for our family of 5, it could use some upgrading but it was very clean and beds were comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Would definitely come back, highly recommend this resort. Many people complained about how far the walk was to the lake from the cabin, it was not far at all a 3 or 4 minute walk, coming up the hill from the lake at the end of the day was hard but not so bad. If I was going to complain about anything it would be the people coming down to the lake at 6 am and putting towels on the lounge chairs and then not coming back down to use them until 1:00. I would come down at 9 am and there were only a few people on the beach but no available lounges.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the larger cabins, near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee0722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    32
    17
    14
    42
See reviews for
87
10
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Zandy made checking in easy and quick.
I really enjoyed staying here with my family. Beautiful panaromic view of the lake, breathtaking. Stayed in one of the motel rooms. Next year I would like to stay in the townhouse or cottage. Beachside was nice and quick to get to.
This family resort has daily activities.
Going to make this our family vacation place.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LOURDES C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island, ny
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We've been coming to LG for years and have stayed at many places on 9N. We decided to go to LG spur of the moment. Depe Dene had vacancies so we decided to give it a try. We were very pleased. The beach area and the motel property is very nice. The staff is very friendly and accomodating. The Depe Dene is in a great location with the village not too far away, Lone Bull next door, and deli across the street. Pool/ hot tub area very clean. Some of the rooms,linens do need upgrading. All in all we enjoyed our stay and we would stay again.

Room Tip: motel rooms have a great view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simo1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commack, NY
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We love Depe Dene but they need to upgrade the cottages, the appliances are old, the carpets are disgusting and the linens according to staff are not washed. It is a shame that such a great place still on the last century. Keep up with upgrades

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank bilingual2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnaCronin, Manager at Depe Dene Resort, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
In response to the accusation of providing guests with dirty or questionable linens: The Depe Dene has a laundry staff working diligently to provide guests with clean linens. No guest will ever be given dirty linen as this would be a serious health code violation and would compromise the integrity of the resort. As far as upgrading, the Depe Dene has made several upgrades to both the rooms and the property to provide guests with a more comfortable and enjoyable vacationing spot. Upgrades will continue to happen yearly. We take your suggestions into consideration and thank you for your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New York
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Been going for years. Great place for our family, something for everyone. Beach, kayaks, docks for our boat . For the non swimmers great to have volleyball and tennis or a quick walk to up to the lone Bull for the big breakfast.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Terryjoe13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We were given one room in our conformation and another at arrival. I assumed they changed our room. We checked in and two hours later another family was given our room key. I was told sorry, yet again someone entered our room. I thought it was taking care of but then two days later another family again was given our room key! My 6 year old was soo upset and worried when we were sleeping that someone would enter our room. I felt it best to check out a day early. when I went to check out the boy at the desk who said his uncle owned the place, thought nothing of it smirked, told me it was My job to make sure I was given the correct room.Thought it was funny I wanted a refund for the day I wouldn't be there because no one was hurt! When he called his uncle same reaction..ALL THEY WANT IS YOUR MONEY..THE GUEST IS THEN ON THERE OWN..THEY DON'T CARE AT ALL.LAST I CHECKED THEY ARE SUPPOSE TO CHECK ON WHO GETS WHAT ROOM. VERY VERY POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE..I GO TO LAKE GEORGE EVERY YEAR..I WILL NEVER GO TO THE DEPE DENE EVER AGAIN...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Jkrygier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lake George hotels

Westchester, NY
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Just returned from a family reunion trip where we stayed in 6 cabins. Each one was different, so you should ask for a large one if you have a lot of people. One bathroom per cabin, though. In one cabin, the AC did not work and the management went to great lengths to accomodate and replace it. Staff was very helpful, friendly and efficient. No, there is no room service and you have to exchange your towels but they tell you that from the get-go. The pool was more than adequate for 20 or so people and the hot tub was nice and hot. The beach was small but never felt overcrowded even on July 4th weekend -- I always was able to get a couple of chairs. Cabins are close together so you might hear a lot of noise if you have loud neighbors with music, etc. Excellent deli right across the street, and horseback riding and hiking also right across. Overall this resort was homey, accomodating and an excellent place for large groups with kids and teenagers. Would return.

Room Tip: Ask for a large cabin with an upstairs, or one with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doxibug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake George
2.1 mi away
Tea Island Resort
Tea Island Resort
#9 of 89 in Lake George
179 reviews
5.2 mi away
Bonnie View on Lake George
Bonnie View on Lake George
#2 of 8 in Bolton Landing
222 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Sagamore Resort
The Sagamore Resort
#1 of 8 in Bolton Landing
1,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Lodges at Cresthaven
The Lodges at Cresthaven
#12 of 89 in Lake George
173 reviews
0.8 mi away
Blue Lagoon Resort
Blue Lagoon Resort
#1 of 5 in Diamond Point
238 reviews
0.7 mi away
Adirondack Diamond Point Lodge
Adirondack Diamond Point Lodge
#2 of 9 in Diamond Point
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Depe Dene Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Depe Dene Resort

Property: Depe Dene Resort
Address: 3494 Lake Shore Dr, Lake George, NY 12845-6707
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Lake George
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Depe Dene Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Depe Dene Resort is an 1800's Scottish Estate situtated on 11 acres. There are 87 different cottages, townhouses, and rooms/suites along the shores of beautiful Lake George with an array of options to meet your group or family’s budget and needs. Our Resorts boasts a 270 degree view of Lake George as well as the largest, privately owned beach on Lake George with paddle boats, kayaks and row boats. The Original Estate House, built in 1860 is available, featuring 11 bedrooms, 7 1/2 baths, three Jacuzzis, a solarium as well as numerous observation decks overlooking the lake. We offer arts & craft classes for children and give parents a worry free chance to relax. New this year: Yoga classes, private Kung Fu and Self Defense class by the lake are available by appointment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Depe Dene Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Depe Dene Hotel Lake George
Depe Dene Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing