We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and relaxing time at Depe Dene- estate house (1c)”
Review of Depe Dene Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Depe Dene Resort
Ranked #61 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Reviewed August 13, 2012

First I would like to thank Reece, the manager, for his wonderful assistance with our last minute booking at the estate house. We found the Depe Dene resort through craigslist. We only booked our vacation 5 days in advance. The actual resort was completly full so Reece suggested we stay on the estate property- it is a short distance away and much, much more private. We stayed for five nights in room 1c which is attached to the mansion. It has two bedrooms with two double beds in each and a pullout couch in living room. Although our room was certainly not a five star resort, it was still clean with all the amenities we needed.

My only complaints, and they aren't exactly complaints, would be that there was only one ac unit that barely cooled the entire place, so if it gets hot I could see it being uncomfortable to sleep. Also, there was alot of moisture in the room so they left a dehumidifier which constantly needed the water to be emptied or it would soak entire hallway floor. There was no phone reception (which isn't always a bad thing :) however as soon as you walked outside you had reception.

We brought our small 18' boat because they do offer dock space however it's on the resort property only.... so it was an inconvience to have to drive over to the resort to go out on our boat. Also, we paid extra for an assigned and numbered boat slip and it seemed that people just chose to dock in whatever slip they wanted which in turn caused a domino effect of people using the wrong slips. However, we lucked out because on the actual estate property there is a marina- not owned by depe dene. The dockmaster, Tony, saw us pull up several times to drop the parents off ( which are in there 70's with bad knees), and saw that it was an inconvience for us and offered to move a boat up and let us share the spot in one of his slips. That was so generous of him. And this marina is not part of Depe Dene at all so he offered out of the kindness of his heart- soooo thankful.

As far as the estate.. It was private and quiet. There is a diving board, rope swing, small private beach, grill, a few fire pits and views to die for. The west side, where we stayed, overlooks the marina in the little cove area. As I sat outside, boats constantly pulled up took photos and commented on how beautiful "my" house was... I had to reply with "thank you," of course...:)))

There are two other gorgeous homes right before the estate. The owner, Ken, was actually there using the home and came out to say hello. Thankfully we were able to bring our two small dogs. However, when I read the resort pamphlet ... It did in fact say "no pets or fireworks." Perhaps those rules only apply at the actual resort.

It was a super convienant place to stay. A ten minute boat ride to the village or a five minute car ride. We enjoy working out and were able to go biking, wakeboarding, tubing and were able to do some
hiking right across from the resort. We will definitely be going back. Thanks again Reece and also Tony from the marina! We had a wonderful and relaxing time!!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
7  Thank jamienicole79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 172 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed at the Depe Dene resort as members of a week-long family reunion which involved almost fifty people ranging in age from 73 years down to 10 months. We had a great time here. About half of us stayed in the huge Estate House, and the rest stayed in the nearby townhouse or motel units. The Estate House is a huge old rambling mansion originally built in the 1880s--but happily the kitchen and bathrooms are nicely renovated modern facilities. The ground floor of the house has a large living room with a big flatscreen TV, a billiard room, a dining area, two dens and a huge porch overlooking Lake George, so there was ample room for all fifty members of our reunion to gather for various meals and events. Upstairs are numerous bedrooms, some of them extremely elegant with their own bathrooms, others more simply furnished and sharing a bathroom down the hall. There were a few minor maintenance problems with light fixtures etc. which the resort staff quickly and cheerfully attended to. The private beach is just steps away from the Estate House and the motel and townhouse units, and the resort also has playgrounds, a swimming pool, a hot tub and other facilities. There is also a dock where one can moor a rented boat. Lake George Village with its various touristic attractions is five minutes away by car. This is not a swanky resort. Don't come here if you expect daily maid service and a concierge to make restaurant bookings. But this a great place for a family large or small to stay and have fun swimming and boating and enjoying themselves indoors and outdoors.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chrisfromcanada630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Our extended family (50 people from under a year to over 70) picked this location for our every 4 year reunion - and then we almost cancelled when one member found very negative trip advisory reviews. We are ALL really glad we did not. We rented the large estate house and a mix of motel rooms, Lakeview townhouses and Beach cottages, so with over 20 total bedrooms we got a pretty good sampling of the resort. In general the facility, the location, the property worked really well for a multi generation reunion. The playgrounds, beach, and location were prefect. With 50 people (from Europe, Alaska, Canada etc.) there are always different ideas and expectations, Most loved it, some would have preferred something a bit more upscale. Most thought it was perfectly clean, some felt the carpets needed a shampooing and found dust on the mantel place. So it is not surprising you get different perspectives in these reviews. We had a number of maintenance issues in our 20 plus rooms - AC, a leak, broken light, etc. but felt the maintenance staff responded in a timely manner and addressed them. This was our 5th such reunion - the previous one's being in Cape Cod, New Hampshire, Vancouver, and Colorado - and everyone thought this was the best location and facility. The over all space and activities - both on and off site nearby - were great. We pretty much ALL decided that 4 years from now we will just come back here. So if you are looking for a elegant, upscale, pristine resort - this may not be your place, but for a lovely, relaxing, fun and activity filled Adirondack vacation we found this place wonderful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 407martinf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed 3 nights, 4 days. The grounds are in real good shape, view is amazing! We stayed in a cottage in front of the playground for the kids, and only a minute walk to the beach. Pool was heated and clean. Cottage was very clean, A/C kept rooms cool. Recommend off-season if you can because price is so affordable. We used the pool, shuffle board, basketball court, gameroom, paddleboats and kayaks...all complimentary. Only 6 minute drive to the town for shopping and food. Would recommend for a large group - 6 or more. Plus, there is a store/deli directly across the street for the little extras you might have forgotten.

Room Tip: cottages in front of playground for the younger kids are convenient, plus well equipped with big bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hondakid1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Depe Dene is a lakefront property located on Lakeshore Drive a few miles north of Lake George Village and about 6 miles south of Bolton Landing. We came to Depe Dene to be with our children and grandchildren who like to fish and do water side activities. Accommodations range from small one bedroom cottages to 4 bedroom cabins, a large family geared round house as well as a motel like unit. This was our third and last stay at Depe Dene, but more about that later in the review. This year we had reserved 3 nights in one of the motel units. These units face directly on Lake George and offer beautiful sun rises and late afternoon shade that can be viewed from a large spacious deck shared with other units. Each unit has its own table and chairs. Our unit consisted of two double beds, a small table with two chairs, a small refrigerator along with sink, microwave, coffee maker and toaster. Besides the beautiful morning views, there is parking right outside the backdoor. Previously we had stayed in one of the cabins (#214 in 2009) which was not without its problems so we thought the motel unit (#29) might a step up.
Depe Dene appeals to large groups and families. The property is a safe place for children to run from the beach to the pool, arcade or to their lodging unit. Everything is reachable by walking so there are few cars moving on the property grounds. The grounds are well maintained but several units are adjacent to large garbage containers. The beach area has a number of kayaks, row boats and paddle boats that are free to guests. In addition, there is usually something going on each night (i.e. smores bonfire, DJ). There is free Wi-Fi although we were not able to get a signal in our motel unit.
Now the reason for the 2 star rating. The AC unit in the motel room was an old Frigidaire unit and was unable to cool the room during the day below 85 degrees, even with the blackout drapes completely closed. Obviously, closing the blackout drapes totally defeated the purpose of paying for the room with the lake view. Additionally, if the drapes were left open to appreciate the beautiful view the temperature would soar to 90+ degrees and you were forced to leave the room to cool off outside. The toilet only flushed if you held down the handle to completely empty the tank. The furniture was old and two of the drawers would fall out when opened. You could hear the sound of a pump constantly running somewhere close by at any hour of the day or night. The beds have no support even though they sit on a platform. On the last morning of our stay, there was a water outage to a section of the resort. This was the morning we had planned to have a farewell pancake breakfast on the deck with our grandkids. As such, we rose early to partially pack, take showers and get ready for breakfast. There were no telephones in the units so we tried to call someone with our cell phones to notify them of the water outage but there was no ‘after hours’ or ‘emergency phone number’ and the office only opens at 8am. The resort map provided to us did not indicate any public restroom ,so we had to drive off property to use a bathroom. We also had to cancel our breakfast plans with our grandchildren. When we discussed the inconvenience with an office manager, he declined our request for a rate adjustment and offered a halfhearted apology saying we were the only ones who complained about the lack of water. When you’re paying $250/night you expect some basic services such as water and sanitary facilities. The manager obviously disagreed. When we communicated that we would be posting a negative review in Trip Advisor, he challenged us to do so. In fact he told us he was currently in the process of responding to another negative review. Judging from the number of ‘Poor’ and ‘Terrible’ reviews for Depe Dene on Trip Advisor it would appear that management must spend considerable time and effort in composing responses. Perhaps the time would be better spent focusing on customer service.

Room Tip: Avoid cabins close to garbage dumpsters. Request and review the property site map to select lodging...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank JerseyShore2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReeseArcher, Director of Sales at Depe Dene Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2012

This was a wonderful story you produced, as you stated you would, and your wife agreed. I must sincerely apologize for myself and the staff; we pride ourselves on customer service, as you can tell by our recent reviews, from other guests. The other negative review that you spoke of was written by another member of your group, and was created with the same malice as your review.
The fact of the matter is your complaint about the toilet was addressed by maintenance and it was in perfect working order. When we responded to the Weak Air conditioner complaint, it was explained that you can’t keep the Door open on the smaller units and expect it to remain cool, we were under the impression the issue was solved after we explained that. The staff members who dealt with you described your party as “Cranky” and “Refused to be pleased”. We certainly wish you would have resubmitted this toilet complaint to the office so we could have rectified this issue and salvaged your stay. The Water outage, (which was fixed by 8:15 am) affected our neighboring businesses as well, and we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience.
Other statements in your story are inaccurate as well, for example “The Pancake Breakfast with the Grand kids on the deck”, is extremely difficult to fathom since the unit you stayed had No Cooking Facilities, as you stated yourself in your room description.
One must question a man’s scruples when he would resort to using a forum that travelers detrimentally rely on like Trip advisor to begrudge a business who wouldn’t placate his faulty claims.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This was the worst family vacation every! This place does not respect families!!!! There were many cabins overloaded and even had dogs. The noise prevented us from getting to sleep every night!
There is no real security- THE LAST NIGHT WE WERE THERE MY HUSBAND- GRANDFATHER OF 6 ASKED THE NEIGHBORS TO TURN DOWN THEIR MUSIC THE PEOPLE OFFERED TO BEAT UP MY HUSBAND.
We complained daily to the management but nothing was done.
All I can say is if you are an American, Veteran and speak english this is not the place for you or your children!
Kim Swank

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Kims1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

Make sure you get a place a lake view! Fun rustic cabin. Fun kayak, pedal boats, beach front and decks.
Living room is small and tennis courts cracked but its a good value and fun for the money.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake George
5.3 mi away
Bonnie View on Lake George
Bonnie View on Lake George
#1 of 8 in Bolton Landing
236 reviews
2.1 mi away
Tea Island Resort
Tea Island Resort
#5 of 89 in Lake George
223 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Lodges at Cresthaven
The Lodges at Cresthaven
#12 of 89 in Lake George
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Blue Lagoon Resort
Blue Lagoon Resort
#1 of 5 in Diamond Point
240 reviews
0.6 mi away
Adirondack Diamond Point Lodge
Adirondack Diamond Point Lodge
#3 of 9 in Diamond Point
111 reviews
0.8 mi away
Golden Sands Resort on Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Depe Dene Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Depe Dene Resort

Address: 3494 Lake Shore Dr, Lake George, NY 12845-6707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Lake George
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Lake George
Price Range: $210 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Depe Dene Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Depe Dene Resort is an 1800's Scottish Estate situtated on 11 acres. There are 87 different cottages, townhouses, and rooms/suites along the shores of beautiful Lake George with an array of options to meet your group or family’s budget and needs. Our Resorts boasts a 270 degree view of Lake George as well as the largest, privately owned beach on Lake George with paddle boats, kayaks and row boats. The Original Estate House, built in 1860 is available, featuring 11 bedrooms, 7 1/2 baths, three Jacuzzis, a solarium as well as numerous observation decks overlooking the lake. We offer arts & craft classes for children and give parents a worry free chance to relax. New this year: Yoga classes, private Kung Fu and Self Defense class by the lake are available by appointment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Depe Dene Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Depe Dene Hotel Lake George
Depe Dene Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing